We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, clean and a great setting”
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We were pleasantly surprised to find such a clean, well kept property on the quay. Very comfortable and all around great.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travl003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,094 - 2,100 of 2,366 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2009

I have stayed at this hotel several times and I love it!! Its fantastically situated on a jetty in Auckland Harbour. It is really worth paying the extra for a arbour view room. Incidentally if the cost is an issue, you can stay in the Hlton Apartments which look out over the other side of the harbour for significantly less than the cost of the main hotel.

The only slight word of caution is that cruise ships do 'park' alngside the hotel, blocking the view of the harbour, and that is a bit like someone building a block of flats in front of your hotel window. Each of the harbourside rooms has a huge balcony and enormous picture windows which just make it more lovely!

The infinitiy pool is also worth a look - its one of the most oddly situated pools ive ever seen!

My only gripe about the hotel is that like almost all hotels they really overcharge for internet access. Isnt it about time hotels stopped ripping off their guests with broadband charges or are they just keen to maintaint his revenue stream while they can?

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seniledelinquent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

We stayed here for a couple of nights. This is almost certainly the best 5 star in Auckland with a terrific location on the waterfront. It's hard to find though, so make sure you get good directions. Our room was very nice, spacious, clean, inviting and perfectly decorated with outstanding views over the water with a nice balcony. Perfect room for a couple. The service was excellent, quick and friendly. The only downside was the price.. add $60 per night for parking and internet and everything else was double the price too. If price is no object this is the best place to stay in Auckland.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobetrotterJSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Upon arrival, the service was very proffessional, and we felt very welcome. We were on the 7th floor, so when the cruise ship docked ,the top deck was level with us, ( which we were warned about), we found it a great novetly.Breakfast service was outstanding, the room was fantastic, and also the Hilton is in a fantastic spot for Ferry trips, restaurants, shops, and the Skytower.We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinicooperAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Always enjoy my Hilton Experence, service levels always exceded the norm, well appointed rooms, best views in auckland and great location onlong the Viaduct.

Hotel resturant is above adv, but without being a top Auckland resturant.. Try cin-cin close to the Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayden_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

My partner and I spend 4 nights at the Hilton Auckland in May. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the front desk employee, who was extremely friendly. When he learned that it was our first time in Auckland, he promptly took out a local map and pointed out different things to do. He spent quite a bit of time with us! As a Hilton Honors Diamond Member, I stay in Hilton Hotels very frequently. We got to our room, and were blown away. Very clean, nicely appointed, and the balcony with the harbor view was amazing. We ordered room service a few times - mostly desserts, and they were fantastic! Given the location, service, and atmosphere, I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Auckland. Thanks!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

After 20 minutes of driving "on the wrong side " of the road from the airport I would have probably been happy to arrive at any hotel. The Hilton as others have mentioned sits at the edge of a pier and offers wonderful island and water views. Comfortable modern rooms and a 5 minute walk into the heart of downtown make it ideal. The concierge helped us arrange some show tickets at the last minute and was helpful in guiding us through using the bus system to maximum advantage. A great relaxing stay. Though many Auckland reviews recommend a short stay we could have easily stayed 5 days.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,911 reviews
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,564 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,242 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,809 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £191 - £522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing