We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Nights Stay :)”
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I got the opportunity to stay a night at this beautifully located hotel. Our room faced towards the harbour and was wonderful to be able to sit out on the deck. The room was very clean and tidy. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner at FISH and the food was excellent. Both myself and my friend had a brilliant time and were very satisfied with everything from service of all departments, to the appearance of the hotel. We both enjoyed ourselves and were very thankful we got this opportunity and would most definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Megan S

Thank you for opting to post your favourable review on TripAdvisor.

As per my previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, it was our absolute pleasure to welcome you to the hotel and I am delighted you enjoyed the experience in true Hilton style.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,314)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,343 - 1,349 of 2,314 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stayed here for my birthday last year and relished every minute of our one-night stay. We had a room overlooking the ferry terminal, looking back towards the Customhouse building, which was spectacular. Our dinner in the hotel restaurant (8 guests) was amazing, the service impeccable, the wine and food really great. Would go back for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Anne K

The team and I are delighted you enjoyed a memorable experience at the hotel and thank you for your generous feedback praising the wonderful views and ambience of the Hilton.

I am pleased you had a superb celebration in FISH and we look forward to welcoming you back for future festivities!

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed again at the Hilton and was not disappointed: great location at the harbor, staff very friendly and efficient. Worth mentioning the very good breakfast buffet with friendly staff, rooms with harbor view a plus. Rather expensive.

Room Tip: Higher floors with Harbor view a plus (worth to pay a bit more).
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear gary w

Thank you for posting your favourable review on TripAdvisor; we are delighted to receive your feedback.

It was our pleasure to welcome you back to our waterfront haven and glad you enjoyed the experience. We look forward to seeing you again on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

At the end of Princes Wharf, the Auckland Hilton shaped like a ship adds a classy touch to the pier. This is a wonderful hotel...quiet comfortable...excellent Fish restaurant. Be sure to check out the Breakfast/Dinner Package. We believed that it was a wonderful choice as the food in this hotel is quite outstanding. Beds are heavenly comfortable. It is a somewhat long walk to town for individuals that have trouble walking. Rooftop pool is really a lap pool but used it every day we were there and appreciated the slightly warmer pool temperature.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank before75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear before75

Thank you for posting your complimentary review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you both had a truly memorable experience at the Hilton Auckland enjoying the harbour splendour and amenities on offer. FISH certainly does boast a unique dining experience in what is one of the best waterfront locations in Auckland and I am glad that this totally met your expectations.

I appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Great Hotel, great location on the harbour and very accomodating staff. We've stayed here twice, first time on our honeymoon and again just recently. Not disappointed as you often are returning to a place you have such good memories of.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Arabel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Arabel A

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. As per my previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, the team and I are delighted you enjoyed the stunning location and ambience of our waterfront property.

We hope to welcome you back on future travels should you return to the ‘City of Sails’.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

There is no free WiFi to the guest rooms. $35 per day for parking is excessive. The cost of in-house movies is excessive. There were no local TV channels available, only Sky was available which didn't carry any Australian Rules football (AFL). Could not access Sommet Sport who do broadcast the AFL. When paying over $400 per night some small extra things should be included to make the stay even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear James R

Thank you for opting to post your review of Hilton Auckland on TripAdvisor. As per my previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, I appreciate your feedback very much.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back on future stays should your travels bring you back to Auckland.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We paid a discounted rate for a room. The hotel allocated us a room on the one smoking floor (non-smoking was requested), on the lower level directly above the hotel entrance, right next to the elevator and with no view...just looking directly into the apartments across the alley. We had a balcony but no chairs to sit out there - not that it was appealing to do so being overlooked by multiple apartments.

There was a small dinner party on one of the apartment balconies that caused some disturbance. Being above the hotel entrance so we also had the noise of bags being wheeled around.

The hotel was by no means full, or even busy, so they do not appear to have the intention of honouring their discounted rates with their usual standard rooms. We felt that the broom closet must have been taken already.

The room itself was comfortable enough and the bathroom was quite large. The shower caused us some problems as it continually leaked under the shower door all over the bathroom floor.

We had breakfast at the hotel that was very nice and lovely to sit in the morning sun.

As frequent travellers staying in 5* accommodation we thought the hotel was of a reasonable standard but wouldn't stay there again because of the way we were treated by the room we were allocated...it was a disappointing display of "policy".

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Aussie-Gecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Aussie-Gecko

Thank you for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your recent stay in Auckland and I am glad that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay.

I am disappointed to note your comments in regards to team attitude and guest room allocation which only had views of the adjoining properties. I apologize for the anxiety caused and am sorry that the experience may have left you with a less than positive impression of the hotel.

Our Harbour View rooms do offer a pleasant waterside view as an alternative should you choose to return to our property at anytime in the future.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,858 reviews
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,521 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,211 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,779 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £164 - £400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing