We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious but noisy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The rooms are spacious, clean and tidy. Very handy location and I love the views of the city at night, brings back fond memories of the years I spent living in Auckland. Staff were friendly and had no trouble getting trim milk. Downside was the noise, pity money wasnt spent on sound proofing. At 10pm I had to listen to people's TVs, water running through the pipes, footsteps from upper level and inconsiderate parents kids running up and down the outside corridor which vibrates through the room. Then this all started up again prior to 7am in the morning so I did not have a good nights sleep at all. Not sure what the purpose of the skywatch magazine was as the only Sky channels I could find were UK and Chinese tv. No kids channels which was disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (710)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

506 - 512 of 710 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

Pro - free interent, people nice, let us check in early, standard, clean, fridge, decent view.
Con- need a car not totally walk-able to places. If you are looking for high standard this is your basic type hotel.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bibiandnini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

We were impressed with our room. It was large and comfortable with great views. I had hoped that the village restaurants in Parnell were closer than they were. The dining options in the area are not easily accessed.
We ate in the on site restaurant - a bad move. I recommend this hotel highly if you have a car.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morgana3761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We looked at many hotels/B&B's in this area as we needed to stay overnight in central Auckland in order to get to an early morning appt. The location, price and favourable reviews of this hotel, all stood out and we were not disappointed. The room we selected was spotlessly clean, average size (OK for short stay - king bed and one comfy chair) and the view from our room on an upper floor, looking out over Auckland Harbour, both day and night, was amazing. The staff in the dining room for both dinner and breakfast were all efficient and very friendly and the meals were of a good standard and price.
Parnell is an excellent area for visitors to Auckland to base themselves - close to sightseeing, shopping and restaurants in Newmarket, Remuera, Parnell Village and Auckland central. You could cover a lot by walking even with only average fitness.

Room Tip: Upper levels give you a great view of the Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandJAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear JandDAuckland,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your tripadvisor review, and we are pleased to read that your selection of our Hotel met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Stayed here in Feb '13 - near very good bus service to downtown and Parnell Village offers lots of places to eat and shop (all within walking distance of the hotel). the staff were particularly helpful to us. Enjoyed having a room with a view of Auckland and the harbour. If you fancy having fish and chips there's a takeout down the road and they still use newspaper as insulation to keep the fish hot!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sidewalk1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear sidewalk1234

Thank you for your recent tripadvisor review, and we are pleased to read that our accommodation and location suited your requirements whilst staying in Auckland. We hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to New Zealand sometime in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Three of us stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. As we needed to meet different family in Auckland we found roads via GPS gave us quick and easy trips to several areas of Auckland. Views across the harbour and the city including the night lights of the CBD. As we needed rest breaks also it was great to have a separate lounge with comfy seating. Relaxing, having a drink looking over the harbour was fantastic. We have stayed before and will stay again. Have already recommended to other family members.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maurice e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear MauriceNZ

Thank you for your repeat business, and it is pleasing to see that we continue to live up to your expectations. We really appreciate your recommendation of our Hotel to your friends and family, and I hope that I may have the opportunity on one of your upcoming visits to meet you personally.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for one night only. We were attending an event at Vector Arena. The Hotel is located in the lovely area of Parnell - with some fantastic little cafe's nearby.
The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the Viaduct and around 7 minutes to Vector arena. The walk is really easy and only one small hill - so unless you are extremely unfit it should be easy to walk around.

The price of the Hotel was great value for money- with rooms which have been modernised - and are very clean. Bathroom was a little dated - however clean and functional. I generally don't like a shower over bath - but you cannot complain when you are only paying $111.00 for a room in Parnell that is a 4 star. If this hotel was 4.5 star - 5 or the price was over $150.00 I would have only given 4 stars - but for the price I think it is extremley good value for money.

Lovely views from the 5th floor towards the harbour.. with a nice little deck to sit and admire the view.

We have a wee issue with a Maintanence man that proved to be extremley unpleasent and almost ruined the whole trip - however the hotel Management was very effective at resolving our complaint and I left feeling very positive about my experience at the Quality Hotel Parnell.

We would definately stay again, and would happily refer our friends and family.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor looking out to the harbour...It was great ! worth paying a little extra for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shrinkingherlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Dear Shrinkingherlegs,

Thank you for your great review, and we appreciate the "extremely good value for money" feedback, which is always a measure that we are constantly striving to achieve.

I was made aware of the maintenance man issue by our Executive Assistant Manager. Rest assured that this type of situation will never occur again, and thank you for giving us the opportunity to redeem ourselves.

I understand that you will be staying with us again in the near future, and I hope that I may have the opportunity to meet up with you at that time.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
983 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#35 of 66 in Auckland Central
714 reviews
1.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
790 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,675 reviews
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Road, Auckland Central, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Auckland Central
#13 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#17 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £70 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 105 air-conditioned rooms centrally located on 3.5 acres in the desirable residential area of Parnell. Most hotel rooms and serviced apartments have expansive views of Auckland city and harbour and 67 serviced apartments have full kitchens. The hotel offers free onsite parking, wireless internet, complimentary morning newspaper, 24-hour reception, room service and porters, coffee shop/cafe, restaurant and bar. Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell is within walking distance of the historic Parnell Village, Auckland CBD, Auckland Domain and Museum, Newmarket shopping precinct and close to the Auckland Hospital, Auckland University and the Vector Arena. Quality Hotel Parnell is owned by the Norman F.B. Barry Foundation, being a charitable trust registered under the Charities Act 2005. Registration No: CC33047. Donations are made to support the community and the advancement of Medical Research. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing