We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel & location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stayed at the Quality Hotel Parnell for five nights with two friends while in town for a triathlon in April 2014. Our modern suite had two double beds along with a living room, kitchen, and attached patio with a perfect view of the Auckland skyline and harbor. I liked that the patio had entrance doors to both the living room and bedroom and we kept the doors open most of the time with the nice weather and quiet location.

The front desk staff were very helpful in getting us settled on the first day and giving us a lay of the land in the neighborhood--where to get groceries, etc. And, housekeeping staff did a great job keeping our rooms neat and tidy. The kitchen comes with everything you need in terms of dishes/stove top supplies, and the hotel even stocks milk in the refrigerator upon arrival.

As a bonus, the hotel is on the direct route between the airport and the city, which made for easy travel to/from the airport (20 minutes in the early morning and 40 minutes in afternoon traffic). The front desk will arrange an airport transfer with Discount Taxis upon request. It's a $35 flat rate. I will definitely return here the next time I'm in Auckland!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCandLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

418 - 424 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

The reviews for this hotel are highly overrated. The bathrooms are old, with a weird accordion door. There are exposed pipes coming out of the sink and toilet. The veneer was peeling off the countertop. and there was no extractor fan to get the steam out. To top that off, the towels were ratty and stained.

The room was hot. There was no air conditioning, so we had to leave the window open, which allowed the mozzies to get in. They were buzzing by our ears while we tried to sleep. Not only that, but the noise from the hall was really loud. People coming in at 1:00 am. Not that it mattered at this point, but the pillows were flat and uncomfortable.

The best thing about the hotel was the location. Parnell is a cool area and walking distance to all kinds of restaurants, shops, and the museum. Unfortunately this hotel was the worst part of our visit. This place needs an remodel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DES_and_DAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had a two night stay at the beginning of our trip and returned for five nights at the end of trip. This is a busy smaller hotel with an excellent central location near the city. Good value for money in our opinion.

We were lucky enough to have rooms with a beautiful view over the city and harbour. Our rooms were large and had been recently redecorated. Beds were very comfortable. Bathrooms were clean but average with shower over the bath (restrictions due to the age of hotel).. Self catering facilities were great for quick meals with our toddler granddaughter.. The best thing about the room was the couch and two armchairs to relax in. We experienced dinner in the hotel restaurant and the food was of a very good standard - pricing comparable with many Auckland restaurants during our two week visit to New Zealand. Free Carparking was good most of the time, with overflow out onto Gladstone Road. Guest Laundry was a real bonus. Staff were always very friendly and helpful. There are various levels of accommodation to suit most budgets.

Nearby shopping is in Parnell, a tourist orientated shopping street, with Newmarket a five minute drive/bus ride down the road. A LINK Bus Service operates up Parnell Road every 10-15 mins during the day and completes a city circuit. This is a must to experience! A tourist bus to the Zoo, Kelly Tarltons Underwater World, MOTAT etc stops at the entrance of this hotel.

We thoroughly enjoyed our 'stay-put' hotel to visit our daughter and granddaughter.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S0mers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Quality Hotel Parnell has excellent views of Auckland and Waitemata Harbour.

The staff were good and the room was clean. The room was also large compared to what you might get elsewhere.

Would stay again here if in Parnell or the nearby area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank durianfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Quality Hotel Parnell is perfectly located, out of the noisy Auckland town centre, but close enough to be convenient to the waterfront, Parnell or the city’s many amenities. Parnell itself is beautiful and has some great shops, galleries and cafes – the Sunday market is amazing. We loved the large, comfortable rooms, great kitchen and bathroom facilities and spacious lounge for relaxing. Our room had a fantastic view of the city centre and out to the water – it was beautiful at night with the city lights on display. Training was important to us and we were right on the doorstep of the Parnell Pools complex, plus the beautiful waterfront bays for run training and bike rides. We couldn’t have asked for a better location and the great room service made for a lovely and hassle free stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anneke_jenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here at short notice and were very impressed with the value! The rooms are basic and the furnishings are a little dated however its clean and has all you need. The location is hard to beat, the dining looked very basic, however Parnell has a number of excellent restaurants nearby.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Nhan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Quality Hotel Parnell is centrally situated in Auckland. The rooms were excellent, and the staff obliging. The breakfasts were expensive as were the dinners quoted. We were a group of 35 people and we elected to self cater for breakfast by taking some plates an cutlery, and having cereals in our rooms. The tariff was reasonable considering the central city site

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TykeHBNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
985 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#35 of 66 in Auckland Central
715 reviews
1.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,679 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
795 reviews
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Road, Auckland Central, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Auckland Central
#13 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#17 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £70 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 105 air-conditioned rooms centrally located on 3.5 acres in the desirable residential area of Parnell. Most hotel rooms and serviced apartments have expansive views of Auckland city and harbour and 67 serviced apartments have full kitchens. The hotel offers free onsite parking, wireless internet, complimentary morning newspaper, 24-hour reception, room service and porters, coffee shop/cafe, restaurant and bar. Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell is within walking distance of the historic Parnell Village, Auckland CBD, Auckland Domain and Museum, Newmarket shopping precinct and close to the Auckland Hospital, Auckland University and the Vector Arena. Quality Hotel Parnell is owned by the Norman F.B. Barry Foundation, being a charitable trust registered under the Charities Act 2005. Registration No: CC33047. Donations are made to support the community and the advancement of Medical Research. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing