We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, but uncomfortable beds were a let down” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Parnell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location, but uncomfortable beds were a let down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We were in a room on the 'motel' side. It impressed us initially - I believe it's been recently renovated and it looks very nice, modern and clean. Our suite had a lounge room with a dining table and kitchenette (really needed a small couch or sofa bed instead of the out of place single bed in there!). The microwave didn't work unfortunately which we did inform reception of. There was a bathroom with dome shower and a separate bedroom with a 'king' size bed that was actually two very soft single beds joined together. This, and the heat from lack of air con unfortunately made for 3 very uncomfortable nights trying to get some sleep. There is a heater/fan but the fan is very noisy and doesn't cool the room at all so we made do with keeping windows open.

The room was serviced very well each day which we appreciated and reception staff were very friendly. The location is fantastic - simple and cheap to get the bus, or even close enough to walk into town, or Newmarket plus there are lots of yummy places to eat at on Parnell Road.

It is great value for money, but I would be hesitant to stay again as we slept so poorly. Air con would be a great investment!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Josie0007

Thank you for your review and constructive comments. We are disappointed to note that your sleep quality was uncomfortable. We utilise king zip beds in the room type you stayed in on our south side, and we will ensure that these beds are checked to determine their current condition. Unfortunately we do not have air conditioning in our Hotel rooms, however we will look into purchasing better quality fans to ensure that guest's such as yourselves enjoy a comfortable stay with us.

I hope that you may give us the opportunity of a return visit, and I recommend that you book one of our north facing rooms with fantastic views over the city and harbour.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    323
    101
    20
    9
See reviews for
185
247
36
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida, usa
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We booked this hotel at the end of November for a one night stay, Dec. 10, 2013. We were initially disappointed when we arrived because we were given a room in a building without an elevator. The ad for this hotel never mentioned there is a non-elevated building. We were quite upset because my wife had a recent hip replacement and it is difficult for her to navigate stairs. in addition, we were on the top floor, and the room was quite warm. When I complained to the desk staff, they had a porter carry up our bags, and they gave us a fan to cool the room.
After our initial disappointment, things got better. The hotel is in a beautiful residential area, only a 10 minute bus ride to downtown Auckland.The room was a large 2 bedroom suite, with a large bathroom with tub and shower. We also had a kitchen with a stove, fridge and cutlery. Although we didn't use it, we had a balcony with sliding glass doors.
The staff was lovely. They gave us a map and directions, and always greeted us with a smile They stored our bags the following morning, and held them until 6 P.M.
The neighborhood houses many funky cafes and restaurants within walking distance (try the Rhythm Cafe for breakfast or lunch.)
The hotel is also very quiet at night....you will sleep well.
We really enjoyed our stay here after the initial annoyance. I do highly recommend the Quality Hotel Parnell.

Room Tip: If you don't want to climb stairs, specify you want a room in the elevated building, away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wexable4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear wexable4u

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and subsequent review. We are pleased that your initial disappointment on arrival at our Hotel was turned around to your satisfaction, to ensure that the rest of your stay with us was enjoyable. I have noted your comment on our south wing non-elevated building and we will check our advertising collateral to see where this could have been overlooked, and rectify where possible.

We hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We (2 adults with 10 & 7 year old kids) stayed 3 nights here in a Superior Room (I think it was called that). This had two queen size beds with a separate living room and was a good size. The kitchen was well equipped, modern and clean. The location is great as easy to drive into central Auckland plus regular buses if you don't want to. Staff friendly and the restaurant in the hotel was very nice and reasonable. The room had views of the Sky Tower and the kids enjoyed going to sleep with the curtains open and looking at the tower!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyofnapiernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear tonyofnapiernz

Thank you for returning to stay with us, and we are pleased that you and your family were satisfied with our accommodation and restaurant offerings. We hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to Auckland, New Zealand sometime in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Though the room was very clean, the advertisement said there was air conditioning and what it had was a heater/fan. What it doesn't really advertise is that it is a hotel AND a motel. I was put in the motel area which is probably why it didn't have air conditioning, though again, it was advertised as having air conditioning. I was on the third floor and it was quite warm during my visit so sleeping was quite uncomfortable. Make sure you're on the hotel side and you should be fine.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Evangelia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Evangelia M

Thank you for your recent stay with us and subsequent review. I was disappointed to see that not everything was to your satisfaction. If our reception staff were made aware of this during your stay, they would have taken steps to rectify your discomfort by providing a fan or possibly moving rooms.We do not have air conditioning in our guest rooms and to the best of my knowledge, we do not advertise this. I would appreciate it if you could let me know what advertisement or web-site you located this in and I will endeavour to have this changed as soon as possible, as it is never our intention to mislead any current or prospective customers.

My e-mail address is gm@theparnell.co.nz and I'll be pleased to correspond with you at your earliest convenience.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chch
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

This isn't a flashy hotel but its in a great location and is perfect for families. Staff are very helpful, the 2 bed apartment we stayed in was very roomy and had everything we needed. Cleaning was of a high standard. We ate at the restaurant once, nice but personally I think you can get better in parnell rd. the restaurants on this road are awesome. A definite must is the chocolate cafe, its open till 10pm and fab for desserts or a drink.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freddieChch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear freddieChch

Thank you for choosing our Hotel to stay at during your recent trip to Auckland, and it is pleasing to see that everything was to your satisfaction and fulfilled your requirements. I'll ensure that your comment on our standard of cleanliness is passed on to our housekeeping staff.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to the Hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at "The Parnell" a few years ago I paid a return visit post Christmas 2013. What was always a very pleasant stay in a very central but beautiful residential part of Auckland has gone a few steps further. There has been major upgrading going on since my last visit - exterior cladding (so simple but so effective), rooms upgraded and I gather the restaurant has had a revamp too. I didn't visit the restaurant on my previous visit so can't judge. However I can say I had the most delicious dinner which I am going to try to replicate in my own kitchen! Apart from the fact that The Parnell is in such an exquisite location...surrounded by some of Auckland's most gorgeous houses, pohutakawa lined streets, walking distance to the Rose Gardens, the Parnell Pool (outdoor - with slides and is great!), Parnell shops, Newmarket shops, ($1.90 bus ride to the city - 10 minutes max!) - the loveliest thing really is the genuinely friendly staff. Clearly they are all a happy lot and it shows. I am recommending The Parnell to all my friends visiting Auckland and am happy to say one friend has already made a booking!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susie63Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Susie63Melbourne

Thank you for your returning to stay with us, and it is pleasing to see that you were satisfied with a number of capital improvements that we have made since your last stay. We are constantly striving to meet or exceed our customers expectations, and we are delighted to hear that we are making progress towards achieving this goal.

Your recommendation to a friend to book with us is much appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Clean, comfortable, close to city and great staff. This was our first night in NZ and was a great start to our holiday. Large room with spa bath, kitchen and great beds. Walking distance to the city and great views.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jack2bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear jack2bear

Thank you for your review, and we are pleased that everything was to your satisfaction. I hope that the rest of your trip went well in New Zealand, and that we can look forward to welcoming you back to Auckland and our Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,973 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
1.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Property: Quality Hotel Parnell
Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Road, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#14 Family Hotel in Auckland
#16 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#20 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell has recently completed a four year refurbishment programme and is proud of the ongoing commitment to provide quality rooms for our valued guests. The Hotel offers free onsite parking, free wireless internet, free morning newspaper, 24 hour reception, room service and porters, coffee shop/cafe, restaurant and bar. The Hotel does not charge a credit card surcharge. Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell is within walking distance of the historic Parnell village, Auckland CBD, Auckland Domain and Museum, Newmarket shopping precinct and close to the Auckland Hospital, Auckland University and the Vector arena. We have a contract for exclusive taxi services from the Hotel to the Domestic and or International airports for a fixed cost of NZ$45.00. The Auckland Explorer Bus stops directly outside our Hotel on it's daily circuit. Quality Hotel Parnell Ltd is owned by the Norman F B Barry Foundation, being a charitable trust registered under the Charities Act 2005. Registration No: CC33047. Our continuing goal is to support medical research in New Zealand and also make scholarships available to young New Zealand science graduates, who are in need of financial assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing