We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great location and value”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here at short notice and were very impressed with the value! The rooms are basic and the furnishings are a little dated however its clean and has all you need. The location is hard to beat, the dining looked very basic, however Parnell has a number of excellent restaurants nearby.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nhan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    343
    106
    24
    10
See reviews for
196
261
42
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Quality Hotel Parnell is centrally situated in Auckland. The rooms were excellent, and the staff obliging. The breakfasts were expensive as were the dinners quoted. We were a group of 35 people and we elected to self cater for breakfast by taking some plates an cutlery, and having cereals in our rooms. The tariff was reasonable considering the central city site

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TykeHBNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forster, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This was a "find" and worth the two nights stay. A great comfortable bed, room clean and bright, spacious including the bathroom and a restaurant on site. The view from the rooms with balcony are just lovely and nearby Parnell village with its trendy shops, galleries and restaurants is a 10 minute walk. It is relatively close to Auckland CBD and has free onsite parking. We found the hotel to be quiet and next visit will spend longer than 2 nights there.

Room Tip: A balcony room is worth an extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SixtyplusOldBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urunga, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed here as a first stop from Australia to catch up with friends. Hotel was easy to find (by car) being on direct route from airport to city and convenient for our expected travels to the North the following day.

Top floor room had recently been renovated and was clean and tidy with all furniture and fittings in excellent condition. Access via open access a bit out of date and open to (bad) weather but functional. Room had a balcony which provided great views of the city and harbour.

Breakfast was provided in the restaurant and proved to be very enjoyable.

Extensive off-street car park on first-come, first-served basis which could mean a little walk in bad conditions but for us it was great. Although located on major thoroughfare this was of minor intrusion during the day and no noise at night (past 10 pm).

Room Tip: Pay a little more and select rooms on top floor with city views to get the best experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquarelle2455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bateau Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We booked 21 days in advance through Choice Privileges and got a 20% discount. As a result we had exceptional value for money even though we chose a 'budget room' (Room 31), which was quite small but recently refurbished and very clean. The bathroom was equally good. As in many hotels, a double room only qualifies for a single chair. It seems to be the norm but is difficult to explain. The reception were very helpful. The breakfast was good although a little expensive, which is in keeping with the up market suburb of Parnell.
The French market each Saturday and Sunday should not be missed.
My only concern is the 3 flights of outdoor, concrete stairs to reach our room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room what appears to be a new building, ie in the same block as reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Well-appointed hotel in Parnell, a short distance from downtown Auckland. Had king-size begs, fairly large rooms, all of which were recently upgrades and modernized. All conveniences. Our room had a balcony which overlooked the Auckland city skyline which was very nice. Had outside corridors, and a full service restaurant. Helpful staff at front desk. The only downside is this hotel seems to cater to foreign tourist groups, which can be very loud and inconsiderate. We experienced doors slamming, parents shouting to one another, and children running up and down the corridors well into the late evening. The walls are very thin and do little to dampen the sound. If you are unlucky and have these people near you, your stay might not be very restful. Other than the clientele this hotel attracts, the hotel is just fine.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoustonRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent location for being 20 min walking distanve from the center. Our room was very nice with a lovely view to the center.The room was clean and the furniture looked new. Full english breakfast was very good. Value for money if you want to stay close to the center.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rehlaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 67 in Auckland
314 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
1.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
952 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Property: Quality Hotel Parnell
Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Road, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#13 Family Hotel in Auckland
#17 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 105 air-conditioned rooms centrally located on 3.5 acres in the desirable residential area of Parnell. Most hotel rooms and serviced apartments have expansive views of Auckland city and harbour and 67 serviced apartments have full kitchens. The hotel offers free onsite parking, wireless internet, complimentary morning newspaper, 24-hour reception, room service and porters, coffee shop/cafe, restaurant and bar. Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell is within walking distance of the historic Parnell Village, Auckland CBD, Auckland Domain and Museum, Newmarket shopping precinct and close to the Auckland Hospital, Auckland University and the Vector Arena. Quality Hotel Parnell is owned by the Norman F.B. Barry Foundation, being a charitable trust registered under the Charities Act 2005. Registration No: CC33047. Donations are made to support the community and the advancement of Medical Research. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing