We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, quiet location, clean and tidy rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great views, quiet location, clean and tidy rooms.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Our family of 3 stayed here three nights in a one bedroom with kitchen that worked well. A great location near excellent Parnell St, and a gem of a cafe nearby Brighton Rd Cafe - best cafe food ever! In an upper mid-class residential area, so quiet and easy good parking. Small bathroom, but shower had excellent water pressure. The housekeeping staff esp were wonderful and had sharp attention to detail. Terrific value for money. Ask for a harbour view room on upper floor, fabulous view.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpanda56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear travelpanda56

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and we are pleased that you enjoyed our views and found us great value for money. I will ensure that your kind comments are passed on to our Housekeeping Staff.

We hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    329
    101
    22
    9
See reviews for
189
252
38
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ILKLEY
Level Contributor
130 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Drove from Auckland Airport. Convenient to city & unless you have a reason to stay in Auckland, Parnell or Devonport ( by boat) are smaller & nicer. Ate in restaurant which was surprisingly nice. Had booked city tour & was picked up, but came back on the bus!
Room & bathroom functional & WiFi worked OK.
Can recommend.

Room Tip: Even with big cases there's a lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Albert K

Thank you for your recent review and recommendation, and we are pleased that everything was to your satisfaction.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Family of 5 (2 adults, 3 kids) accommodated perfectly in a two bedroom apartment. Everything you could need in the self-contained kitchen. Staff were friendly and professional. Location was perfect with on site parking. We booked through wotif which included a daily buffet breakfast which was outstanding. No hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Timtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Timtek

Thank you for choosing our Hotel to stay at with your family, and we are pleased that everything was to your satisfaction, and that our 2 bedroom apartments suited your accommodation requirements.

Your recommendation to stay with us to other travellers is really appreciated, and we hope that we may have the opportunity to be of service to you and your family in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is a nice, clean basic hotel at a good price. There is complimentary parking available.
The hotel gave us 2 small complimentary bottles of wine as we stayed there on 31st Dec/1st Jan!
The weirdest part was that our hotel main door opened into the bathroom!
Overall, good hotel located in a very peaceful part of Auckland( but a little far from the city center)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hereigoagain54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear hereigoagain54

Thank you for your recent review, and we are pleased that you appreciated the small gift that we left to help celebrate the new year. We hope that if you return to Auckland, New Zealand, that you would consider a return visit to our Hotel.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst attending the NZ Tennis Open in January. We also stayed here at the same of the year last year (2013). This hotel is great value for money. The staff are delightful, helpful and friendly. The room is all you need, a comfortable bed, an excellent shower and very clean. It's a short walk to the lovely shops and restaurants in Parnell Rd and about 10 minutes down to the tennis courts and the University Area. You can walk the other way to the shops and cafes at Newmarket. Free parking and plenty of it too. This is our annual "holiday without the kids" but I wouldn't hesitate to stay here with our children either. I happily recommend to anyone staying in Auckland.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antipodeannz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear antipodeannz

Thank you for returning to stay with us, and we hope that you enjoyed the tennis. It is very pleasing to see your comments about our friendly staff and guest rooms, as we continuously strive to increase guest satisfaction at our Hotel.

We appreciate your recommendation to other travellers, and look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Room was clean with great city view. Toilet had bath tub but slightly small walkin space. The hotel staff are very friendly and help us with our request. The location is some distance away from the city. Overall, we love the peaceful stay in here!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClairePeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear ClairePeh

Thank you for your recent visit to our Hotel, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the great views from our rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Auckland on your next visit to New Zealand.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We had to make an unplanned stay here after I was taken ill and so we used it purely as a "recovery room" until I was able to travel again. Our room was comfortable and clean and with a balcony that gave a splendid view of the Auckland Downtown area. Although probably a couple of miles outside the city centre I would rate it a good place to use as a base at a reasonable price. There's ample parking and a restaurant too. Staff/management were friendly and efficient and sympathetic to our situation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Graham L

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we are pleased that everything was to your satisfaction. We hope that you recovered sufficiently enough to enjoy the rest of your trip around our country and other destinations that you were heading to.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
1.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Property: Quality Hotel Parnell
Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Road, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#14 Family Hotel in Auckland
#16 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#20 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell has recently completed a four year refurbishment programme and is proud of the ongoing commitment to provide quality rooms for our valued guests. The Hotel offers free onsite parking, free wireless internet, free morning newspaper, 24 hour reception, room service and porters, coffee shop/cafe, restaurant and bar. The Hotel does not charge a credit card surcharge. Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell is within walking distance of the historic Parnell village, Auckland CBD, Auckland Domain and Museum, Newmarket shopping precinct and close to the Auckland Hospital, Auckland University and the Vector arena. We have a contract for exclusive taxi services from the Hotel to the Domestic and or International airports for a fixed cost of NZ$45.00. The Auckland Explorer Bus stops directly outside our Hotel on it's daily circuit. Quality Hotel Parnell Ltd is owned by the Norman F B Barry Foundation, being a charitable trust registered under the Charities Act 2005. Registration No: CC33047. Our continuing goal is to support medical research in New Zealand and also make scholarships available to young New Zealand science graduates, who are in need of financial assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing