We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star 4 Star Motel, Great Views, Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Napier, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“5 Star 4 Star Motel, Great Views, Quiet”
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Fantastic view of City, room just refurbished, great walks & Rose Garden down road, Close Parnell Restaurants short walk Newmarket shops. Loads of parking. Suggest would be good for longer stay than 1 night I had.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1JayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    341
    104
    24
    10
See reviews for
196
256
42
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Our room was very clean and comfortable and had a lovely view over the harbour. We ate in the restaurant which was cheaper than the restaurants in Parnell and provided excellent food and service. The centre of town can be reached easily by bus and takes about 10 minutes.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenfrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papamoa
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

We stayed one night in this clean, and well equipped motel. Very good location in the middle of Parnell, we walked into the city and hopped on the bus back (1.80 NZ$). Rooms were not that spacious but good enough for us, beautiful LCD tv, nice beds and modern design. The staff was very friendly and allowed us to park our car in the parking lot even though we had checked out already. Recommended hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FvdHPapamoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Barrycourt was a pleasant place to stay. The staff were helpful and friendly, the room was spacious although the decor is a little dated. The hotel is in a quiet street in Parnell which has many trendy bars and restaurants. Situated on top of a hill and close to the city our room had amazing views of the harbour. Would happily stay here again when I return to Auckland

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woody72par
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Stayed one night in a studio room for $105. Was relatively quiet and very clean. Bathroom was a bit outdated and had a few minor details not attended to but was good otherwise. had a bath which is always a nice touch in a hotel room. Had a big king sized bed with nice linen. Would recommend this hotel for somewhere reasonably priced and comfortable to stay. Location is good as it is close to everything. Free parking is a bonus as that is hard to find around the city.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smileys_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

Service - Lovely staff, even when we made it clear that we were checking out early because we were very disappointed. Went out of their way to assist.

Room - Great view but nothing else going for it. It feels like you are on a ship. Main room door opens straight into the bathroom!

Location - Ok location. Great view!

Amenities - Free parking. Internet that you have to pay for is so so so so slow! A waste of time trying to get any pages to load.

Liked:
Best - The friendly lady on checking out who gave us a refund for the poor internet
Least - Pretty much everything else

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWholeNewWorld10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

The Quadrant - where I stayed for my first visit to Auckland - was already fully booked so I had to use some alternative that did fit within my budget and had rooms available. I did choose the Barrycourt because it was reasonably priced, was pretty close to the CBD and had good reviews here.

I did get a room at the fourth floor of the eastern wing, with a great view over the harbor and out to Davenport etc. The room was pretty large, with two king-size beds. It included a fully equipped kitchen (well, it didn't have a dishwasher but used cups etc. were washed every day by the staff) and a small bathroom. Clearly, its best days are a history now - the whole room and its furnishings looked like taken out of the seventies with the exception of the modern flat-screen TV. The furniture looked positively worn, the couch and two armchairs in particular should definitely be replaced. Also, the bathroom while clean had this worn down, used look to it which made using it a tad uncomfortable.

The bed has been quite comfortable. It was fitted with two electric blankets - one for each side of the bed with separate controls.

When I entered it the room had this peculiar smell that is hard to describe - a bit like damp plywood. On subsequent days it wasn't as strong as on the first night - maybe I got used to it or maybe the room sat unused for some time before I moved in.

The room was equipped with a very loud heater-blower installed over the door. When working full time it was able to raise the room temperature to a comfortable level in the evening. Without it it was of course pretty cold at night (even though it was early spring and pretty good weather). However, it made so much noise it wasn't possible to sleep with it on - so the only way to keep the chill at bay were the electric blankets.

Again, this hotel shared the common problem of all Kiwi buildings - no insulation, no double-glazing, no heating. Somehow Kiwis didn't notice most of the developed world has moved on from the housing standards that were considered normal in late nineteenth century Britain. I mention it to help you put this into a proper prospective - cold inside is how you would feel in most Kiwi homes and hotels, so Barrycourt is not an exception.

Whatever Barrycourt lacked in terms of room's standard it made up for it with extremely friendly and helpful staff. Their friendly attitude put a smile on guests' faces and I think is the high point of this place. In particular I want to praise Kathy at the reception who was great when organizing my airport transfer late at night.

No comments on breakfasts or restaurant as I didn't use them. I did use room service once - it was friendly, fairly quick and obviously overpriced for what it was. However, Barrycourt is just a few steps away from Parnell Road where you will find different places to eat - from restaurants through a pub to a bakery and a fish&chips place - although most of them close before 9pm.

Overall, it is a pretty decent hotel for a business traveler on a budget but I wouldn't take my wife there for anything romantic unless it undergoes a full scale renovation.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 67 in Auckland
312 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
950 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Property: Quality Hotel Parnell
Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Road, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#13 Family Hotel in Auckland
#16 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 105 air-conditioned rooms centrally located on 3.5 acres in the desirable residential area of Parnell. Most hotel rooms and serviced apartments have expansive views of Auckland city and harbour and 67 serviced apartments have full kitchens. The hotel offers free onsite parking, wireless internet, complimentary morning newspaper, 24-hour reception, room service and porters, coffee shop/cafe, restaurant and bar. Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell is within walking distance of the historic Parnell Village, Auckland CBD, Auckland Domain and Museum, Newmarket shopping precinct and close to the Auckland Hospital, Auckland University and the Vector Arena. Quality Hotel Parnell is owned by the Norman F.B. Barry Foundation, being a charitable trust registered under the Charities Act 2005. Registration No: CC33047. Donations are made to support the community and the advancement of Medical Research. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing