We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit and counting, great spot.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This is now the second stay I've enjoyed at Barry Court Motor Inn and I'd happily return - in fact my parents do so frequently so it must be good as they're hard to please. Anyway, the location itself is great with a short walk up to Parnell for an over priced brunch - Auckland is great for over priced brunch in general btw. The street itself is quiet and the rooms perpendicular to the street so not at all noisy. It is worth paying a bit extra for the spectacular views over the harbour / city. Service is very good with a few nice touches and welcoming staff. From memory internet was not free and these days IMHO this should really be standard fair. On my most recent visit my brother had his wedding in the nearby Rose Gardens. The hotel accommodated all of our mad relations (some of whom were from Australia and we all know how mad they can be! Ha-ha) - but yes, they also happily expanded a rapidly requested afternoon tea for the family to be an afternoon tea for all guests. Not something we had pre-booked but they catered for with zero fuss and a real kiwi can do attitude. We also had a few elderly family members whose access needs etc were never a drama and patience of the staff came to the fore. Many thanks to them all.

Room Tip: Get a room with harbour views!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruski_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Bruski_11,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again, and also for your subsequent review. It is pleasing to see that we met your expectations again, and I'll ensure that your comments are passed on to all staff concerned. In reference to the Internet connection, we are currently reviewing our system and charges, and should be in a position in the very near future to offer a state of the art WiFi high speed connection along with reduced pricing options.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
There are newer reviews for Quality Hotel Parnell
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

545 - 551 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

Great location for the city, Newmarket shopping, Parnell wining and dining, and the motorway south. The 2 bedroom appartment was clean and well equipped with good views of the harbour and city. Front desk service was courteous and efficient. The cost was substantially lower than some nearby motels. Minor complaints were occasional noise from a pump behind the bathroom wall, poor ambience in the bar, and some of the parking is sideways on a steep slope, so care needed with car doors. Overall, we were very satisfied.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms on the northern side have the best views.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skylark9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

Dear Skylark9,

Thank you for your review, and we are pleased that you found the standard of our accomodation as well as our location to your satisfaction. We will have our maintenance department source the pump noise that you mentioned, and endeavour to rectify once we locate the problem. In regards to the ambience of the Bar, your comment is noted and I will discuss with our Food & Beverage Staff as to how we can improve in this outlet. Thank you for your valuable feed back, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I stayed here for one night to attend a concert at the Vector Arena. The room had a fantastic view and everything I needed. Very warm and the bed was fine. Nice neighbourhood and close enough to Vector and the city that I didn't to drive (25 mins or so to Vector). Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Auckland.

Room Tip: High floors have better views.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear Joseph G,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel on your recent visit to attend a concert at Vector Arena. We appreciate your valued comments and subsequent recommendation, and look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the future.
Kind Regards
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The room I had (409) had a great view of the city and harbour. The room was a reasonable size, clean and comfortable. There is plenty of free parking on site. The room service was good - the food delivered was nice and hot. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear SeanAuckland,

Thank you for your review, and it is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the great Harbour and City views from our Hotel, as well as the comfort of our rooms along with our room service options. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the future.
Kind Regards
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Really happy with our stay. It's a gem, an easy walk to Parnell shops and restaurants, great staff, and even VIEWS over auckland harbour and city. Rooms were spacious, with new/er facilities, tea and coffee, very comfortable. Complimentary magazines in the foyer. Loads of parking (free). A swift drive to Britomart/downtown in about 5 minutes, on the weekend. And for the price- pretty darn good for Auckland. Highly recommend (4.5 stars!)

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NZEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Dear NZEmma,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and have subsequently highly recommended our Hotel.
I will pass on your positive comments to our team; it will serve as encouragement to all of our employees as we endeavour to constantly improve the quality of our services. Thank you again
I look forward to welcoming you back to Quality Hotel Barrycourt again in the future
Kind regards
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Quality Hotel Barrycourt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed here for one night when traveling around NZ, and found the hotel to be a nice little retreat near a very charming neighborhood in Auckland. Our room in the south building looked like a motel, but with clean and nicely appointed rooms (comfortable enough, though not luxurious). It's an easy walk to Parnell, and a little longer walk to the CBD (the hotel is on top of a hill and the walk back can be a challenge). If you're looking for a no frills but decent hotel in a more residential neighborhood, then this hotel is for you. If you want something that's more boutique or luxurious, I'd check out some other places...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haroutioun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We just stayed 1 night while we were in Auckland for the Gaga concert. Room was tidy, great facilities, and very good for what we paid.
Cost us $150 for the night, all night room service pizza was delicious, $16....
Only thing was we didnt have a credit card on us had to pay $150 bond, but got that back the next day no troubles.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#5 of 67 in Auckland Central
710 reviews
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 67 in Auckland Central
319 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#19 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland Central
701 reviews
1.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 67 in Auckland Central
965 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Road, Auckland Central, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Auckland Central
#13 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#17 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £72 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 105 air-conditioned rooms centrally located on 3.5 acres in the desirable residential area of Parnell. Most hotel rooms and serviced apartments have expansive views of Auckland city and harbour and 67 serviced apartments have full kitchens. The hotel offers free onsite parking, wireless internet, complimentary morning newspaper, 24-hour reception, room service and porters, coffee shop/cafe, restaurant and bar. Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell is within walking distance of the historic Parnell Village, Auckland CBD, Auckland Domain and Museum, Newmarket shopping precinct and close to the Auckland Hospital, Auckland University and the Vector Arena. Quality Hotel Parnell is owned by the Norman F.B. Barry Foundation, being a charitable trust registered under the Charities Act 2005. Registration No: CC33047. Donations are made to support the community and the advancement of Medical Research. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing