We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate - but little more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Adequate - but little more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2010

Our family stayed here at the motel. The staff were friendly and helpful, and changed us to a bigger room upon check-in. The rooms were clean, but dated. The location was out of way . . . close to the museum, but little else.

We had a pleasant time there, but I was somewhat dissapointed. I thought from the high rating in Trip ADvisor at the time (12 of 162) that the motel would have a bit more spark or something special, but it really didn't. I would call this a very average place.

I would be okay going back, but I'd look for a hotel with a little more personality first.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eriktera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    329
    101
    22
    9
See reviews for
189
252
37
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north east england,uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

Very clean hotel, Big rooms with a view of the working harbour, The staff were very pleasant and friendly.
the hotel felt more of a motel than anything else, could hear people walking pass your room on the outside corridor which was where your bathroom was.
for a short stay this is a hotel i would go back to as it was in as lovely area, not far from the rose gardens and good eatery's a short walk away.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsinhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2010

The Barrycourt is located in Parnell - a short walk to the shopping strip so very convenient. The staff and friendly and helpful. The rooms are a bit tired and outdated, however clean and fine for a quick overnight stay or for the budget traveller. The restaurant is average - I'd not eat there is a hurry again. I also had a nasty fall when getting out of the shower - the condensation had made the floor slippery and the bath mat on the cheap lino wasn't a good combination. However on drawing this to the attention of management, they did offer that I could see a doctor or if there were further problems to get in touch.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

We arrived several hours before we were supposed to check-in, but the hotel was able to provide us with a room. The room was comfortable and it's a decent location to the city center (either via bus or a long walk). The only thing negative is that the walls were somewhat thin.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beans2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

Stayed here for both the times I visited auckland during our NZ trip. The hotel is on Parnell Road which is not very far from the airport. It is also the upmarket and chic part of the city. There our various eating options with a 10-15 mins walk. On our second morning, we were woken up by fire alarms. We thought it was a drill. But then the girl from the reception came running and helped us to go down and reach where everybody was standing. All the hotel staff ensured that all the guests came out to safety.
Rooms were clean, with excellent views of the harbour. I would recommend this hotel to anybody visiting auckland

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vipin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niantic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

I chose this hotel for its TripAdvisor reviews and for its proximity (20 minute walk) to the Auckland Museum. The hotel scored high on both counts--it was cheap, very clean, with excellent service, and an easy walk only slightly uphill to the museum.

While I generally dislike ground floor rooms on an outside corridor, the one I was offered (substantially before check-in time) was quiet, felt very safe (it was not far from the 24-hour reception desk), and was very clean. It had a harbor view--and also a good light-blocking roller shade for those who need to sleep at odd times. There was also a separate building for locked luggage storage, and a complimentary newspaper at my door early in the morning.

The hotel is in a quiet residential area, so there was no ambient traffic noise or exterior hullabaloo; but the walls were thinnish and I did hear other rooms' plumbing now and then.

Fittings were generally old-fashioned, including painted wooden bedside tables, but immaculately kept up. Nary a scratch or ding.

My only complaint is that the bedside lights were the worst I've ever seen. Even when I had eventually figured out they were switchless touch lamps (the little "touch" label at the base is too small to see until after you have gotten the light on--bada boom), even the highest setting provided light too dim to read by. Fortunately, there was a wonderful full-spectrum desk lamp which I moved over for my stay.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Route95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2010

We stayed in Auckland one night when we first arrived in New Zealand. This hotel had some of the best and most consistent reviews on TripAdvisor, and the price was good for the country's largest city. When we travel, we like to conserve money on where we stay and what we eat so we can spend it on activities and sites. This hotel is a good place for others looking to do the same. No frills, and it isn't going to win any awards for decor, but it was clean and very spacious.

We had a room on the top floor of the motel section, so we didn't have any problem with noise and we also had a really great view from our window. The bed was large and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and the water pressure in the shower was great.

The location of this hotel is the only thing that might be of concern to some travelers. We actually enjoyed the lovely Parnell area of Auckland, which has lots of trees and quiet homes and a long street of quirky shops and little restaurants. However, you will need transportation of some kind to get into downtown Auckland and to the waterfront area. It would be a long walk otherwise. The Link Bus (which runs on a frequent circuit around the city and is $1.50NZ each time you get on) does have stops in Parnell so this was an easy solution. If you walk ALL the way down Parnell hill, it runs right into the street where all the car rental companies are located, which is handy if you are renting a car.

There was no free wi-fi at the hotel, but there is a free wi-fi network in Parnell if you walk the couple blocks over to the main shopping/eating area.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheJamesGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,063 reviews
1.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Property: Quality Hotel Parnell
Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Road, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#14 Family Hotel in Auckland
#16 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#20 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell has recently completed a four year refurbishment programme and is proud of the ongoing commitment to provide quality rooms for our valued guests. The Hotel offers free onsite parking, free wireless internet, free morning newspaper, 24 hour reception, room service and porters, coffee shop/cafe, restaurant and bar. The Hotel does not charge a credit card surcharge. Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell is within walking distance of the historic Parnell village, Auckland CBD, Auckland Domain and Museum, Newmarket shopping precinct and close to the Auckland Hospital, Auckland University and the Vector arena. We have a contract for exclusive taxi services from the Hotel to the Domestic and or International airports for a fixed cost of NZ$45.00. The Auckland Explorer Bus stops directly outside our Hotel on it's daily circuit. Quality Hotel Parnell Ltd is owned by the Norman F B Barry Foundation, being a charitable trust registered under the Charities Act 2005. Registration No: CC33047. Our continuing goal is to support medical research in New Zealand and also make scholarships available to young New Zealand science graduates, who are in need of financial assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing