We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent location for being 20 min walking distanve from the center. Our room was very nice with a lovely view to the center.The room was clean and the furniture looked new. Full english breakfast was very good. Value for money if you want to stay close to the center.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rehlaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    343
    106
    24
    10
See reviews for
196
261
42
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chatteris, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and was very comfortable. Room very clean, great view of the city (room 403). Didn't eat on the premises so can't comment on the food.

10 minute drive to city, 30 minutes to airport, 10 minute walk into Parnell where there is lots of places to eat and drink.

Staff very helpful especially with a left luggage request, we needed to leave something there for 2 weeks and they were very obliging.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We have stayed there twice in a family suite and it cannot be faulted. It is extremely clean and they provide little extras such as milk in the fridge. We had two bedrooms and the adults bedroom had two double sized beds with loads of closet space which was great as we were there for at least a week each time. The kitchenette was well equipped and if you walked down Gladstone road there are shops ten minutes walk away to buy bread, flowers, sushi etc
The location is excellent, we could walk up to the Parnell shops easily and taxi rides from the city are cheap as it is surprisingly close to everything. Despite being almost a "city" hotel it is still really quiet. We had a lovely balcony with a superb view of the museum, sky tower and even the port. They provide completely new toiletries every day and there is even a DVD player which worked with my American dvd's. Most importantly the staff were always really nice. They always said hello and were really friendly whenever we went for breakfast in the cafe (my children really like the pancakes). I would really recommend the Parnell to anyone who wants to be really close to the city centre but still able to relax in a quiet environment.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London U.K.
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

A typical Kiwi mix and match of Motel,Hotel and conference centre that seems to be working. Good restaurant that serves all 3 types of customer plus Cafe. Ground floor customers can have tricky
Walk to room avoiding cars and bumps in a downhill walk to their room. Rooms are spacious
and well equipped. The staff I encountered seemed a bit too professional and stiff and did not
Have a adequate knowledge of local Tpt.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thekiwikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We enjoy this hotel
we booked 2 rooms for a family gathering and birthday
the rooms are spacious clean with modern facilities
we had great views over the city
the booking and check in was proffesional friendly and so welcoming
we will be back
a plus there is plenty of free parking

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lampardTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here for the Bruce Springsteen concert for 4x nights and it was very handy to town and had a great view of the town/harbour.We found the staff friendly the room was the premium balcony room and was clean,roomy and just what we expected.
The hotel was booked out but was quiet and just enough car parks.Thanks Quality Hotel Parnell staff for the excellent stay we will be back shortly guaranteed :-)

Room Tip: Try and get a balcony view of town
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clinton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Sayed for three nights over a weekend and was pleasantly surprised. The room was very spacious and impeccably clean, as was the bathroom. There was a lovely wide balcony and fantastic view as well.
Check-in was without any issues and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was good - but it's not within easy walking distance of the main street of Parnell, but that's not the fault of the hotel. My only complaint was that there is no cooling in the rooms - no fan or air-conditioning.
The bed was equipped with a bedspread, blanket, sheet and electric blanket which would be great for winter, but there was no relief from the warm Auckland nights in Summer.
Overall an excellent stay and I would stay here again if I was to come to Auckland again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AVC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear AVC29

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and subsequent review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for your complementary comments on our rooms and staff service.
If you would like to contact us directly when making your next reservation, letting us know of your requirements, we will ensure that an additional fan is placed in your room.

Thank you for choosing Quality hotel Parnell, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 67 in Auckland
314 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
1.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
952 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Property: Quality Hotel Parnell
Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Road, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#13 Family Hotel in Auckland
#16 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 105 air-conditioned rooms centrally located on 3.5 acres in the desirable residential area of Parnell. Most hotel rooms and serviced apartments have expansive views of Auckland city and harbour and 67 serviced apartments have full kitchens. The hotel offers free onsite parking, wireless internet, complimentary morning newspaper, 24-hour reception, room service and porters, coffee shop/cafe, restaurant and bar. Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell is within walking distance of the historic Parnell Village, Auckland CBD, Auckland Domain and Museum, Newmarket shopping precinct and close to the Auckland Hospital, Auckland University and the Vector Arena. Quality Hotel Parnell is owned by the Norman F.B. Barry Foundation, being a charitable trust registered under the Charities Act 2005. Registration No: CC33047. Donations are made to support the community and the advancement of Medical Research. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing