We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality/price ratio. Nice view over the harbour. Friendly service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Excellent quality/price ratio. Nice view over the harbour. Friendly service.”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

During our 6-week trip to the North island, we needed some scheeming skills to avoid carrying a lot of luggage around the country. We decided to ask Barrycourt to keep two of our bags for two weeks during which we would be travelling in northland. The staff was extremelly helpful and kind.
When we came back to Auckland, we checked-in and were delighted with the harbour view from our room. The hotel is designed in such a way that all rooms see the harbour.
Equipment is excellent.
Continental breakfast is one of the best with a huge choice of fresh products including fruit and different breads you may toast or not. If you prefer cooked breakfast, you will have a large choice of preparations.
As far as location is concerned, Barrycourt is situated just five minutes by foot from Parnell Road. You can then take advantage of all the pleasant cafés, restaurants or boutiques on that busy street without having the 24/24h noise.
A tip : at night, don't totally close your room curtains. If you wake up in the middle of the night, you will see the harbour lights and will probably think you are dreaming. It's very nice !
Pricewise this hotel represents very good value. I recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos_R_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    343
    106
    24
    11
See reviews for
196
261
43
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My daughter and I stayed there after we went to to Auckland for a concert. The hotel was easy to find, which made it easy for people unfamiliar with Auckland. We had booked through Wotif, as our main priority was accom. close to Vector Arena. We weren't dissapointed, the room was well appointed, was very clean and had comfy beds and a great shower. The reception staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. Dinner at the restuarant was lovely. The cooked buffet breakfast the following morning was the only mediocre thing about the whole place. The sausages are aneamic and not nice. It is always dissapointing when the orange juice and standard coffee are an extra charge with your breakfast. On the whole we would stay there again, but maybe have a continental brekky, as the juice and coffee come with that.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nance_and_Mal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We choose to stay here late last year when we flew to Auckland for a concert. Checkin was efficient and friendly. We had booked room on wotif.com, so were not sure what we would be allocated. The room was adequate with spectacular views. Bathroom was very dated, handbasin water slow draining and only two towels for the two of us. On the plus side, the onsite cafe offered reasonably priced food for snacks/breakfast and service was great. A huge thumbs up to the smiley professional reception staff at checkin/checkout. Nothing was a problem to them.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saracgisborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at the property for two night recently. This is a property I really enjoy staying at for business or pleasure. It is well located to the city as well as Newmarket and Parnell in a very quiet road.When you arrive you can park your car at the front of the property where we always got a space and there is no parking cost. The rooms are very spacious and we had two large double beds and a lounge area where they had a range of guests magazines to enjoy. Great touch. Staff are extremely helpful. We eat in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner which we offered a good range of products. I am gluten intolerant which they catered for well. Highly recommend their omelettes! We will be back!

Room Tip: Suggest you request a room with a lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I make frequent use of Barrycourt when visiting Auckland, for business or for family visits. Its central location, free parking, comfortable facilities, friendly and helpful staff and reasonable pricing make it a firm favourite. I would recommend this for business, family and tourist visitors to Auckland.

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper floors in the main block (especially 5) have great city and harbour views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

we stayed for two nights in January 2012. The rooms are adequate, though my partner slipped and hurt herself in the bathroom because of the slippery floor. The views are good though and the cleaners friendly and efficient!

We chose to eat in the restaurant on the 2nd evening, and had one of the worst meals we've had in a long time. After 3/4 hour, and after I'd asked how long it would be before our food was ready, the waiter put a bowl of butter on the table, for no apparant reason, as neither of us were having bread. When I asked later what the butter was for, admitted he didn't know. My partner had prawn gumbo, which she described as Maggi soup with prawns added. I had steak, which was tough and vegetables which weren't cooked. On paying, they asked how the meal was, I said it wasn't good, presuming that they would ask why. Instead, they just took the money. By that time I was too fed up to complain further.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelMoreNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylviaj1502, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 29 January 2012
Further to your review on 17th January 2012 and my subsequent telephone call to you on 18th January 2012.

Thank you for your time informing us of your experience in our Restaurant. We apologise for the slow service provided and poor quality of the main course.
We have refunded your dinner charge in full and I have also offered you and your partner to dine at Barrycourt again on a complimentary basis, so that we may demonstrate our usual high standard of service and cuisine.
We have investigated the reason for the delay as well as the quality of the food and taken steps to ensure that this type of situation will not occur again in the future.

Thank you for your time and once again our apologies.

Yours Sincerely

Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in November after being in Australia for the previous two weeks. Found the Barrycourt price to be good value vs what we paid in Oz. Tip - book on the Barrycourt website, not the North American Choice Hotels site, prices were better on the Barrycourt site. Had a balcony room that looked out toward the harbour. Parnell Road area is quite nice, trendy restaurants and shops and pleasant though hilly for walking around. Good bus service to downtown Auckland. Also within walking distance of the museum. Front desk and housekeeping service was competent and professional. Hotel restaurant was acceptable although for the prices you may as well go somewhere on Parnell Road. Good bakery and useful small grocery and fruit store at top of the hill on Parnell Rd and St Stephens close to the hotel.

Only downside was noise at night coming in bathroom window which opens out onto the outside walkway as returning guests went from the elevator to their rooms. Good stay, we would recommend it to anyone except maybe those who insist on the newest and trendiest accomodations in town.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 492traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 67 in Auckland
315 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
1.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
957 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Property: Quality Hotel Parnell
Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Road, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#13 Family Hotel in Auckland
#17 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 105 air-conditioned rooms centrally located on 3.5 acres in the desirable residential area of Parnell. Most hotel rooms and serviced apartments have expansive views of Auckland city and harbour and 67 serviced apartments have full kitchens. The hotel offers free onsite parking, wireless internet, complimentary morning newspaper, 24-hour reception, room service and porters, coffee shop/cafe, restaurant and bar. Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell is within walking distance of the historic Parnell Village, Auckland CBD, Auckland Domain and Museum, Newmarket shopping precinct and close to the Auckland Hospital, Auckland University and the Vector Arena. Quality Hotel Parnell is owned by the Norman F.B. Barry Foundation, being a charitable trust registered under the Charities Act 2005. Registration No: CC33047. Donations are made to support the community and the advancement of Medical Research. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing