We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Auckland
Nearby Hotels
Parnell Pines Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
VR Auckland City(Auckland Central)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tudor Court Motor Lodge(Auckland Central)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Stamford Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kiwi International Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$54
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,544)
Filter reviews
2,544 results
Traveller rating
1,386
755
253
103
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,386
755
253
103
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscruise shipfish restaurantbellini barbow suitediamond memberharbor view roomnew zealandferry terminalmaritime museumwaiheke islandcorner roomrestaurants and barsfantastic locationbuffet breakfastlong flightvalet parkingsky tower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,551 - 1,556 of 2,544 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I spent 3 nights here with my family in April. The rooms are very comfortable. We had 2 harbor view rooms with large balconies. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The location is convenient to the ferries and restaurants. The buffet breakfast, served in a beautiful harbor view restaurant, was outstanding. I had read about the high cost of in-room internet before our trip and saw that Hilton Gold customers received free internet. We got a CITI Hilton Honors credit card before the trip and received immediate Hilton Gold status. That earned us free internet, breakfast and evening drinks in the bar in addition to extra points, which more than covered the fee for the credit card.

Room Tip: Harbor view rooms are worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColumbiaMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear ColumbiaMom

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor and welcome to the Brand as a Hilton HHonors traveller. We are delighted you enjoyed the hotel’s distinctive location and took time to relax in both FISH restaurant and Bellini Bar, both served with spectacular views.

We look forward to welcoming you back on future stays should you return to Auckland.

Kind regards, Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

First the good parts. The location of the Hilton Auckland can't be beaten. Great views of the harbour from the room we had. The terrace was a decent size and had a table and two chairs on it.

Service provided by William the bell man was great. Friendly and enthusiastic. Another shout out for the staff at Fish.

Now for the not so good parts! Ok it was the Easter weekend and the hotel seemed to be fairly full. Our room was tiny for the rate of NZ$360 even though it was a "Deluxe" Harbour view. The accommodation is in DIRE need of refurbishment, hasn't altered in the 10 years since my last visit. Think 90's and it hadn't changed since then. The bathrooms the same!

Reception staff were surly and the concierge gave us the wrong time for our return transport to the airport. We arrived and went to the room to find the corridor full of step ladders, wires and technicians trying to get the new key system working. Internet was woefully slow as well.

I did get some perks for being a diamond HHonors member, drink vouchers and full breakfast. However compared to recent stays at other Hilton's, I wouldn't return to this Hilton again. There are newer properties with larger rooms at better prices. I chose this hotel based on my diamond status and it was a mistake.


  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jakin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear jakin4

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor and I am pleased you enjoyed the experience in FISH restaurant and the location on Princes Wharf overlooking the harbour.

Having noted your feedback, I do apologize for the inconsistencies you experienced during your time with us. Your comments have most certainly been taken onboard and shared with the team.

At Hilton Auckland, we strive to offer a quality service for our valued guests and I am disappointed that we did not achieve this. Your loyalty to the Brand is very much appreciated and I hope we may have an opportunity to one day welcome you back to the “City of Sails”.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed at hotel in April 2014. Hotel is very conveniently located to the ferries to Waiheke island and Rangitoto Island. The beds in the room were incredibly comfortable. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The restaurant offers indoor and outdoor seating with views overlooking the wharf. The hotel is within walking distance to the ferries and many shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diamondHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear diamondHH

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Hilton Auckland and thank you for sharing your complimentary review on TripAdvisor. The hotel certainly does boast a desirable waterfront location, whilst being in very close proximity to the hub of the city’s sights and entertainment precinct.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Once in this place the layout of the floors is kinda odd. You may or may not get a FULL view of the waterway. Our deck enabled us to see a local apartment building and the pool. Speaking of the pool its kinda suspended between two buidlings. It was neat to see our hotel from afar.....with it being secured on a pier and all. There are many watering holes in a short walking distance. Many cruise ships will dock here......or the locals with nicer boats too.

During the week, it is rather quiet and empty.......it livens up on the weekend.
Overall, the room service was decent...a little pricy.
They STOCK this room with a wide array of things (juices, wine, RED BULL, to teddy bears...)
At night, the building lights reflecting off of the water is a nice sight. We took evening walks which were rather late and felt safe here........While shopping, I actually dropped a NZ five dollar bill..and have a local person swiftly return it.
Being from the USA, our DVDs would NOT play in the hotel DVD player...we got an error msg "Wrong Region".

Here are a few pics of the property...we got a double bed room.....it contained two nice closets...VERY fluffy pillows, enough chairs and a side table too....so overall, it was a NICE bang for the bucks spent. One final thing, we asked for ICE..........and were brought a TIE.....so the inflection of "English" can be challenging at times, so be patient..and "Drop your jaw...as you speak...LoL"

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pky_pook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear pky_pook

Thank you for sharing your detailed review on TripAdvisor and it was a pleasure to welcome you to Princes Wharf on the Waitemata Harbour. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel’s contemporary style and friendly service and that you got to experience the city’s delights.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back on future stays.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My wife and I stayed for just one night - enroute from Dunedin to Tutukaka. Our room was magnificent, looking right out at the Waitemata harbour, and sitting on the balcony watching all the maritime comings and goings was magic. Our meal in the hotel's "Fish" restaurant couldn't be faulted, and even our lateish arrival (because of plane flights etc) didn't create any problems for them. A great hotel with great facilities, service, and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Warren & Mauree... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Warren & Mauree... M

Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor. As per my previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, I am glad you felt right at home at our property, enjoying the fascination of the harbour from FISH restaurant and your guest room balcony.

It was certainly a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on future stays.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews