We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“last night in new zealand” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Parnell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
west yorks
Level Contributor
151 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“last night in new zealand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

only had 1 day left in N Z so booked here a triple room well we got a suite 2 gigantic bedrooms kitchen and lounge, balcony overlooking port area (fascinating) and central Auckland its a lovely area shops and eateries staff most helpfull will go again if in the area its a bit expensive to go there from Manchester though!! i thought a good value hotel and spotless clean

Room Tip: Mention Tripadvisor really!! 5th floor spot on
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franny59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear franny59

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and we are pleased that everything was to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed the great views from your room.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to New Zealand and our Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    323
    101
    20
    9
See reviews for
186
248
36
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basildon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed here for five nights. Room was what we expected - fairly basic but great value for money. The only down sides were that the walls are paper-thin, there is no safe, and the bathroom configuration is strange, in that it is immediately next to the entrance making opening the door tricky.

It is about a 25 minute walk into Auckalnd CBD if you are a strong walker - there are several hills to contest to get there!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear David S

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and we are pleased that you have found us to be good value for money. Your comments have been noted, and we will take these into account for when we plan further upgrades for the Hotel in the future.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to our Hotel sometime in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

This is a lovely place to stay as long as the outside temperature is below 50F or 10C. There is no air conditioning which would be fine except that there is

NO VENTILATION and on the third floor the roof turns the room into an oven. The room was 87F, 30C when we checked in at 7pm and by midnight was still 79F, 26C. This was in spite of leaving the door to the room wide open for an hour. The windows are nicely theftproof, but that means they open no more than 2 inches (5cm). The front windows might let some air in with the light privacy drapes, but the high intensity light right outside the room, would then shine right in on the bed, like sleeping in the sun at noon. So we had to draw the blackout drapes, which are essentially airtight.

The staff was lovely to work with, they brought us two liters of ice cold water. They were very helpful with the Internet and directions.

Did I mention there is NO FAN either!

So we took cold showers, slept nude with no covers and thanked our lucky stars that we were only booked for one night and would be on an air-conditioned cruise ship after check out.

Did I mention that there are NO SCREENS either. Fortunately, there seem to be no mosquitoes or biting insects, merely a cloud of moths.

Room Tip: Travel in cold weather or see if they have rooms with air conditioning, fans, windows that really op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acesneights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear acesneights

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and subsequent review. It is always very disappointing to receive feedback of this nature, as guest comfort is of a high importance to us, and we are usually rated highly for this. Whilst we do not have air-conditioning in our rooms, there should have been a fan for your use placed in the room, and it seems that this may have been over looked on this occasion. Please accept my apologies for this over sight.

I hope that your cruise went well, and that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Our family of 3 stayed here three nights in a one bedroom with kitchen that worked well. A great location near excellent Parnell St, and a gem of a cafe nearby Brighton Rd Cafe - best cafe food ever! In an upper mid-class residential area, so quiet and easy good parking. Small bathroom, but shower had excellent water pressure. The housekeeping staff esp were wonderful and had sharp attention to detail. Terrific value for money. Ask for a harbour view room on upper floor, fabulous view.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpanda56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear travelpanda56

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and we are pleased that you enjoyed our views and found us great value for money. I will ensure that your kind comments are passed on to our Housekeeping Staff.

We hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILKLEY
Level Contributor
130 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Drove from Auckland Airport. Convenient to city & unless you have a reason to stay in Auckland, Parnell or Devonport ( by boat) are smaller & nicer. Ate in restaurant which was surprisingly nice. Had booked city tour & was picked up, but came back on the bus!
Room & bathroom functional & WiFi worked OK.
Can recommend.

Room Tip: Even with big cases there's a lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Albert K

Thank you for your recent review and recommendation, and we are pleased that everything was to your satisfaction.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Family of 5 (2 adults, 3 kids) accommodated perfectly in a two bedroom apartment. Everything you could need in the self-contained kitchen. Staff were friendly and professional. Location was perfect with on site parking. We booked through wotif which included a daily buffet breakfast which was outstanding. No hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Timtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Timtek

Thank you for choosing our Hotel to stay at with your family, and we are pleased that everything was to your satisfaction, and that our 2 bedroom apartments suited your accommodation requirements.

Your recommendation to stay with us to other travellers is really appreciated, and we hope that we may have the opportunity to be of service to you and your family in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

This is a nice, clean basic hotel at a good price. There is complimentary parking available.
The hotel gave us 2 small complimentary bottles of wine as we stayed there on 31st Dec/1st Jan!
The weirdest part was that our hotel main door opened into the bathroom!
Overall, good hotel located in a very peaceful part of Auckland( but a little far from the city center)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hereigoagain54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear hereigoagain54

Thank you for your recent review, and we are pleased that you appreciated the small gift that we left to help celebrate the new year. We hope that if you return to Auckland, New Zealand, that you would consider a return visit to our Hotel.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,973 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
1.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Property: Quality Hotel Parnell
Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Road, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#14 Family Hotel in Auckland
#16 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#20 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell has recently completed a four year refurbishment programme and is proud of the ongoing commitment to provide quality rooms for our valued guests. The Hotel offers free onsite parking, free wireless internet, free morning newspaper, 24 hour reception, room service and porters, coffee shop/cafe, restaurant and bar. The Hotel does not charge a credit card surcharge. Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell is within walking distance of the historic Parnell village, Auckland CBD, Auckland Domain and Museum, Newmarket shopping precinct and close to the Auckland Hospital, Auckland University and the Vector arena. We have a contract for exclusive taxi services from the Hotel to the Domestic and or International airports for a fixed cost of NZ$45.00. The Auckland Explorer Bus stops directly outside our Hotel on it's daily circuit. Quality Hotel Parnell Ltd is owned by the Norman F B Barry Foundation, being a charitable trust registered under the Charities Act 2005. Registration No: CC33047. Our continuing goal is to support medical research in New Zealand and also make scholarships available to young New Zealand science graduates, who are in need of financial assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing