We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great location and views”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with family over the Easter break. The family room up on the fifth floor was very spacious and well appointed. The view from the balcony was lovely. The hotel is a short walk away from the shops and cafe scene at Parnell Road. This location in general is great, as it's an easy walk to the inner city, but is easily accessible for people travelling with vehicles. The parking was free, but filled up quickly, and some of the car parks surrounding the hotel were narrow, steep and awkward to get into and out of. That said, the room was fantastic and we were all most impressed. Would recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gondwana80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    343
    106
    24
    11
See reviews for
196
261
43
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We booked via a third party website and chose a one bedroom unit as we had our toddler with us and the king balcony rooms (which would have been our preference) said they catered for a maximum of 2 people.

There are two buildings - one looks pretty new and the other considerably older. We were disappointed to be put in the older building - not sure whether this was because we'd booked via a third party or if that was where the larger rooms were - however, the room we had was good, and ideal for purpose. It was freshly renovated with good kitchen facilities, separate bedroom with large comfortable bed, and large bathroom.

Positives - free parking (hard to come by in Auckland); great location close to Parnell, Newmarket and the CBD and easy to get to; clean, comfortable room; good kitchen facilities and complimentary refreshments including plunger coffee. About five minutes' walk from a small group of shops where there's a dairy; wine and beer shop; fish and chip shop; fruit and vegetable shop; and pharmacy.

Negatives - no lift (elevator) in the older building - this wasn't an issue for us but may be for some; no view from older building; room was very hot overnight; light shone in from the outside walkway into the bedroom overnight; no swimming pool.

Overall the positives definitely outweighed the negatives and I would say as long as you're not expecting a luxury hotel, it is definitely a good choice. We would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneSteve70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed just one night and chose this hotel due to the good tripadvisor ratings but found the room uninspiring, the building and the restaurant aged and the bathrooms very aged.

I did appreciate the free parking and the sort of free wifi in that you had to join a club to get it.

Probably fine for a business trip but for a nice night away, I'll look to stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iheartmauao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algoma, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at the Quality Hotel Parnell for two nights as our first stop in New Zealand. It was an easy walk to the ferry building and several restaurants along the way. Our room was a newer room with a king bed which was very comfortable and we had a fridge. The rose garden was just down the street, We also had a great view of the Auckland skyline, especially impressive at night.

Room Tip: Upper floors have the good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wisconsinron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stayed at the Quality Hotel Parnell for five nights with two friends while in town for a triathlon in April 2014. Our modern suite had two double beds along with a living room, kitchen, and attached patio with a perfect view of the Auckland skyline and harbor. I liked that the patio had entrance doors to both the living room and bedroom and we kept the doors open most of the time with the nice weather and quiet location.

The front desk staff were very helpful in getting us settled on the first day and giving us a lay of the land in the neighborhood--where to get groceries, etc. And, housekeeping staff did a great job keeping our rooms neat and tidy. The kitchen comes with everything you need in terms of dishes/stove top supplies, and the hotel even stocks milk in the refrigerator upon arrival.

As a bonus, the hotel is on the direct route between the airport and the city, which made for easy travel to/from the airport (20 minutes in the early morning and 40 minutes in afternoon traffic). The front desk will arrange an airport transfer with Discount Taxis upon request. It's a $35 flat rate. I will definitely return here the next time I'm in Auckland!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCandLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The reviews for this hotel are highly overrated. The bathrooms are old, with a weird accordion door. There are exposed pipes coming out of the sink and toilet. The veneer was peeling off the countertop. and there was no extractor fan to get the steam out. To top that off, the towels were ratty and stained.

The room was hot. There was no air conditioning, so we had to leave the window open, which allowed the mozzies to get in. They were buzzing by our ears while we tried to sleep. Not only that, but the noise from the hall was really loud. People coming in at 1:00 am. Not that it mattered at this point, but the pillows were flat and uncomfortable.

The best thing about the hotel was the location. Parnell is a cool area and walking distance to all kinds of restaurants, shops, and the museum. Unfortunately this hotel was the worst part of our visit. This place needs an remodel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DES_and_DAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had a two night stay at the beginning of our trip and returned for five nights at the end of trip. This is a busy smaller hotel with an excellent central location near the city. Good value for money in our opinion.

We were lucky enough to have rooms with a beautiful view over the city and harbour. Our rooms were large and had been recently redecorated. Beds were very comfortable. Bathrooms were clean but average with shower over the bath (restrictions due to the age of hotel).. Self catering facilities were great for quick meals with our toddler granddaughter.. The best thing about the room was the couch and two armchairs to relax in. We experienced dinner in the hotel restaurant and the food was of a very good standard - pricing comparable with many Auckland restaurants during our two week visit to New Zealand. Free Carparking was good most of the time, with overflow out onto Gladstone Road. Guest Laundry was a real bonus. Staff were always very friendly and helpful. There are various levels of accommodation to suit most budgets.

Nearby shopping is in Parnell, a tourist orientated shopping street, with Newmarket a five minute drive/bus ride down the road. A LINK Bus Service operates up Parnell Road every 10-15 mins during the day and completes a city circuit. This is a must to experience! A tourist bus to the Zoo, Kelly Tarltons Underwater World, MOTAT etc stops at the entrance of this hotel.

We thoroughly enjoyed our 'stay-put' hotel to visit our daughter and granddaughter.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S0mers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 67 in Auckland
315 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
1.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
957 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Property: Quality Hotel Parnell
Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Road, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#13 Family Hotel in Auckland
#17 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 105 air-conditioned rooms centrally located on 3.5 acres in the desirable residential area of Parnell. Most hotel rooms and serviced apartments have expansive views of Auckland city and harbour and 67 serviced apartments have full kitchens. The hotel offers free onsite parking, wireless internet, complimentary morning newspaper, 24-hour reception, room service and porters, coffee shop/cafe, restaurant and bar. Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell is within walking distance of the historic Parnell Village, Auckland CBD, Auckland Domain and Museum, Newmarket shopping precinct and close to the Auckland Hospital, Auckland University and the Vector Arena. Quality Hotel Parnell is owned by the Norman F.B. Barry Foundation, being a charitable trust registered under the Charities Act 2005. Registration No: CC33047. Donations are made to support the community and the advancement of Medical Research. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing