We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Auckland”
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hilton Auckland”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Great Hotel, great location on the harbour and very accomodating staff. We've stayed here twice, first time on our honeymoon and again just recently. Not disappointed as you often are returning to a place you have such good memories of.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Arabel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Arabel A

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. As per my previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, the team and I are delighted you enjoyed the stunning location and ambience of our waterfront property.

We hope to welcome you back on future travels should you return to the ‘City of Sails’.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,239
    686
    234
    90
    37
See reviews for
261
1,148
161
496
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

There is no free WiFi to the guest rooms. $35 per day for parking is excessive. The cost of in-house movies is excessive. There were no local TV channels available, only Sky was available which didn't carry any Australian Rules football (AFL). Could not access Sommet Sport who do broadcast the AFL. When paying over $400 per night some small extra things should be included to make the stay even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear James R

Thank you for opting to post your review of Hilton Auckland on TripAdvisor. As per my previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, I appreciate your feedback very much.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back on future stays should your travels bring you back to Auckland.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We paid a discounted rate for a room. The hotel allocated us a room on the one smoking floor (non-smoking was requested), on the lower level directly above the hotel entrance, right next to the elevator and with no view...just looking directly into the apartments across the alley. We had a balcony but no chairs to sit out there - not that it was appealing to do so being overlooked by multiple apartments.

There was a small dinner party on one of the apartment balconies that caused some disturbance. Being above the hotel entrance so we also had the noise of bags being wheeled around.

The hotel was by no means full, or even busy, so they do not appear to have the intention of honouring their discounted rates with their usual standard rooms. We felt that the broom closet must have been taken already.

The room itself was comfortable enough and the bathroom was quite large. The shower caused us some problems as it continually leaked under the shower door all over the bathroom floor.

We had breakfast at the hotel that was very nice and lovely to sit in the morning sun.

As frequent travellers staying in 5* accommodation we thought the hotel was of a reasonable standard but wouldn't stay there again because of the way we were treated by the room we were allocated...it was a disappointing display of "policy".

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie-Gecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Aussie-Gecko

Thank you for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay in Auckland and I am glad that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay.

I am disappointed to note your comments in regards to team attitude and guest room allocation which only had views of the adjoining properties. I apologize for the anxiety caused and am sorry that the experience may have left you with a less than positive impression of the hotel.

Our Harbour View rooms do offer a pleasant waterside view as an alternative should you choose to return to our property at anytime in the future.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Our room was fine, the staff were pleasant and the location is very good. However our impressions of our stay were tarnished by the additional charges that the hotel imposes.

Firstly, the outrageous charges of $12 for an hour of internet access, and secondly the supplement of 1.5% added to your entire bill at checkout if you are paying by credit card (who doesn't?).

The cost our room at the Hilton was around $500 per night. We stayed at various motels and hotels around New Zealand this week for rates of $150 to $200 per night and not once were we charged extra for internet access or for paying by credit card.

I felt sorry for the staff at the hotel that justify these charges to numerous guests that questioned them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pomdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear pomdownunder

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor and it was pleasing to read that you enjoyed the property's stunning location.

I apologize for your concerns with extra charges and am able to confirm that we do offer complimentary Wi-Fi in the public areas of the hotel. Our CC surcharge is a standard process across New Zealand hotels and I am sorry if this was not fully explained to you on check-in.

Kind regards, Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Fantastic hotel to cap our three-week trip to Australia and New Zealand, located on Princes Wharf in the Auckland harbor adjacent to the ferry terminal. Great views of the city center and island from the deck off of our harbor-view room, including table and chairs. Hotel seemed brand new. Bedroom and bath were spacious. Full-size gym on 4th floor opens out to outside patio with an infinity pool and views of Sky City tower and the harbor. Excellent, but pricey breakfast buffet, with views overlooking harbor. Free, unlimited WiFi in lobby area. Many cafes and restaurants on north side of Princes Wharf so many close options for dining nearby. Staff was very friendly, helpful and efficient.

Room Tip: Get a harbor view room if available....fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcadoo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear mcadoo11

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Hilton Auckland post your travels around Aotearoa and thanks for sharing on TripAdvisor. Our property certainly does boast an enviable waterfront location, whilst being in very close proximity to the hub of Auckland’s entertainment precinct.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to one day welcome you back to the ‘City of Sails’.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Recently renovated, I had a nice room with an excellent view from my large patio overlooking the harbor. This hotel is particularly good if you want a nice little refuge from the hustle of the downtown port area. My room had a very comfortable patio with 2 comfy chaise lounge. The bathroom was nice with a large tub and glass shower. The bed was particularly good and I had 2 great nights sleep. The hotel staff here really stood out and made my stay really easy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westwilshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear westwilshire

Thank you for sharing your complimentary review on TripAdvisor following your recent business travels. I am glad to read that you felt right at home, enjoying the ambience and spectacular location.

It was our pleasure to take care of you in true Hilton style and we hope to see you back on future stays.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Service was excellent from all departments... friendly, genuine and professional. Hotel is in a wonderful position and handy to everything. The only factor that does not give this hotel a 'WOW' was that you look out onto other residential apartments from your guestroom, if you have not selected a harbour view room. But that is the room type I selected and what I paid for and not every guest room can have the wonderful seaviews!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank MicheleCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear MicheleCole

Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor. As per my previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, the team and I are pleased you had a memorable experience at the hotel enjoying the ambience of the property.

It was our pleasure to be of service to you. We look forward to having you to return in the future and you can then experience the delight of one of our Harbour View Rooms!

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,494 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
4,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,769 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Property: Hilton Auckland
Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing