We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2009

After reading the reviews here, we booked here. It was just as expected - simple, well located, clean and reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RudolfSplatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

658 - 664 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2009

My wife and I initially booked to stay for 2 nights but were so impressed with Barrycourt that we stayed for a week. It is an excellent location being within walking distance of shops, bars and restaurants in Parnell and 10 minutes bus ride from the central city. It also has its own restaurant which we found very good. Our room which had a great harbour view was very generous inside and had just been totally refurbished. We had a kitchen which, like the room. and bathroom was well appointed and spotlessly clean. The staff without exception, were all courteous and service exceptional.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sesapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Spacious apartment, warm and bright, everything you need in the unit.
Really appreciate the bathroom heater and the new overhead heaters installed since our previous visit.
Friendly welcoming staff, great location for Vector Arena and central city, with easy access to outer suburbs.
Usually plenty of parking. Attached cafe is great for breakfast.
Overall makes for a pleasent stay in Auckland.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank staykerikeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Barrycourt in accessible and elegant Parnell is a must, the hotel rooms are very clean, wonderful views of the bay (on the fourth floor). The staff both at the counter and the restaurant was always friendly and accommodating, remarkable Manish always professional and friendly, one may think that hotel culture was gone through the window, but Barrycourt proved me wrong. Auckland is a great place to visit and the hotel is a good place to go home to at the end of the night or morning (if you are out late)..

The restaurant offers continental breakfast or cooked breakfast (ham, eggs, and so on) My only bad experience was "soup of the day" which actually from a can heated up in a microwave. Do not know if this everyday or the cook had a bad day. The rest of the food was good.

1  Thank Juantoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We (a group of seven all living overseas) stayed here for a total of six nights in July hiring out two of the two bedroom apartments on the top floor. Each one was well set out, completely self sufficient and the bath/shower facilities were outstanding (for what is very reasonably priced accommodation). We all enjoyed our stay particularly being able to congregate in either living room with expansive views out over the harbour to the island with the volcano on it. We were constantly pestering the staff for information or favours and they were top notch, really professional and personable. Totally happy across the board. The furthest we had to park from the lobby entrance was about 20-30 metres all week, and the rental car was parked up off the street and free of charge. Also enjoyed a few early morning walks around the domain, rose gardens and the bays just over the hill - great spot. Town was only a 5 minute drive away, but we ended up spending a fair bit of time in Parnell.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Opini0n8ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2008

Reasonably priced accommodation in a convenient location. We had a good deal for 2 nights in a room with a balcony overlooking the bay. The room was spotlessly clean, the shower was hot and powerful, the laundry room downstairs was very useful, the staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were excellent. What more could you ask for? P.S. The electric blankets were a nice bonus.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank midlandsmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2008

The place is great value for money in a city like Auckland. The rooms are basic but clean and well serviced.

The staff is helpful and friendly. The good thing is that the reception is open 24 hrs so for us chekcing in at midnight after a long international flight was smooth and easy.

Locationwise its near to the city centre. Although Parnell, the place where it is located is a nice area in itself. We didnt try the food so can't comment.

Overall great value for money and good place for a short stay.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kuntal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
985 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#35 of 66 in Auckland Central
715 reviews
1.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,681 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
796 reviews
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Road, Auckland Central, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Auckland Central
#13 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#17 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £70 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 105 air-conditioned rooms centrally located on 3.5 acres in the desirable residential area of Parnell. Most hotel rooms and serviced apartments have expansive views of Auckland city and harbour and 67 serviced apartments have full kitchens. The hotel offers free onsite parking, wireless internet, complimentary morning newspaper, 24-hour reception, room service and porters, coffee shop/cafe, restaurant and bar. Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell is within walking distance of the historic Parnell Village, Auckland CBD, Auckland Domain and Museum, Newmarket shopping precinct and close to the Auckland Hospital, Auckland University and the Vector Arena. Quality Hotel Parnell is owned by the Norman F.B. Barry Foundation, being a charitable trust registered under the Charities Act 2005. Registration No: CC33047. Donations are made to support the community and the advancement of Medical Research. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing