We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and spacious well equipped room... at a price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
172 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Good location and spacious well equipped room... at a price.”
Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

This is a good option for accommodation just on the edge of the CBD. The rooms are big and some have kitchenette and separate lounge. For $133 NZ that's good value. BUT the suburban location doesn't mean quiet! And the issue is internal. Get a selfish person overhead and you will hear every footfall thumping through into your room despite the floors being carpeted. Kids ran the length of the verandas every day we stayed there with parents ignoring their anti social behavior while the hotel has placed a playground to the east of the rooms making it impossible to sit on your deck and enjoy the city views in peace thanks to the screams of kids. For families this place must be perfect. For travelers without kids look elsewhere or accept this is a clean well located bargain and bring ear plugs. Oh and there's no free wifi but you can pay for it if you like. Is this 2013? Rant aside, we enjoyed the spaciousness of the room, comfy bed, and the location was great.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bckpckrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Dear bckpckrau

Thank you for your review and feedback, and we were pleased to hear that our rooms were to your liking. I must apologise though on behalf of the guest's above you for being too noisy, and if we had known about it at the time our Duty Manager would have asked them to keep the noise down out of respect for other guests. We do cater for all types of clientile at various times of the year and we have an influx of families during the school holiday period. As a direct result of your comment we are seriously considering moving our childrens playground to an area away from our accomodation block. We are just reviewing the practical aspects of doing this.but hope that we can come up with a satisfactory solution. In reference to the wifi, we are reviewing our internet provider costs and are hoping to be able to package up free wifi with limited data usage in the near future.

Thank you for your feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    335
    104
    23
    9
See reviews for
192
254
39
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

I got a low-priced deal on this place so my criticisms are muted by the fact that it cost me only a bit more than a room in backpackers hostel. The studio room was clean, and it had a mini fridge and microwave. The bed was firm.

The shower head was perfectly placed for someone under 5 feet tall! The room would have been easy to break into due to older door and window fastenings. The main problem was the impossibility of getting darkness at night, due to poor window coverings.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmk60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Dear jmk60

Thank you for your review, and I will follow up with our Maintenance Manager and Housekeeper on your comments on the blackout curtains, shower head and window fastenings in our studio rooms. It is our aim to ensure that our guest's have a good nights sleep, and our apologies for our sleep quality not being to your satisfaction. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Quality Hotel Parnell in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Formerly known as Barrycourt, this reliable hotel has changed its brand. The rooms have been refurbished, too, but the same quality, the same friendly staff and the same attention to detail continues. This remains a firm favourite with me for an economical Auckland stay, be it on business, or, as this time, visiting family for Christmas.

Room Tip: My choice are the rooms in the main block, most with a great city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Dear Sparky81

Thank you for your review and ongoing patronage, and we are pleased to hear that our Hotel continues to meet your expectations, Looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future, and I hope that I may have the opportunity to meet up with you at some stage.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provence, France & London, UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

This just not on. No dishwasher, no washing machine or dryer in the room ($3 each time in the basement), no waste master, no dish-rack?, no heated towel rails. Only 1 bathroom for 2 bed apartment with very very old decor; kitchen appliances extremely dated, kitchen units are 1970's, bathroom is very poor too. The outdoor refurbishment looks OK; but don't be fooled - its like staying in my Grandmothers place. Cheap though; but that does not mean good value!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Woodcity123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Dear Woodcity123

Thank you for your review, and we are sorry to hear that one of our two bedroom apartment types did not meet your expectations. We are planning further improvements on these rooms, and we will take your comments on board and strive to make improvements as required during the course of our ongoing upgrade.
Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

Nice and good family accomodation
Took the two bedroom apartment for family
Rooms are bit tight buy have most amenities aptly located.
Staff is very courteous and helpful
Nice views of tower and convenient location for shops
Couldn't find a nice restaurant nearby during my short stay but had great retail outlets, gardens, walking trails.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhishek15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Dear abhishek15

Thank you for your stay with us, and we are pleased that you found our Hotel's rooms and amenities suitable for your family. In regards to restaurants nearby and for your future reference, we are walking distance to Parnell Village which has a large variety of restaurants and cafe's to cater for all tastes. We hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to New Zealand and Auckland in the near future.
Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2012 via mobile

This was our last port of call in New Zealand. My husband and I were travelling with our 10 month old baby. We had a 2 bedroom apartment which comprised of 3 double beds and a single. Our request for a quiet room overlooking the harbour was granted which was good. We took advantage of breakfast in the restaurant and enjoyed it. The washing machine and tumble dryer in the apartment was very much appreciated and meant we could return home without lots of laundry needing done! Staff were very helpful. Parnell is about a 30 min walk from the city centre but we made good use of the frequent bus link. It's a lovely quaint area. Free car parking.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nakilass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Dear nakilass

Thank you for your review, and we are pleased that you found our room facilities suitable for your requirements, and that you enjoyed our harbour view rooms. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel in the future.
Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on holiday and had a pleasant experience. We arrived early in the morning after an international flight and the staff were incredibly apologetic that no room was ready, which we anticipated. We walked to the nearby Auckland Domain and visited a nearby restaurant. The room was clean, small-ish, and bright. Well-stocked kitchenette. The wall of windows made it easy to hear people on the walkway to their rooms but it was not noisy at night.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Allison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Dear Allison T

Thank you for your review, and we are pleased that we enjoyed your stay with us. Our guest's comfort is important to us, and had we had a room available at the time of arrival, our staff would have checked you in early, especially after a long flight. Hopefully we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to New Zealand and Auckland again in the future.
Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#1 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,133 reviews
1.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Property: Quality Hotel Parnell
Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Road, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#13 Family Hotel in Auckland
#16 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell has recently completed a four year refurbishment programme and is proud of the ongoing commitment to provide quality rooms for our valued guests. The Hotel offers free onsite parking, free wireless internet, free morning newspaper, 24 hour reception, room service and porters, coffee shop/cafe, restaurant and bar. The Hotel does not charge a credit card surcharge. Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell is within walking distance of the historic Parnell village, Auckland CBD, Auckland Domain and Museum, Newmarket shopping precinct and close to the Auckland Hospital, Auckland University and the Vector arena. We have a contract for exclusive taxi services from the Hotel to the Domestic and or International airports for a fixed cost of NZ$45.00. The Auckland Explorer Bus stops directly outside our Hotel on it's daily circuit. Quality Hotel Parnell Ltd is owned by the Norman F B Barry Foundation, being a charitable trust registered under the Charities Act 2005. Registration No: CC33047. Our continuing goal is to support medical research in New Zealand and also make scholarships available to young New Zealand science graduates, who are in need of financial assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing