We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good value hotel!”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is a nice, clean basic hotel at a good price. There is complimentary parking available.
The hotel gave us 2 small complimentary bottles of wine as we stayed there on 31st Dec/1st Jan!
The weirdest part was that our hotel main door opened into the bathroom!
Overall, good hotel located in a very peaceful part of Auckland( but a little far from the city center)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hereigoagain54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear hereigoagain54

Thank you for your recent review, and we are pleased that you appreciated the small gift that we left to help celebrate the new year. We hope that if you return to Auckland, New Zealand, that you would consider a return visit to our Hotel.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    334
    104
    23
    9
See reviews for
191
254
39
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst attending the NZ Tennis Open in January. We also stayed here at the same of the year last year (2013). This hotel is great value for money. The staff are delightful, helpful and friendly. The room is all you need, a comfortable bed, an excellent shower and very clean. It's a short walk to the lovely shops and restaurants in Parnell Rd and about 10 minutes down to the tennis courts and the University Area. You can walk the other way to the shops and cafes at Newmarket. Free parking and plenty of it too. This is our annual "holiday without the kids" but I wouldn't hesitate to stay here with our children either. I happily recommend to anyone staying in Auckland.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antipodeannz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear antipodeannz

Thank you for returning to stay with us, and we hope that you enjoyed the tennis. It is very pleasing to see your comments about our friendly staff and guest rooms, as we continuously strive to increase guest satisfaction at our Hotel.

We appreciate your recommendation to other travellers, and look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Room was clean with great city view. Toilet had bath tub but slightly small walkin space. The hotel staff are very friendly and help us with our request. The location is some distance away from the city. Overall, we love the peaceful stay in here!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClairePeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear ClairePeh

Thank you for your recent visit to our Hotel, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the great views from our rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Auckland on your next visit to New Zealand.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We had to make an unplanned stay here after I was taken ill and so we used it purely as a "recovery room" until I was able to travel again. Our room was comfortable and clean and with a balcony that gave a splendid view of the Auckland Downtown area. Although probably a couple of miles outside the city centre I would rate it a good place to use as a base at a reasonable price. There's ample parking and a restaurant too. Staff/management were friendly and efficient and sympathetic to our situation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Graham L

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we are pleased that everything was to your satisfaction. We hope that you recovered sufficiently enough to enjoy the rest of your trip around our country and other destinations that you were heading to.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We were in a room on the 'motel' side. It impressed us initially - I believe it's been recently renovated and it looks very nice, modern and clean. Our suite had a lounge room with a dining table and kitchenette (really needed a small couch or sofa bed instead of the out of place single bed in there!). The microwave didn't work unfortunately which we did inform reception of. There was a bathroom with dome shower and a separate bedroom with a 'king' size bed that was actually two very soft single beds joined together. This, and the heat from lack of air con unfortunately made for 3 very uncomfortable nights trying to get some sleep. There is a heater/fan but the fan is very noisy and doesn't cool the room at all so we made do with keeping windows open.

The room was serviced very well each day which we appreciated and reception staff were very friendly. The location is fantastic - simple and cheap to get the bus, or even close enough to walk into town, or Newmarket plus there are lots of yummy places to eat at on Parnell Road.

It is great value for money, but I would be hesitant to stay again as we slept so poorly. Air con would be a great investment!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Josie0007

Thank you for your review and constructive comments. We are disappointed to note that your sleep quality was uncomfortable. We utilise king zip beds in the room type you stayed in on our south side, and we will ensure that these beds are checked to determine their current condition. Unfortunately we do not have air conditioning in our Hotel rooms, however we will look into purchasing better quality fans to ensure that guest's such as yourselves enjoy a comfortable stay with us.

I hope that you may give us the opportunity of a return visit, and I recommend that you book one of our north facing rooms with fantastic views over the city and harbour.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida, usa
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We booked this hotel at the end of November for a one night stay, Dec. 10, 2013. We were initially disappointed when we arrived because we were given a room in a building without an elevator. The ad for this hotel never mentioned there is a non-elevated building. We were quite upset because my wife had a recent hip replacement and it is difficult for her to navigate stairs. in addition, we were on the top floor, and the room was quite warm. When I complained to the desk staff, they had a porter carry up our bags, and they gave us a fan to cool the room.
After our initial disappointment, things got better. The hotel is in a beautiful residential area, only a 10 minute bus ride to downtown Auckland.The room was a large 2 bedroom suite, with a large bathroom with tub and shower. We also had a kitchen with a stove, fridge and cutlery. Although we didn't use it, we had a balcony with sliding glass doors.
The staff was lovely. They gave us a map and directions, and always greeted us with a smile They stored our bags the following morning, and held them until 6 P.M.
The neighborhood houses many funky cafes and restaurants within walking distance (try the Rhythm Cafe for breakfast or lunch.)
The hotel is also very quiet at night....you will sleep well.
We really enjoyed our stay here after the initial annoyance. I do highly recommend the Quality Hotel Parnell.

Room Tip: If you don't want to climb stairs, specify you want a room in the elevated building, away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wexable4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear wexable4u

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and subsequent review. We are pleased that your initial disappointment on arrival at our Hotel was turned around to your satisfaction, to ensure that the rest of your stay with us was enjoyable. I have noted your comment on our south wing non-elevated building and we will check our advertising collateral to see where this could have been overlooked, and rectify where possible.

We hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We (2 adults with 10 & 7 year old kids) stayed 3 nights here in a Superior Room (I think it was called that). This had two queen size beds with a separate living room and was a good size. The kitchen was well equipped, modern and clean. The location is great as easy to drive into central Auckland plus regular buses if you don't want to. Staff friendly and the restaurant in the hotel was very nice and reasonable. The room had views of the Sky Tower and the kids enjoyed going to sleep with the curtains open and looking at the tower!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyofnapiernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear tonyofnapiernz

Thank you for returning to stay with us, and we are pleased that you and your family were satisfied with our accommodation and restaurant offerings. We hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to Auckland, New Zealand sometime in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#1 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
1.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Property: Quality Hotel Parnell
Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Road, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#13 Family Hotel in Auckland
#16 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell has recently completed a four year refurbishment programme and is proud of the ongoing commitment to provide quality rooms for our valued guests. The Hotel offers free onsite parking, free wireless internet, free morning newspaper, 24 hour reception, room service and porters, coffee shop/cafe, restaurant and bar. The Hotel does not charge a credit card surcharge. Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell is within walking distance of the historic Parnell village, Auckland CBD, Auckland Domain and Museum, Newmarket shopping precinct and close to the Auckland Hospital, Auckland University and the Vector arena. We have a contract for exclusive taxi services from the Hotel to the Domestic and or International airports for a fixed cost of NZ$45.00. The Auckland Explorer Bus stops directly outside our Hotel on it's daily circuit. Quality Hotel Parnell Ltd is owned by the Norman F B Barry Foundation, being a charitable trust registered under the Charities Act 2005. Registration No: CC33047. Our continuing goal is to support medical research in New Zealand and also make scholarships available to young New Zealand science graduates, who are in need of financial assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing