We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Waterside Hotel With In-Room Cruising” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 639 helpful votes
“Great Waterside Hotel With In-Room Cruising”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2009

We liked this Hilton - a highly imaginative design that takes full advantage of and inspiration from its setting on the edge of Auckland’s harbour. It is white and glass throughout and looks like an ocean liner. Parking is a breeze, check-in totally up to the mark, luggage arrived in our room in minutes and the room itself (No.611) was superb, with a broad balcony on which to admire the view of the jumbled cityscape, the container port and the bay, all the way across to shabby Devonport.

Our room gave us everything we needed and maybe a bit more. While the bathroom wasn’t quite up to the ultra-new standards of the Crown, Napier (qv), no one could find anything wrong with it once you got used to the sliding door and the glass shower wall which actually looked like the door. There was a big flatscreen TV, rapid internet, a comfy bed and cool decor.

Downstairs, there is a bar for lunch snacks and White restaurant where we had dinner. This is a rather smart place, with contemporary food, not perhaps as buzzy as the scores of waterfront restaurants around the harbour and the marina. We had a particularly fine lunch the next day at a place called Cin Cin in the old customs building.

The hotel emailed us five days before our arrival to advise us that a large cruise ship, the Sun Princess, would be docking early the next morning. We got up at 6am to watch it sail in and after an hour or so it had completely obliterated our view - it was like an apartment block had arrived from Mars overnight. For a while it was a novelty, even exciting, but then the noise started to get to us - it was like having a vacuum cleaner going in your room. But we checked out by 11am anyway so it didn’t spoil our stay at this enjoyable and highly professional Hilton.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pausanias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,119
    633
    216
    81
    36
See reviews for
234
1,041
147
454
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2009

We stayed in the Hilton Apartments overnight, what an experience the concierge looked after our luggage and car. We were exhausted and this was so well welcoming. We arrived at 11.30pm and the receptionist was so friendly. She then went on to congratulate us on our nuptials and a waiter arrived with flutes of champagne. Bearing in mind we were staying in the apartments and had booked online for a fraction of the cost! We went to the apartment, the concierge arrived with our luggage. We ordered a sushi platter through room service at the main hotel and it arrived 20 minutes later (bearing in mind it is now after midnight).
The Hilton apartment s are the best kept secret they are spacious and extremely well decorated. The service and friendliness of the staff was second to none.
I cannot strongly enough recommend the Hilton hotel and apartments in Auckland a great find! We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sucasydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2009

Stayed here at the start of a vacation to New Zealand after a very long flight from New York. It was great to arrive to such a comfortable hotel and it's a shame we did not get a chance to stay longer and take full advantage of this property. The hotel is very modern, new and definitely one of the nicer Hilton hotels we have stayed in. The room is stylish with a balcony and views of the harbor and downtown Auckland. The bathroom was large and spotless. We didn't eat or drink here at the trendy bar / restaurant but took a wander towards downtown and had an enjoyable cheap and cheerful Mexican meal close by. The hotel itself is situated in a fairly bland, but new complex built into the harbor. To get to the action you have to walk for a few minutes. That said there are a few bars and restaurants within the complex, including an ice bar. If I was in Auckland on a business trip I would definitely consider coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mactoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diandda
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2009

We stayed at the Hilton Waterside apartments on the way to a wedding. The apartment was self contained and we got quite good value for money from a last minute website (I can't remember which one). The apartment was great apart from NO air conditioning and being charged an extra $30 for parking. There was no service to the apartments, but we knew that beforehand.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diandda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWI1010, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 19 February 2009
The Hilton Auckland has a few apartments we manage that are located in two buildings next door the the hotel. These apartments ar inter-mixed with owner occupier apartments. The apartments that are located in 'shed 20' behind the hotel do not have air-conditioing. However all the apartments are water-facing with the large decks. Fans are supplied in the summer months and heaters in the winter months. As these apartments do not have air-conditioning this is reflected in the price.

We do offer both 'daily' service as well as 'non-service' rates for these aparments.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2009

We were careful to reserve a suite with an adjoining room next door for our two night stay. Unfortunately, when we arrived the staff informed us that they had given away our reserved adjoining room the night before.

The concierge sent us to an "Italian" restaurant that served no Italian food. It was called Cin Cin and turned out to be pretty good although we had been expecting pasta on the menu and therefore were disappointed due to the Hilton's false information.

The hotel restaurants are completely understaffed. We had awful service at White. We had to ask three times for tap water. The next day we ate at Bellini for breakfast instead and had better service because there was only one other party eating there. The waitress said that even when Bellini gets busy, she is the only staff there for breakfast and it can get to be too much.

The best thing about the hotel is the architecture because there are great views and lots of light. It is true that sometimes cruise ships park outside the windows though, and block the view and invade your privacy. The housekeeping service seemed friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, the management does not seem to know how to otherwise run a decent hotel.

  • Liked — rooms, views
  • Disliked — service, restaurants
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank glewis042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWI1010, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 19 February 2009
I was disappointed to see that we were a number of issues with regards to your recent stay at the hotel.

We do endevour to accommodate all 'special requests' with regards to room allocations, I'm happy to say for the most we do get this right but it can happen due to last minute changes during high demand periods it is not always possible.

I regret that your epxerience in White for breakfast did not meet your expectation on this occasion and that there was delays with the service to your table.

Thak you for your feedback in this regard.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2009

After previously visiting Auckland in February 2008, I was very excited about showing my husband the fantastic buzzy vibe of the Waterfront, which is a group of restaurants etc down by the water in Auckland. I booked the Hilton because it was the first night of our holiday and because of its location.
Unfortunately it seems all Auckland-ers exit the city in Dec-Jan, so the waterfront was dead as a doornail! Barely a soul to be seen which was so disappionting.
The hotel service was welcoming and friendly - no complaint there. The room however was fairly small but did boast a large bath. No spa or sauna and the pool is outdoors which is not particularly inviting on a rainy Auckland day. It does provide easy car access and is relatively close to a large shopping centre and hire car places
Overall it was ok .. but lacked no "omph" factor, esp for the price

  • Liked — The large bath
  • Disliked — the small rooms
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWI1010, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, 19 February 2009
Yes late December early January is the main summer holiday season in New Zealand with many of the offices closing down for a few weeks for the holiday season. The departure of the 'locals' is generally replaced with the arrival of the international tourists, the 1st quarter of the year being our most busiest.
Although it is holiday season all retail outlets, attractions, restaurants and bars are fully operational.

There is a fully service spa facility located in the building adjacent to the Hilton on Princes Wharf. The hotel's concierge desk can make bookings for guests as well as we the guest having the option to 'charge back' any service fees for their treatment to thier room account.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2009

I booked 3 nights at the Hilton Auckland using my husband's HHonors points. We were not disappointed. The location was great with easy access to ferries and restaurants. The room had a nice-sized bathroom and came with complimentary breakfast for the 2 of us (plus they did not charge for the kids' breakfast) and a balcony with fantastic views of the harbour. The staff was always friendly and helpful. I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends, family, and business associates, and am looking forward to making a return trip in the future.

  • Liked — Location, clean rooms, big bathroom
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank staceyss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,954 reviews
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Property: Hilton Auckland
Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing