We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great central place, friendly staff. Will definitely stay there again. Central to Vectra Arena & Kelly Tarltons” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Parnell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great central place, friendly staff. Will definitely stay there again. Central to Vectra Arena & Kelly Tarltons”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

Take Shuttle Bus to Hotel as this is the first stop going there and the last stop for pick up on the way to airport and cost effective. The staff are really friendly and obliging.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vaylett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    323
    101
    20
    9
See reviews for
185
247
36
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

The actual stay in the hotel was good, receptionists behind the desk we very friendly and helpful. My problem was with the restaurant staff. We arrived at the restaurant at 5.10pm and I told the waitress that we had a taxi booked for 6.30pm and she said that they were very busy due to the concert down the road. I said all we were after was an entree, so she then seated us. After 20mins I asked another waiter how long it would before our entree would come out and he told me about 2 mins, so after another 10mins I spoke to the lady in charge and she told me another 2 mins. I explained to her again that we had a taxi booked and could they hurry please as the time was 6.20pm. The taxi arrived at 6.30 and we still never received our entree, I spoke to the lady incharge again and told her the taxi was here and she told me that it would wait for me and my entree will be out in a minute. I told her that I couldn't wait and then she basically blamed me for ordering the wrong entree because they were busy and it was the only entree that took the longest. We left the restaurant and went to reception and told them the story and how I was very disappointed in my experience there and how she spoke to me. Later on my return I had an appology letter under my door with a complimentry breakfast for my mum and myself. We went for breakfast and it was great, food was great and the staff were excellent.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle45566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed here for our first couple of nights after flying into Auckland from UK.

Staff were very friendly, as was typical for NZ.

Room was large enough and functional, but a bit tired looking.

Some noise from other units.

Ok situation for visiting the town, but need to take bus.

Walking distance to restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

They said they had room with good views so we asked for one and it was TRUE. This hotel is only a few km out the city centre and well located. The view of the harbour from our room on the 6th floor was great and the lights at night were impressive. The room was very clean and comfortable with all items we needed. The city centre was a 15 minute bus ride ($2) along Parnell Road and the bus stops were a 5 minute walk from the hotel. (Car parking in the city is restricted and expensive.) This was a good find thanks to Tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Ask for a good harbour view and try the bus
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveS3_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

Travelled with my Mum to visit my niece and her family. Couldn't have stayed anywhere better. Apart from the fact it was opposite my great niece's school and within walking distance of lovely Parnell and the Domain, it was a really comfortable and friendly place to stay. The reception staff and the cafe staff went out of their way to make our stay a home from home. The rooms are spacious and have everything that you would need. The views from the balcony of both the 2nd floor and the 5th floor rooms that we stayed in were breathtaking and it was peaceful and quiet at night. Can't recommend this hotel highly enough and hope to have the chance to return there sometime soon.

Stayed April 2011
Helpful?
Thank holmesjane11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

We stayed at Barrycourt for 3 nights in December in a self contained two bedroom apartment. We were very happy with our stay - the service was wonderful and help and advice was given every time we asked with a smile.
The rooms had amazing views overlooking the CBD, and were comfortable and clean. The kitchen was basic, and as with other furniture, was a bit dated. Ample parking available.
Short walk to shops in Parnell. Lovely area to stay in, and value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nh993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
111 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

We stayed in both a motel style room and the larger rooms with water views in the main building. All rooms were clean and nicely decorated with good bathrooms. Some of the rooms have small kitchen facilities. The rooms with balconies and water views on the higher floors are really fun to stay in. Overall this hotel is a good option, located within 5 mins walk of the restaurants and shops of Parnell, which is a very attractive borough. Only 25 mins walk into the CBD which has great Asian food courts.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAdventureTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,973 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
1.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Property: Quality Hotel Parnell
Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Road, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#14 Family Hotel in Auckland
#16 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#20 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell has recently completed a four year refurbishment programme and is proud of the ongoing commitment to provide quality rooms for our valued guests. The Hotel offers free onsite parking, free wireless internet, free morning newspaper, 24 hour reception, room service and porters, coffee shop/cafe, restaurant and bar. The Hotel does not charge a credit card surcharge. Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell is within walking distance of the historic Parnell village, Auckland CBD, Auckland Domain and Museum, Newmarket shopping precinct and close to the Auckland Hospital, Auckland University and the Vector arena. We have a contract for exclusive taxi services from the Hotel to the Domestic and or International airports for a fixed cost of NZ$45.00. The Auckland Explorer Bus stops directly outside our Hotel on it's daily circuit. Quality Hotel Parnell Ltd is owned by the Norman F B Barry Foundation, being a charitable trust registered under the Charities Act 2005. Registration No: CC33047. Our continuing goal is to support medical research in New Zealand and also make scholarships available to young New Zealand science graduates, who are in need of financial assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing