We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but OK”
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Just travelling on a limited budget, thought I would splash out and take some time out.
Quite a high room rate- so you expect high quality and fantastic service- WOW factor as they say.

Rooms getting a little tired, seems to be a trend in NZ. Mammoth Cruize Boat parked outside the room, however we we told about this prior to coming- no issues at all.

Great location, staff just fine, hotel just missing a zing really.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coliniraq05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,042 - 2,048 of 2,341 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2010

Even before we arrived, we received word from the hotel warning that our view would be obstructed for 2 of the days because of a ship docking near the hotel. The attention to detail continued during our stay. The front desk, concierge, breakfast staff were all wonderful. The evening after our departure, we even received an email indicating that we had forgotten our cell phone, which was found by housekeeping. The staff kindly mailed our phone to us!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobbes40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

The location of the Hilton Auckland is very good - right at the Waterfront and close to the CBD. There is little to complain about the Hotel itself. The staff was friendly and professional (thanks for letting me check in early), the rooms are modern and clean and the view from the exterior rooms is really pretty. I didn´t have dinner or lunch at the Hotel restaurant but the breakfast buffet is good Hilton Standard. Only flaw I could find: The pool is nicely located but very small. Oh, and there is no Wi-Fi in the rooms which is quite unusual for a Hotel nowadays.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mettigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

Awesome view from this room on the 5 th floor. Staff very very good at this property - friendly, heplful and utterly professional I was really impressed on my first visit to NZ (it was a little unexpected). The room was well appointed and the view just meant I didn't want to go out all weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcus493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

i liked the hotel because it was quite and cozy. i particularly loved having breakfast on the balcony and just staring out into the sea in the mornings enjoying the sunlight. the staff were helpful and friendly. i must thank them for getting us tickets for the Mama Mia show which happened to be in town during our visit.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbuMetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

When planning our time in Auckland a friend had suggested staying at the Westin in the Quay, but the room rates were more than we had budgeted. After reading fellow Trip Advisor reviews we decided that the Hilton was the next best choice with rates within our budget and we couldn’t have been more satisfied with our choice.

After 14 hours in-flight we couldn’t have been more pleased to arrive at the Hilton to find a friendly face everywhere we turned from the doorman to the front desk clerk to the bellman with our luggage. Our room was spacious and contemporary with a huge bathroom. We could not have been more comfortable.

The hotel has the best possible location and views right along the wharf with plenty of wonderful sea-side restaurants to choose from, prime shopping in the area, immediate access to all harbor cruises and a great home-base for all of the sites. We opted for about an hour-long walk on a beautiful day to the Auckland Museum.

We did stay at the hotel twice while transiting from one city to another and our second stay in room 701 was slightly more pleasing (very nice view) than the stay we had on the 4th floor where our only complaint was a rather noisy pipe that clunked periodically and our view was of the pool. Other than that we had no complaints and my husband exclaimed that the hotel breakfast was among the best we’ve ever had. It was really tasty! I suggest including it in your room reservation as the cost outside of the room rate is about $28nz per person.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotravelColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

An excellent Hotel with great staff and great location will definately stay again

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crowgirlsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,883 reviews
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,549 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,230 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,798 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £193 - £469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing