We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay whilst in Auckland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Castle Hedingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay whilst in Auckland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I think my title says it all. I read lots of moans and groans on TripAdvisor about cruise ships but they are part of staying at a living dock location.
The hotel is clean, the staff are caring and interested in your comfort and enjoyment of their hotel.
Room serve was timely, tasty hot and cooked to precision.
I would stay here again in a heart beat and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone visiting the City of Sails.

Room Tip: I had room 511 great view of sunrise and it was wonderful to sit out on the veranda and enjoy the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesPAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear JamesPAB

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Hilton Auckland and were able to take time to enjoy the sea views from our Deluxe Harbour View Rooms. Thanks for sharing on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,119
    633
    216
    81
    36
See reviews for
234
1,041
147
454
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Eighteen of us had a reunion in Auckland.Thirteen of us booked into the Hilton as we thought it was an ideal place to showcase Auckland especially Waitemata harbour.We had organized yachting and also a ferry trip to Northcote Point for a dinner. The weather did not do us any favours as a cyclone came in on Friday and out on Sunday - exactly matching our reunion time, so we had to cancel these events.We had drinks and dinner at Fish and we were able to use the balcony for drinks before dinner which suited us well. The staff were very accommodating and the food was very good.
Our room was spacious and had a great outlook.It was a superior harbor view room (I think that's what they call it.) The staff were all very helpful from the time we arrived until the time we left.

Room Tip: If you book a harbour view room make sure there are no cruise ships in as they will block your view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RossAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear RossAnderson

Thank you posting your review on TripAdvisor following your reunion with friends in Auckland. I do apologize for the weather that weekend, however am glad the team cared for you well and you enjoyed a pleasurable dinner in FISH restaurant.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland and we hope to see you back on future stays.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The Auckland Hilton is well located on the water in the city. It is an average hotel property with an higher than average price. We were unable to get early check-in. There really don't seem to be many higher end choices in Auckland. It was clean and safe - but nothing special.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dea Anita M

Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor. The hotel certainly does boast a unique waterfront location within very close proximity to the social hub of the city’s entertainment precinct.

I appreciate your feedback and hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

This was our third stay in the last few years at the Hilton, Auckland and it is still one of the best.

Only stayed one night this time but staff at reception and valet/luggage guys were excellent. Location is fine - right on the waterfront, walking distance to Queen St and the Casino, tons of eating options....
Room was quiet, clean - typical of Hilton.

Room Tip: If you don't want to wake up looking at a big cruise ship then ask for a room on the wharf side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burtfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear burtfp

Thank you for posting your complimentary review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and it is always a pleasure to welcome our valued guests back to the hotel. As you mention, the hotel does feature a vibrant location within very close proximity to the joys of the city and both the Viaduct Village and Wynyard Quarter.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed here last night for our anniversary and the staff were amazing even before we arrived (I had to postpone our stay by 2 weeks and they were very accommodating even though it was a last minute change)
On arrival we were greeted and congratulated on our anniversary and in our room was a lovely platter of chocolates wishing us a happy anniversary.
We stayed in a Deluxe Ocean view room (419)
There was a HUGE cruise ship parked outside our room on arrival but were told by reception they were departing that evening, it left at 8pm and it was a real spectacle to watch, and as it sailed away our gorgeous night scene view was revealed. It was even better waking up in the morning to see the harbour view.
The room was OK, it was a shame the bed wasn't positioned to take in the view but it was modern, comfortable, quiet and the bathroom was spacious and all the toiletries were gorgeous.
Buffett breakfast the next morning was delish, everything you could want and more including a chef set up cooking eggs and omelettes to order. Good coffee too.
The only disappointments were the lack of day spa (they did offer in-room massages) and the size of the pool was a little disappointing.
Other than that it was a lovely stay and the staff were all really friendly and approachable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Emily152

Thank you for posting your favourable review on TripAdvisor and it was our pleasure to welcome you both to the hotel on this special occasion.

I am delighted you enjoyed the experience and our unique waterfront location taking in the magnificent views across Waitemata Harbour.

We hope to welcome you back on future stays.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

The Hilton Auckland is always a great place for business or leisure travel. Love stating here every time I am in Auckland. The rooms are spacious and clean, the location is convenient, and the service is superb!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank SMEMBoston_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear SMEMBoston_Ma

Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor. As per my previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, we are delighted you enjoy the ambience and facilities of Hilton Auckland.

We look forward to welcoming you back on future travels to the ‘City of Sails’.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

The Hilton has been our hotel of choice in Auckland for several years, in part because of its superb location. However, there is also the excellent, friendly service right throughout the hotel - a consistency that some others struggle to achieve. Also worthy of note is the restaurant, Fish, which served us a faultless dinner, with great wines.
The Hilton is not cheap, but for us a harbour view room is worth the money, and we will come back here next time we are in Auckland.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Steve G

Thank you for posting your complimentary review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted you enjoy the Hilton experience and thank you for your continued loyalty. FISH certainly does feature a special dining experience in what is one of the best waterfront locations in Auckland and I am pleased that this totally met your expectation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the City of Sails on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,954 reviews
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Property: Hilton Auckland
Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing