We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All about location”
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Four nights in Auckland on the way to the Cook Islands, it would be almost impossible to find a better location to stay. Airport buses start and finish almost at the front door, the ferry terminal is next door for day trips, surrounded by great restaurants and bars.

The room was spacious with a balcony overlooking the water and the ever changing colours of the building across the water.

Tourist information office 2 minutes away staffed by the most helpful and friendly people you could find

Room Tip: Make sure you get the harbour side room, worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Paul G

I am delighted you had a memorable stay at our waterfront property and thank you for sharing your complimentary review on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to welcome you prior to your Island retreat and we hope to see you again on future stays.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,327 - 1,333 of 2,369 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times, but not for a few years, so it was nice to come back to an "old favourite".

The hotel is well located near the Auckland Viaduct restaurant area, the ferry terminal (for trips to Waiheki Island or Devonport, for example) and at the bottom end of Queen Street. It is one of the more expensive Auckland hotels.

The rooms are comfortable and with a 4th floor room looking out across the harbour, it was nice.

I received all the amenities and included breakfast in the first floor restaurant, which had a lot of options, including gluten free. However, there was no separate place to toast the gluten-free bread, for example, so the risk of cross-contamination was high.

Overall, an enjoyable stay. There are aspects of design that shows the hotel's age, but it is well-maintained.

Staff are friendly and helpful, but seemed responsive, rather than pro-active, there often being no one at reception when it was quiet.

Room Tip: No suggestions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Steven L

Thank you for posting your detailed review on TripAdvisor; we appreciate your feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your return stay and the splendour of the harbour views. The hotel certainly does boast a unique location, whilst being in very close proximity to many of the delights on offer in the Auckland CBD. We hope to see you again on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This Hilton had a great breakfast which included dairy-free and gluten-free options. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable with great pillows and a comfortable duvet. The hotel was in a great location over looking the harbor.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sandra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Sandra Z

Thank you posting your review on TripAdvisor outlining the Hilton Auckland experience. I am delighted you enjoyed the breakfast in FISH, which is without a doubt one of the best waterfront restaurant locations in Auckland.

We hope to welcome you back in the future should you be returning to Auckland, the ‘City of Sails’.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is as many of its kind a good looking hotel.
Things to note.
It's in a great spot not too far but also not in the heart of Auckland's bars and clubs checkout at 12 midday is excellent!!
Rooms are an average size - quiet average for the price.
They are however very clean and well appointed
Wifi is not free - really 388 for a room for the night and no free wifi ? Do you really need more from
Me??

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Brenden B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Brenden B

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. I welcome your feedback and am glad you enjoyed the hotel’s waterfront location and were able to experience some of this city’s delights. Having noted your comments in regards to Wi-Fi charges, at Hilton Auckland we do offer complimentary Internet in our Lobby, Bellini Bar, FISH restaurant and all other public areas of the hotel.

I hope we may have an opportunity to one day welcome you back on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Princess Wharf, on which the Hilton was built, was a working wharf and ocean liner passenger terminal before being redeveloped in the late 1990s. The wharf now includes the hotel, cruise-ship terminal, offices, small shops and quite a bit of car parking.

The hotel features prominently on the Auckland shoreline, protruding into the harbour with its rigid architecture. On the plus side, this gives a nice view from the restaurant, looking across the harbour while digesting a nice buffet breakfast.

While the building seems big (and has quite a long walk to the entrance), the hotel has a "small" feeling internally. A pleasant bar and the restaurant are the only areas particularly visible to the public.

I had a "Harbour View" room that looked across the water at a neighbouring passenger wharf. The room was cozy but adequate. The bathroom contained both a bath and a "real" shower.

Internet was available, for an additional charge.

Room Tip: Harbour View rooms look out towards the water. The others look inward toward the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fermax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear fermax

Thank you for posting your informative review on TripAdvisor. The team and I are glad you had a memorable stay, indulging in the Hilton experience surrounded by the Waitemata Harbour.

We look forward to having you stay with us again, should future travels bring you back to Auckland.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great sense of arrival with the cruse ship design and waterfront location. Warm welcome from the bellman (Tony?). Front desk gentleman was quick and informative. Rooms are sleek with comfy bed and linens and a nice size balcony. The restaurant was waterfront, gorgeous all in white and the fish dish for lunch perfectly described by the server and delicious. Breakfast was lovely and we received a great dinner recommendation from the concierge for the Botswana Grill. It was within walking distance and a nice stroll along the water. Another night we enjoyed Sol Restaurant in the marina - also memorable. I highly recommend this hotel for the facility, great staff and waterfront location!

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the pool and some the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerioke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Kerioke

Thank you for posting your favourable review on TripAdvisor and for choosing Hilton Auckland as your preferred accommodations. I am delighted you enjoyed our boutique hotel’s unique waterfront location and the spectacular experience in FISH restaurant.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel was very nice and clean. Our balcony was huge and unfortunately we were there during their winter so we didn't spend time out there. There was a severe wind storm during our stay and all of our tourist activities were cancelled. We made the most of it though. The staff was amazing and we watched lots of world cup soccer in the bar with our son (17) and daughter (13). My kids knew the bartender names, concierge and bell desk people. We played cards and enjoyed the hotel. I had the best manicure ever in the mall around the corner. Bummer we couldn't explore that much but we were on a 35 day holiday and that was in the middle. We embraced it, relaxed and got ready for Queensland. We would go back to Auckland and the Hilton again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SeattleEastside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear SeattleEastside

Thank you very much for posting your review on TripAdvisor and it was our pleasure to welcome you and your family to our waterfront property. I am pleased to note that the team cared for you well ensuring you had a memorable experience, even though you could not enjoy the outdoor activities you had planned.

We certainly hope to welcome you back on future travels should you return to the ‘City of Sails' for a summer holiday.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,915 reviews
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,567 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,813 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £188 - £484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing