We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great harbor view hotel”
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Great harbor view, convenient location, room is on the small size and a bit aged, but the balcony is fabulous. The main restaurant has great buffet breakfast selection and full front harbor view. Room service is very nice and great taste.

Room Tip: corner room has a very big L shape balcony with both harbor and city view. Only suites above the bre...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Tony Z

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed the splendour of Waitemata Harbour from your guest room and the hotel’s convenient city location. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,314)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,312 - 1,318 of 2,314 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

We booked through Wotif and arrived from Brisbane very late at night. (We'd plugged Quay Street into the GPS and ended up going around the block, as we hadn't realised that we were to drive down to the end of Princess Wharf to reach the hotel.) Utilised valet parking and the hotel was always ready with the "chit" to enable us to exit through the boom gate without having to pay. We had interconnected rooms, both with large balconies and 270-degree views from the city to across the harbour. We visited the restaurant for both breakfast and dinner and the food was excellent both times. The staff were wonderful, polite, helpful and courteous and we found the ambience of the hotel to be very relaxed and soothing. We walked into the city, stopping at the Tourist Bureau (corner Quay Street and the beginning of the wharf) on the way. Lots of choice for breakfast, lunch and dinner in the immediate area. Very, very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Robyn E

Thank you for sharing your complimentary review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and were able to experience FISH restaurant for both breakfast and dinner.

The hotel certainly does boast an enviable waterfront location, whilst being in very close proximity to the hub of Auckland’s shopping and entertainment precinct. We look forward to welcoming you back on future travels, should you be returning to the “City of Sails”.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

If you get a room with a view nothing will beat this hotel. A very good venue but the breakfast prices for a simple easy light meal was a bit over the top and not good value. Be prepared to take your time and work though the buffet to gain the value and it will last you all day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Keith I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Keith I

Thank you for opting to post your review of Hilton Auckland on TripAdvisor. As per my previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, the team and I are delighted you enjoyed your experience and the spectacular harbour views included with the room! It was our pleasure to be of service to you and we hope to welcome you back on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Yes Yes Yes, its a superb hotel in a fabulous location. Its clean, good quality and presents extremely well. Excellent bathroom facilities, great bed and sensational harbour & city views.
But at over $500.00 a night it was good but not that good. We have been lucky enough to stay at a few Hotels over the last few years and for what we experienced at this Hotel compared to others at this price we will not be rushing back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Rowan M

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor and we are glad you both enjoyed the charm of the hotel’s superb waterfront location. Your feedback regarding price paid is welcomed and taken onboard in the constructive manner intended. Should you decide to return on future visits, we very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards, Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Hilton for a work conference, the rooms are very well presented and clean. The onsite bar is lovely and had great views out over the ferry basin, it would have benefited from an extra staff member when we were there.
The hotel location is fantastic, particularly as we were heading to Euro for our conference dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntipodeanAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear AntipodeanAnn

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor and it was our pleasure to welcome you to Hilton Auckland for a business conference. I appreciate your positive feedback and am glad that you enjoyed the hotel’s facilities and wonderful location.

Should you be returning to the City of Sails on future travels, we look forward to seeing you once again.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The location of this hotel is fabulous. Ask for a Harbor view room, by all means, to weak up in the morning with the rising sun illuminating the city buildings and the yachts crossing the bay. The breakfast is great and with a beautiful view. The personnel are fantastic and always caring of you. I loved this place, will definitely come back. Only cons, price is quite high.

Room Tip: As for Harbor View
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Jose P

Thank you for posting a review of Hilton Auckland on TripAdvisor; I appreciate your feedback and am delighted you enjoyed the hotel’s waterfront location and FISH restaurant, served with spectacular views.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back and extending our Hilton hospitality experience to you once again, the next time you visit the ‘City of Sails’.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Arrival at the hotel is a bit daunting driving through the Wilson Carpark signs and barrier arms, etc. Take note that the valet parking is by far the best option if you have a car. But after that it is all good. The people are friendly and helpful, the rooms clean, quiet and comfortable. Make the most of it and make sure you book a room with sea views. The main restaurant, Fish (by Simon Gault), is fabulous. The staff are very friendly and knowledgable and the food really is top notch.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Marc R

Thank you for taking the time to complete an online hotel survey and opting to post a review on TripAdvisor. It was our pleasure to welcome you to Hilton Auckland as a HHonors traveller and we appreciate your feedback.

I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and had a memorable experience in FISH restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back on future stays.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,858 reviews
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,521 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,211 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,779 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £164 - £400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing