We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Hotel- good location- excellent views good service”
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2010

Very good hotel in heart of Auckland, New Zealand. Good service, nice rooms, cgood restaurant although over priced. beautiful views.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,058 - 2,064 of 2,368 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2010

Check in was fast, rooms extremely clean and good looking. Excellent view of the harbour and wharf. Didn't try the food (since our host supplied all the meals). Location close to Queens street.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nawee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

I booked at the last minute after originally planning to stay with family in Auckland. My partner and I stayed for two nights, and decided on the Hilton because of its location near the Viaduct Basin restaurants and its much touted views of the harbour.The wotif website noted that "Cruise Ships may impact on water views on certain dates".
The room was very small, and quite average, in my opinion. However, the main problem for us is that both days, our views were completely obstructed from 6am to 8pm at night, by two huge cruise ships (the second ship seemed to be twice the size of the hotel). On the second morning, we were woken at 6am by the ship's PA system as it docked. Both days there was frenzied activity all day unloading and loading the ship, with the entire harbour side of the hotel closed off to the public.
A staff member informed me that in December 2010, there will be 22 days where a cruise ship will be alongside the hotel. I would be wary of booking this hotel if you are going there for the location/view. Apparently people leaving or joining cruises enjoy the convenience of the hotel, however, i can't see the benefit to anyone else.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anastasia_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Got a great deal for one night.

The Hilton is right on the wharf in central Akl. Parking a but steep at $30 overnight.

Check in fantastic and smooth. Great staff, very friendly.

Rooms are superb. Lovely bed, best sleep ever. Great bathroom, very quiet.

Fantastic lap pool looking over the water. Great gym, 24 hr access, lots of equipment and free weights.

Fantastic brekky, with ala carte options so it doesn't break the bank. Eggs Benedict and coffee was $22.

An awesome 5 'star' hotel in Akl. Hard to top.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

The address is misleading - the Hilton is at the very end of the wharf. Although you pay extra for view rooms, it is worth it! Being about 500 meters from the street, it is quite quiet. Many restaurants are nearby, and a 10 minute walk gets you to Queen street for some serious shopping and eating! I have stayed at many Hilton's worldwide (Sydney just prior to Auckland), and this is an above average facility, but not quite up to Hilton Sydney. I would not have wanted to have stayed at any other hotel in Auckland. The staff even let me use the internet without charge! They are very friendly & helpful here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank slycow42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

The good things about this hotel: the restaurant, White, has very good food and knowledgeable serving staff who recommended the perfect wine for our meal; the rooms on 2nd floor are very spacious (rooms higher up are smaller because of the shape of the building); the location right by the Viaduct; and the views across the harbour.
The not-so-good: day staff in the lounge and bar were conspicuous by their absence (after 20 minutes had to go to the restaurant to get coffee); no executive lounge; rooms in need of renovation; poor gym facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dk011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Pros:
excellent location in the viaduct;
extremely quite on a private road surrounded by water;

Cons:
very small room
slow concierge service

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Just_Me_Roma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,915 reviews
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,566 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,242 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,811 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £189 - £481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing