We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simply superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“simply superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at the property for two night recently. This is a property I really enjoy staying at for business or pleasure. It is well located to the city as well as Newmarket and Parnell in a very quiet road.When you arrive you can park your car at the front of the property where we always got a space and there is no parking cost. The rooms are very spacious and we had two large double beds and a lounge area where they had a range of guests magazines to enjoy. Great touch. Staff are extremely helpful. We eat in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner which we offered a good range of products. I am gluten intolerant which they catered for well. Highly recommend their omelettes! We will be back!

Room Tip: Suggest you request a room with a lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    329
    101
    22
    9
See reviews for
189
252
37
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

I make frequent use of Barrycourt when visiting Auckland, for business or for family visits. Its central location, free parking, comfortable facilities, friendly and helpful staff and reasonable pricing make it a firm favourite. I would recommend this for business, family and tourist visitors to Auckland.

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper floors in the main block (especially 5) have great city and harbour views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

we stayed for two nights in January 2012. The rooms are adequate, though my partner slipped and hurt herself in the bathroom because of the slippery floor. The views are good though and the cleaners friendly and efficient!

We chose to eat in the restaurant on the 2nd evening, and had one of the worst meals we've had in a long time. After 3/4 hour, and after I'd asked how long it would be before our food was ready, the waiter put a bowl of butter on the table, for no apparant reason, as neither of us were having bread. When I asked later what the butter was for, admitted he didn't know. My partner had prawn gumbo, which she described as Maggi soup with prawns added. I had steak, which was tough and vegetables which weren't cooked. On paying, they asked how the meal was, I said it wasn't good, presuming that they would ask why. Instead, they just took the money. By that time I was too fed up to complain further.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMoreNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylviaj1502, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 29 January 2012
Further to your review on 17th January 2012 and my subsequent telephone call to you on 18th January 2012.

Thank you for your time informing us of your experience in our Restaurant. We apologise for the slow service provided and poor quality of the main course.
We have refunded your dinner charge in full and I have also offered you and your partner to dine at Barrycourt again on a complimentary basis, so that we may demonstrate our usual high standard of service and cuisine.
We have investigated the reason for the delay as well as the quality of the food and taken steps to ensure that this type of situation will not occur again in the future.

Thank you for your time and once again our apologies.

Yours Sincerely

Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in November after being in Australia for the previous two weeks. Found the Barrycourt price to be good value vs what we paid in Oz. Tip - book on the Barrycourt website, not the North American Choice Hotels site, prices were better on the Barrycourt site. Had a balcony room that looked out toward the harbour. Parnell Road area is quite nice, trendy restaurants and shops and pleasant though hilly for walking around. Good bus service to downtown Auckland. Also within walking distance of the museum. Front desk and housekeeping service was competent and professional. Hotel restaurant was acceptable although for the prices you may as well go somewhere on Parnell Road. Good bakery and useful small grocery and fruit store at top of the hill on Parnell Rd and St Stephens close to the hotel.

Only downside was noise at night coming in bathroom window which opens out onto the outside walkway as returning guests went from the elevator to their rooms. Good stay, we would recommend it to anyone except maybe those who insist on the newest and trendiest accomodations in town.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 492traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

I stayed in the Barrycourt in mid-December. I was looking for somewhere convienent to the downtown Auckland port, but not in the middle of the CBD.

Location was great - easy to get to the Parnell shops and down to the CBD, and easy to find off the motorway. Room was very comfortable - perhaps a little dated, but that's okay. Could do with a little bit more insulation, especially around the bathroom areas. Setting was lovely.

I tried the onsite restaurant - food was lovely and the service was great, but again perhaps the restaurant could do with a bit of the facelift

Staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Floonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

My partner and I just needed a nights accomodation.

The pros: easy parking, great views to the port, bathtub, patient staff.

The cons: the cleaners spray the rooms with a deodoriser which smells terrible, lucky the windows opened so I could air the place out, the wi fi rate is expensive and the room we had felt tired and the stairwells were dirty.

Room Tip: Apparantly, if you book ahead, you can ask them not to spray the room with sickening air freshener/d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seaswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

Nice rooms with balcony, polite and hospitable staff. Clean accommodation but do not expect beautiful rooms. Good parking facility. Overall a good experience, nothing exceptional though. Good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharuDawar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
1.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Property: Quality Hotel Parnell
Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Road, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#14 Family Hotel in Auckland
#16 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#20 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell has recently completed a four year refurbishment programme and is proud of the ongoing commitment to provide quality rooms for our valued guests. The Hotel offers free onsite parking, free wireless internet, free morning newspaper, 24 hour reception, room service and porters, coffee shop/cafe, restaurant and bar. The Hotel does not charge a credit card surcharge. Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell is within walking distance of the historic Parnell village, Auckland CBD, Auckland Domain and Museum, Newmarket shopping precinct and close to the Auckland Hospital, Auckland University and the Vector arena. We have a contract for exclusive taxi services from the Hotel to the Domestic and or International airports for a fixed cost of NZ$45.00. The Auckland Explorer Bus stops directly outside our Hotel on it's daily circuit. Quality Hotel Parnell Ltd is owned by the Norman F B Barry Foundation, being a charitable trust registered under the Charities Act 2005. Registration No: CC33047. Our continuing goal is to support medical research in New Zealand and also make scholarships available to young New Zealand science graduates, who are in need of financial assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing