We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location with good breakfast”
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“great location with good breakfast”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed again at the Hilton and was not disappointed: great location at the harbor, staff very friendly and efficient. Worth mentioning the very good breakfast buffet with friendly staff, rooms with harbor view a plus. Rather expensive.

Room Tip: Higher floors with Harbor view a plus (worth to pay a bit more).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear gary w

Thank you for posting your favourable review on TripAdvisor; we are delighted to receive your feedback.

It was our pleasure to welcome you back to our waterfront haven and glad you enjoyed the experience. We look forward to seeing you again on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,202
    679
    228
    89
    37
See reviews for
257
1,114
158
491
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

At the end of Princes Wharf, the Auckland Hilton shaped like a ship adds a classy touch to the pier. This is a wonderful hotel...quiet comfortable...excellent Fish restaurant. Be sure to check out the Breakfast/Dinner Package. We believed that it was a wonderful choice as the food in this hotel is quite outstanding. Beds are heavenly comfortable. It is a somewhat long walk to town for individuals that have trouble walking. Rooftop pool is really a lap pool but used it every day we were there and appreciated the slightly warmer pool temperature.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank before75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear before75

Thank you for posting your complimentary review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you both had a truly memorable experience at the Hilton Auckland enjoying the harbour splendour and amenities on offer. FISH certainly does boast a unique dining experience in what is one of the best waterfront locations in Auckland and I am glad that this totally met your expectations.

I appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Great Hotel, great location on the harbour and very accomodating staff. We've stayed here twice, first time on our honeymoon and again just recently. Not disappointed as you often are returning to a place you have such good memories of.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Arabel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Arabel A

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. As per my previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, the team and I are delighted you enjoyed the stunning location and ambience of our waterfront property.

We hope to welcome you back on future travels should you return to the ‘City of Sails’.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

There is no free WiFi to the guest rooms. $35 per day for parking is excessive. The cost of in-house movies is excessive. There were no local TV channels available, only Sky was available which didn't carry any Australian Rules football (AFL). Could not access Sommet Sport who do broadcast the AFL. When paying over $400 per night some small extra things should be included to make the stay even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear James R

Thank you for opting to post your review of Hilton Auckland on TripAdvisor. As per my previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, I appreciate your feedback very much.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back on future stays should your travels bring you back to Auckland.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We paid a discounted rate for a room. The hotel allocated us a room on the one smoking floor (non-smoking was requested), on the lower level directly above the hotel entrance, right next to the elevator and with no view...just looking directly into the apartments across the alley. We had a balcony but no chairs to sit out there - not that it was appealing to do so being overlooked by multiple apartments.

There was a small dinner party on one of the apartment balconies that caused some disturbance. Being above the hotel entrance so we also had the noise of bags being wheeled around.

The hotel was by no means full, or even busy, so they do not appear to have the intention of honouring their discounted rates with their usual standard rooms. We felt that the broom closet must have been taken already.

The room itself was comfortable enough and the bathroom was quite large. The shower caused us some problems as it continually leaked under the shower door all over the bathroom floor.

We had breakfast at the hotel that was very nice and lovely to sit in the morning sun.

As frequent travellers staying in 5* accommodation we thought the hotel was of a reasonable standard but wouldn't stay there again because of the way we were treated by the room we were allocated...it was a disappointing display of "policy".

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie-Gecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Aussie-Gecko

Thank you for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay in Auckland and I am glad that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay.

I am disappointed to note your comments in regards to team attitude and guest room allocation which only had views of the adjoining properties. I apologize for the anxiety caused and am sorry that the experience may have left you with a less than positive impression of the hotel.

Our Harbour View rooms do offer a pleasant waterside view as an alternative should you choose to return to our property at anytime in the future.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Our room was fine, the staff were pleasant and the location is very good. However our impressions of our stay were tarnished by the additional charges that the hotel imposes.

Firstly, the outrageous charges of $12 for an hour of internet access, and secondly the supplement of 1.5% added to your entire bill at checkout if you are paying by credit card (who doesn't?).

The cost our room at the Hilton was around $500 per night. We stayed at various motels and hotels around New Zealand this week for rates of $150 to $200 per night and not once were we charged extra for internet access or for paying by credit card.

I felt sorry for the staff at the hotel that justify these charges to numerous guests that questioned them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pomdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear pomdownunder

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor and it was pleasing to read that you enjoyed the property's stunning location.

I apologize for your concerns with extra charges and am able to confirm that we do offer complimentary Wi-Fi in the public areas of the hotel. Our CC surcharge is a standard process across New Zealand hotels and I am sorry if this was not fully explained to you on check-in.

Kind regards, Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Fantastic hotel to cap our three-week trip to Australia and New Zealand, located on Princes Wharf in the Auckland harbor adjacent to the ferry terminal. Great views of the city center and island from the deck off of our harbor-view room, including table and chairs. Hotel seemed brand new. Bedroom and bath were spacious. Full-size gym on 4th floor opens out to outside patio with an infinity pool and views of Sky City tower and the harbor. Excellent, but pricey breakfast buffet, with views overlooking harbor. Free, unlimited WiFi in lobby area. Many cafes and restaurants on north side of Princes Wharf so many close options for dining nearby. Staff was very friendly, helpful and efficient.

Room Tip: Get a harbor view room if available....fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcadoo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear mcadoo11

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Hilton Auckland post your travels around Aotearoa and thanks for sharing on TripAdvisor. Our property certainly does boast an enviable waterfront location, whilst being in very close proximity to the hub of Auckland’s entertainment precinct.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to one day welcome you back to the ‘City of Sails’.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,453 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,174 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,274 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Property: Hilton Auckland
Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing