We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This time absolutely 5 stars++”
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna
Level Contributor
180 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“This time absolutely 5 stars++”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Coming again that year to our favourite hotel in Auckland we had an enormous pleasure:
The view from our bow suite was as marvellous as ever to harbour and city and this time no enormous cruise ship obstructed our view (last time this happened for all of the day)and we where not bothered by the stench of the hip´s kitchen nor by hundreds of waving and greeting us pensioners,watching us having our drinks on the terrace of our suite.
We were happy.
The kitchen of the restaurant is really exquisite (the lamb and the tuna were perfect) and the restaurant is nicely located in the direction to the sea.Service,Staff,Wifi room,room service were again first class as we had expected from last time.
We shall come again and recommend the house to our friends

Room Tip: choose a harbour view bow suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ratpackvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear ratpackvienna

Thank you for posting your complimentary review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you both had a truly memorable experience at Hilton Auckland enjoying the harbour splendour in one of our spectacular Bow Suites. FISH restaurant certainly does boast a unique dining experience in what is one of the best waterfront locations in Auckland and I am glad that this totally met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,202
    678
    228
    89
    37
See reviews for
257
1,114
158
490
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hamiton new zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Loved everything about the Hilton until I got the visa bill and they had taken out $500 for room authorisation on a cheaper room rate and 5 days later I had to ask them to take the room authorisation off my visa bill!

Room Tip: the ferry terminal side can be noisy at night. Rooms on the north side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnazart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear donnazart

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor and for choosing Hilton Auckland as your destination on recent business travel. I am pleased you enjoyed our waterfront hotel. My apologies for any inconvenience with the hotel’s pre-authorisation process. This standard procedure should have been clearly explained to you on check-in; your feedback has most certainly been shared with the front desk team.

I hope we may have an opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to the ‘City of Sails’.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great location in terms of scenery, although a reasonable walk from the centre of Auckland. Nice staff, nice rooms. If you're oceanside nice views (if you're not, bad views). Overall, sleep quality was let down by a thin door = corridor noise unmuted.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear John M

Thank you posting your review on TripAdvisor and as per our previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed I am glad you enjoyed the hotel.
My apologies for the noise disturbance you experienced from the corridor; I am sorry for this inconvenience.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back on future stays.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Before starting our four weeks cruise with the Holland America Lines "Oosterdam" we arrived in Auckland to stay for two nights at the Hilton Hotel to relax and refresh from travelling for 36 hours.
The reception staff was very helpful upon arrival, but also to arrange our short travel to the cruise terminal later on. We got useful information about Auckland.
the room was clean, spacious and comfortable.
We had a verry good nights sleep and enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Glad we booked this hotel, as it was at the same ihgh standard at the next four weeks on our cruiseship.,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederik1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Frederik1947

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Auckland prior to your cruise ship holiday last year. I am glad your stay was relaxing and memorable. especially with such ease of transferring directly onto the ship from the hotel. It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back should you return to the “City of Sails’ on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was a nice place, with friendly staff. I did however expect more considering the image of the brand. I don't have any complaints as such, but I would not necessarily rave about my stay. We had the breakfast buffet included in the package, and whilst a buffet will never be as good as an a la carte meal, the food was fairly average. All in all I would recommend this hotel, but not exclusively and not to people wanting that extra bit of luxury.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Samantha J

Thank you for opting to post your review on TripAdvisor. As per our previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, we appreciate your feedback which has been shared with the team. I am sorry that your stay did not entirely meet your expectations on this occasion.

Should you be returning to our property on future stays, please feel free to contact me directly via email roger.branstma@hilton.com so as I may ensure your complete satisfaction.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Four nights in Auckland on the way to the Cook Islands, it would be almost impossible to find a better location to stay. Airport buses start and finish almost at the front door, the ferry terminal is next door for day trips, surrounded by great restaurants and bars.

The room was spacious with a balcony overlooking the water and the ever changing colours of the building across the water.

Tourist information office 2 minutes away staffed by the most helpful and friendly people you could find

Room Tip: Make sure you get the harbour side room, worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Paul G

I am delighted you had a memorable stay at our waterfront property and thank you for sharing your complimentary review on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to welcome you prior to your Island retreat and we hope to see you again on future stays.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times, but not for a few years, so it was nice to come back to an "old favourite".

The hotel is well located near the Auckland Viaduct restaurant area, the ferry terminal (for trips to Waiheki Island or Devonport, for example) and at the bottom end of Queen Street. It is one of the more expensive Auckland hotels.

The rooms are comfortable and with a 4th floor room looking out across the harbour, it was nice.

I received all the amenities and included breakfast in the first floor restaurant, which had a lot of options, including gluten free. However, there was no separate place to toast the gluten-free bread, for example, so the risk of cross-contamination was high.

Overall, an enjoyable stay. There are aspects of design that shows the hotel's age, but it is well-maintained.

Staff are friendly and helpful, but seemed responsive, rather than pro-active, there often being no one at reception when it was quiet.

Room Tip: No suggestions
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Steven L

Thank you for posting your detailed review on TripAdvisor; we appreciate your feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your return stay and the splendour of the harbour views. The hotel certainly does boast a unique location, whilst being in very close proximity to many of the delights on offer in the Auckland CBD. We hope to see you again on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,453 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,274 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Property: Hilton Auckland
Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing