We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Auckland”
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel was very nice and clean. Our balcony was huge and unfortunately we were there during their winter so we didn't spend time out there. There was a severe wind storm during our stay and all of our tourist activities were cancelled. We made the most of it though. The staff was amazing and we watched lots of world cup soccer in the bar with our son (17) and daughter (13). My kids knew the bartender names, concierge and bell desk people. We played cards and enjoyed the hotel. I had the best manicure ever in the mall around the corner. Bummer we couldn't explore that much but we were on a 35 day holiday and that was in the middle. We embraced it, relaxed and got ready for Queensland. We would go back to Auckland and the Hilton again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SeattleEastside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear SeattleEastside

Thank you very much for posting your review on TripAdvisor and it was our pleasure to welcome you and your family to our waterfront property. I am pleased to note that the team cared for you well ensuring you had a memorable experience, even though you could not enjoy the outdoor activities you had planned.

We certainly hope to welcome you back on future travels should you return to the ‘City of Sails' for a summer holiday.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,359 - 1,365 of 2,398 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Having recently, visited Auckland for a combination of business and pleasure, my wife and I decided to stay at the Hilton.
We have stayed there in the past, and are MOST happy to report from the time we made our reservation, greeted at the entrance by the friendly conceirge, to the fine lady at reception, we can confidently suggest that the Hilton is well worthy as a fine hotel to stay at.
The room allocated was great, we had the 'turn down ' service and thoroughly enjoyed a restful sleep.
Now, breakfasts at The Fish..............hey you MUST have your breakfast there.
A lovely greeting from Ana Marie, fast, efficient attention from Mel....whhoaa, all in all, a most memorable breakfast, and accommodation at the Hilton.
Thanking all the team, Allan & Margaret from Cambridge.N.Z.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AllanF369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear AllanF369,

Thank you very much for sharing such a kind review on tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read that you and your wife had a most enjoyable stay with us.

I will certainly share your feedback with the team, and I will indeed thank them for making your stay with us such a memorable one.

Kindest regards,

Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

we stayed at the Auckland Hilton for a short break last weekend. The location is excellent and the staff were up to expectations. We would suggest that the harbour view rooms are worth the extra money.

Room Tip: Pick the harbourview room - well worth the additional cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Garth Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Garth Y,

Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor, your feedback is much appreciated!

I am delighted to know that you had a nice short weekend away, and that you enjoyed the service received by the team and the location of the hotel. Our harbour view rooms do indeed offer great views offer Auckland’s Waitemata Harbour.

Kindest regards,

Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Took the Dinner, bed & breakfast package. Well worth it for a special occasion. The meal was amazing and the breakfast overwhelming. The view from the room back to the city at night was stunning. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Joy H,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor, and also for completing the Hotel’s survey.

I am pleased to know that you enjoyed the Dinner, Bed and Breakfast Package.

Thank you for highly recommending the hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards,

Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in a harbour view room and it was really good. Great modern hotel with modest size rooms but big enough when you are on business and spend little time there. The only downside was the pillows as they were quite tough to sleep on. The Fish restaurant had excellent food and the staff were fantastic and really knew the menu and made it a great experience. The whole staff at the Hilton were very accommodating and would definitely stay there on my next visit to Auckland.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear David S,

Thank you for staying with us at Hilton Auckland, and thank you very much for sharing you feedback on TripAdvisor.

I appreciate your positive feedback on the rooms and on Fish restaurant, I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel and the service received by our team members.

Please be informed that we do have alternative pillows available, so if you return to our hotel for a future stay we will be more than happy to supply you with your preference of pillow type,

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Auckland.

Kindest regards,

Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I liked my stay at the hilton. I don't know what people are saying when they say dated. I found everything pretty fresh and modern. I was disappointed that all deluxe harbor view are on the side as i was hoping they would be on the end. I would definitely want to be on the ferry station side unless i wanted total quiet and not much to look at. Location is good....close to restaurants and shopping. Stayed alone and felt safe. Called the first night about kids in the hallway knocking and saying "room service". Got a call from the manager shortly after. It was nice to know they took it seriously and checked it out. Maid service was great. Left tip for her everyday but she never took it. It was great the way she took the time to organize my stuff for me. Room was big....bathroom was enormous with a separate bath. Would not hesitate to stay there again. Keep checking prices....they went down for me. Did not eat there as prices in the hotel restaurants were high. The one complaint i would really have is the $30/day wifi....that's a bit ridiculous.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadtripper007Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear roadtripper007Usa,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. The team and I are delighted to learn that you had an overall pleasing experience with us; we very much appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit the city of Sails!

Kind regards,

Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Recently enjoyed a 2 night stay at The Hilton. Requested interconnecting rooms and got them, along with an upgrade to the top floor because it was my wife's birthday. a delicious birthday cake was waiting in the room on our arrival. Fantastic location - always something to watch on the harbour. The friendly service was the highlight for us. Great staff across the whole spectrum of services made our stay unforgettable. Set menu dinner at Fish was awesome and our waiter organised house made chocolates as an extra treat after dinner upon finding out it was my wife's birthday. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank DJR21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear DJR21,

I very much enjoyed reading your detailed post on tripadvisor, and thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the team at the hotel made your stay even more memorable.

I hope you will bring us a visit again in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards,

Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,938 reviews
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,585 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,824 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £180 - £557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing