We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best choice for location and value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Parnell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best choice for location and value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

This Hotel has both self catering apartments and hotel rooms, I stayed in the rooms so my review refers to the room stay.

Firstly the location is great, near enough to the various sites, such as the wonderful Auckland Museum and, where it's a little too far to walk, very good bus transportation to anywhere else in Auckland you need to go to. The Parnell location is also a beautiful part of town with many of the older Houses reflecting the architectural heritage of the city. There are also good dining options on Parnell Road to suit a wide price range and variety. If you are there on weekends, don't miss the various Farmers Markets, there's a nice one at the Parnell Community Centre on Saturdays. Do also visit the Rose Garden, its definitely worth spending a bit of time there just to relax.

The Hotel itself is clean and well maintained. The front office reception, when I arrived late in the evening, was efficient, friendly and very helpful with directions and information. The Hotel restaurant also offers good value (by Auckland standards) and quality. One nice facility is the Guest Laundry, well equipped and clean.

The only minor complaint I have is that the room's heater, while efficient, radiates a flashing blue array of lights which tends to be distracting when you are trying to sleep. My suggestion to the hotel is to block the lights with some sort of tape.

One last bit of information, there's a nice and friendly cafe along Parnell Road which serves great coffee and value for money breakfasts. The owner is very friendly and enthusiastic, it's called "Cafe Lava". Do keep in mind that prices at cafes, pubs and restaurants range in the NZ$12 to $30 range per head for food. Your cheaper choices are pizza joints, sandwiches from cafes or the usual fast food outlets.

Room Tip: Choose the higher floor harbor facing rooms for the view if its important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NormanSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    323
    101
    20
    9
See reviews for
185
247
36
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

It was lovely to walk into the room and find a beautiful view over the harbour. The room was fresh and clearly there had been an overhaul of a very old hotel. The television was easy to operate and the bed was comfortable. The noisy heater did disrupt our sleep a little and the lipstick on the wine glasses was a bit off putting but it didn't spoil things. Reception were happy and helpful even when they had to tell us that there was only street parking available to us. Over all it was a good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. I think most of the rooms have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miranda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Sue B

Thank you for your review, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments in reference to the noisy heater and wine glass have been passed on to our Housekeeper to investigate and rectify. We look forward to welcoming you back to Quality Hotel Parnell in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Stayed in family accommodation (2bedroom) 5th floor.
Really surprised at convenient location. Wonderful views from balcony.
Yes it does have the feel of an old apartment complex turned into a hotel. But it appears updated, freshly painted and tidy. Rooms very comfortable and clean. 2 small children enjoyed the large corner bath :-). Great to have washing machine and dryer in apartment, also a large fridge freezer and full size oven. Didn't dine in at the restaurant, but used room service which was quite adequate. Staff super friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try for 4th or 5th floor for views. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Sue B

Thank you for your review, and we are pleased to note that our 2 bedroom apartment suited your requirements as a family. Your comments on our friendly staff have been passed on to all concerned, and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Sorry for the late review. I stayed here in October last year with my 2 daughters for a concert.

It was handy enough to the Vector - walkable but not with 2 young 'uns

Room was spacious enough and clean. Good kitchen.

Unfortunately we couldnt check in as early as we wanted to but we able to store bags and make use of the restaurant

We had a motel type one bedroom unit and it suited us just fine

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chippie_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Chippie_7

Thank you for your review from your stay with us last year, and we are pleased that our one bedroom unit was to your satisfaction. Our apologies for not being able to check you in at an earlier time, as we always endeavour to do so when a guest arrives if their room is ready. Hopefully we will be able to rectify this on your next visit.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We booked to stay for three nights. We stayed less than three hours. I understand completely that hotels need to upgrade but expect (in my view not unreasonably) to be told at the time of booking, that renovations are underway and there could be noise and disruption. That at least allows one to decide whether to proceed with a booking. Unfortunately this information was not given bh this hotel. Arriving from christchurch, where the sound of demolitions and building work is a part of daily life, it was really disappointing to sit down to relax in our room and have to contend with the sound of drills etc. We tried not to let it bother us,to no avail. A call to reception gave us the information that the noise would continue through the weekdays until late afternoon. No good if you were hoping for a rest... which is exactly what we had planned. We checked out. Apart from a "sorry" from the reception staff member who took my call asking how long the noise might carry on, the staff really didn't appear to give a toss. I guess they thought were being difficult or fussy. We were actually pretty stressed and upset. We had a few days away from christchurch and had been looking forward to a much needed break. It was not a great start; and the quality hotel parnell would not be a place i would recommend. A friend later remarked that i should have known better than to think of staying in a place with "quality" in its name!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HF2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We regularly holiday to New Zealand and this hotel ticked all the boxes to make it an easier stay for us. We have changed from staying out west near family where we are cramped into one room, to the quest where for less money, we have two spacious bedrooms, a good sized lounge room, a kitchen with everything u need on holiday, big bathroom AND the most amazing view! We were situated on the third floor in a block that had a full view of the harbour and city. The rooms had modernish furniture and were def a little dated with the good old 70s artex ceiling, wall paper and kitchen cupboards, but the layout, features and view meant that none of that mattered. I can live with that stuff as they have refurbed the fittings in the bathroom and put it a large bath and have a flat screen tv and DVD player in the lounge. As with nearly every hotel we have stayed at in New Zealand, heating is good but not great as it takes awhile, I don't know if this room had air con as that wasn't needed while we were there-and yes nz really needs air con in summer! All beds had electric blankets tho and that kept us toasty thru the night as the heater was just a bit noisy for me and I need the door open for our two little ones. I'd love to have had a tv in the bedroom for us, yes I know ur on holiday and all that, but after a day sighting seeing, family etc and the kids have crashed, we really just want to be warm, stretch out and chill. Still the view was better than any TV. The main bedroom had two beds, so u can each stretch put and not have to share the covers! I think if we stayed here again we would ask specifically for the family room and maybe higher up this time. The family above on our last night sounded feral as their kids ran laps of the apartment at 5am! The sound proofing is good but cant withstand that. Still, ferals stay everywhere don't they, it's pot luck! As states earlier for families-perfect as the full kitchen, room, situation and above all price can't be beaten! I will do me best to add snaps but be aware they are after we've moved in so obviously it looks much cleaner each day once the cleaners have been in.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topdeck73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear topdeck73

Thank you very much for your comprehensive review of our Hotel and facilities, and we are pleased that we have met your expectations. In reference to your comment on an additional TV in the bedroom, we will seriously consider the feasibility of implementing this in Hotel rooms with separate bedrooms.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel certainly isn't the "flashest", but in terms of value for money its fine A major plus (if you are driving) is free parking (arrive early!) hard to find in CBD area. Rooms are OK , and if you join their club (free) you also qualify for free internet. 20 min walk down into Queens street. Great restaurants in Parnell (5-10 mins)

Room Tip: The best rooms (but also the most expensive with great views over AK) are the ones on the upper floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Wal M

Thank you for your review and comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you also found our Hotel is value for money. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,963 reviews
1.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Property: Quality Hotel Parnell
Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Road, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#14 Family Hotel in Auckland
#16 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#20 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell has recently completed a four year refurbishment programme and is proud of the ongoing commitment to provide quality rooms for our valued guests. The Hotel offers free onsite parking, free wireless internet, free morning newspaper, 24 hour reception, room service and porters, coffee shop/cafe, restaurant and bar. The Hotel does not charge a credit card surcharge. Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell is within walking distance of the historic Parnell village, Auckland CBD, Auckland Domain and Museum, Newmarket shopping precinct and close to the Auckland Hospital, Auckland University and the Vector arena. We have a contract for exclusive taxi services from the Hotel to the Domestic and or International airports for a fixed cost of NZ$45.00. The Auckland Explorer Bus stops directly outside our Hotel on it's daily circuit. Quality Hotel Parnell Ltd is owned by the Norman F B Barry Foundation, being a charitable trust registered under the Charities Act 2005. Registration No: CC33047. Our continuing goal is to support medical research in New Zealand and also make scholarships available to young New Zealand science graduates, who are in need of financial assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing