We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

My room overlooked the pool so I didn't feel like I had any privacy. The staff are wonderful very helpful, polite and friendly but overall this hotel is not worth the money, overpriced for the room features and facilities.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Sak_amk,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor, Your feedback is welcomed and taken onboard in the constructive manner intended. We are glad you enjoyed the service and helpfulness of our team.

Should you decide to return on future visits, we very much look forward to welcoming you back

Kindest Regards,

Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,239
    686
    234
    90
    37
See reviews for
261
1,148
161
496
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Hotel was in a great location and easy walking distance to many of the cities attractions. Comfortable modern rooms. Efficient and friendly staff. We had dinner in the restaurant and both agreed it was one of the best meals we had experienced during our stay in New Zealand.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Anthony F,

Thank you for posting your favourable review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted you both enjoyed our waterfront location, the service received by our staff and your meals in Fish Restaurant. I will certainly share your feedback with team!

We hope to see you back on future travels should you be returning to Auckland.

Kindest regards,

Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prophetstown, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The hotel has an excellent location for exploring downtown Auckland. It was difficult to get to as we had to take a ticket and go through a gate into a parking area. It was confusing the first time you arrive. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and we had a harbor view room that was stunning at night. It is a Hilton and has many of the same characteristics of a Hilton in the U.S. if you crave something to remind you of home. We used points and found that for the price and location it was an excellent choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foreveronward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Foreveronward,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is very welcome, and I am pleased to know you enjoyed your overall stay with us and the harbour view room which indeed offers stunning views over Auckland’s Waitemata harbour.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards,

Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Built out on the end of an old pier! Beautiful location, very friendly helpful staff. We arrived on time for checkin, unfortunately our room was not ready! No big deal we had a short stroll around the pier to a stunning restaurant and had a late lunch. I would love to describe the beautiful harbour view to you from our room but even after booking and confirming same 6 weeks in advance we ended up looking at the swimming pool. Everything else about our stay here was wonderful. The buffet breakfast scrumptious, so many options and eggs cooked to order. And the room service was some of the best I've had. My only other gripe is wifi, this establish isn't exactly cheap and you still have to pay for it in your room. The complimentary wifi in the public areas was a little hopeless but being upgraded as we checked out. Overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Douglas A

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. I welcome your feedback and am glad you enjoyed the hotel’s stunning waterfront location on Princes Wharf and that you were able to experience some of the city’s delights.

I hope we have an opportunity to one day welcome you back to the “City of Sails”.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

What an amazing place to stay. We had a beautiful guest suite that was on a corner looking out to the sky tower and wynyard quarters. The room was very comfortable and all the staff were welcoming and professional. We will be returning with out a doubt. And the breakfast at Fish is the best breakfast I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Fiona L

Thank you for taking the time to complete an online hotel survey and opting to post your review on TripAdvisor. As per my previous correspondence with you, I am delighted you enjoyed the Hilton experience.

FISH restaurant certainly does boast a unique waterfront location where one can relax in the ambience of the city and harbour views. We look forward to welcoming you back on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

From the modern and boutique style rooms to the amazing views of the city and harbour, this is perhaps the most impressive hotel in Auckland.

Had a king room facing the harbour and city. It was worth every penny. The room was clean and well appointed. Large bathroom with walk-in shower and bath tub. Also featured a large balcony.

Service was excellent. Was able to check in super early after flying in from NA. Concierge was extremely helpful and attentive.

Take advantage of the amazing brekkie - continental or full buffet options are available, at a cost nonetheless, or complimentary if you have the appropriate HHonors designation. The same goes for the wi fi.

Did not want to check-out.

+ Views
+ Service
+ Endless options for the breakfast buffet.

- Wi fi a little patchy.

Room Tip: Ask for a water facing room (likely considered an upgrade).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobS2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear RobS2011

Thank you for sharing your complimentary review on TripAdvisor and I am delighted you enjoyed the hotel and it’s stunning waterfront location.

It was our pleasure to be of service to you and we look forward to having you stay with us again, should future travels bring you back to Auckland.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is as awesome hotel with amazing view. Staff are friendly and helpful; They give you all the hints and tips for the restaurants and entertainment in the area. Facilities are well maintained and the pool was still hot in the middle of winter. The ferry is right down the street and very convenient to go to the outer islands. The rooms were clean and spacious

Room Tip: Get the water facing rooms on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesOngSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear JamesOngSg

Thank you for recommending Hilton Auckland on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you and your family had a memorable stay, enjoying the hotel’s stunning location alongside Auckland’s Waitemata harbour.

We look forward to welcoming you back and extending our Hilton hospitality experience should you return to Auckland on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,494 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
4,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,769 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Property: Hilton Auckland
Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing