We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, only 5 minutes away from Queen Street”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2012

A very good surprise. Nice hotel perfectly located in Parnell. Rooms are large with kitchenette - Nice cafe/restaurant and great team - Excellent Service

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OlivierNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

586 - 592 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

A friend and I stayed here when we went to a concert at the Vector Arena. I thought the rooms were excellent value for money. Very clean with two double beds and a good kitchen. Very quiet. An excellent huge breakfast was included in our rate. Would highly recommend. Approx 10 dollars in a taxi back home from the city so peanuts really. An easy walk down the hill if you would rather take a stroll and chat to the other people on their way to the concert.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piglethead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed at a 2 bedroom suite for 4 nights in April 2012. When we rang for reservation, we were informed that there was a special on for those staying 4 nights or more. We arrived around 12pm and the hotel allowed us to enter our rooms early. Had lifts to get to our room on the third floor as well as a luggage trolley, which was very helpful. We had no assigned carpark but we didn’t find any problems finding a carpark at night. The apartment was very clean and spacious and we liked the cupboard space in the bedrooms and the views. Fridge wasn’t full-sized but good enough if you don’t have much food or drinks to store in it. The rooms were serviced daily, with cleaning occurring around 3pm (rooms that were vacated were serviced in the morning to prepare for the next guests). Hotel is located in a nice, convenient location that is a few minutes drive from the restaurants and the city. Staff were friendly and helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SecondStarToRight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

From the moment you arrive you feel things are going to be ok. Arived same time as a tour bus, someone sprung out from behind counter and ensured I had a speedy check in. It is just so handy to town, but I love how quiet it is and the nice walks nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1JayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Not a hotel, but a good quality motel in Parnell, within walking distance of the shops, restaurants and Vector Arena. 24-hour room service, free parking on site and a good grassed play area with playframes for children. Meeting rooms and conference centre and onsite restaurant means its a good option for business as well as family and staff are exceptionally helpful. Far from luxurious, but all the basics are there, with the bonus of good showers, good lighting in bathrooms. For women, the hairdryers are worse than most - most are weak, these are useless. Power point access in my room was limited and annoying. Renovated rooms aren't grand (and mine still had the smell of fresh paint), with some strange features showing signs of having to compromise when doing alterations (bathroom at the entrance?), but they are clean and comfortable. Biggish place, with accommodation for tour groups, so you may wish to ask for an upstairs room well away from the main buildings to avoid noise. Overall, it's well worth it and, in my opinion, offers more than a downtown luxury hotel for less than half the price.

Room Tip: Higher floors better to avoid noise from foot traffic and arriving cars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwijj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

The rooms are small and rather dated although they do give you a reasonable view of Auckland Harbour. The sound proofing is minimal, hence there is quite a bit of noise from other rooms. The room was not available for half an hour after the book in time. The restaurant is reasonable, but I suggest going into town for better quality.

Room Tip: We had a mid level room and it was very noisy. I suspect al rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My family and I stayed in one of the 3 rooms unit with a small balcony. Would have been better if more than 1 toilet is available to accommodate to the guests staying in the room. Everything else in the hotel was average. From its staff, to its location, its rooms and cleanliness of the place. If you want to be in Parnell, this motel is a good place to stay at.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suliani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
994 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
716 reviews
1.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
818 reviews
1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,690 reviews
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Road, Auckland Central, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Auckland Central
#13 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#17 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £69 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 105 air-conditioned rooms centrally located on 3.5 acres in the desirable residential area of Parnell. Most hotel rooms and serviced apartments have expansive views of Auckland city and harbour and 67 serviced apartments have full kitchens. The hotel offers free onsite parking, wireless internet, complimentary morning newspaper, 24-hour reception, room service and porters, coffee shop/cafe, restaurant and bar. Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell is within walking distance of the historic Parnell Village, Auckland CBD, Auckland Domain and Museum, Newmarket shopping precinct and close to the Auckland Hospital, Auckland University and the Vector Arena. Quality Hotel Parnell is owned by the Norman F.B. Barry Foundation, being a charitable trust registered under the Charities Act 2005. Registration No: CC33047. Donations are made to support the community and the advancement of Medical Research. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing