We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel Good Location Great Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good Hotel Good Location Great Price”
Reviewed 28 May 2010

Excellent value. Location was in Parnell Neighborhood which was nice and about a 30 minute walk to the city center. However there is a Link Bus Station about 5-10 minutes walk so easy to get to downtown area. Room was fine. Only wish there was free wi-fi.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinapsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    334
    104
    23
    9
See reviews for
191
254
39
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

We only wanted a short overnight stay in Auckland before our flight back to the UK the next morning and didn't want to "push the boat out". The Barrycourt was by far the cheapest accommodation we had in NZ, but what a surprise. Our room was large with great views from the 15th floor window of the sky tower and the harbour. The bathroom was basic but very clean and we had a decent flat screen TV and tea and coffee making equipment.

When we wanted to do on-line check in on the computer in the lobby for which there was a nominal charge, we had some problems printing out the boarding passes, no problem, one of the staff lent us their personal memory stick so that we could transfer the pdf file to their PC and they printed it off for us. They were also very helpful in giving directions.

The location is only slightly away from the action and was not a problem for us. If you want good clean accommodation on a budget then this is the place for you

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillGuildfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salisbury
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We spent two nights here in February in a room with a view over Auckland harbour. Breakfast good and dinner was excellent, although the dining room is a bit lacking in atmosphere. The location was good, about five minutes away from the bus into town. A good start to our touring holiday.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeandee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Based on reviews, we stayed at the Barrycourt for 4 nights on arrival in Auckland and then 2 more nights before we left New Zealand in April. The rooms we had were clean with a beautiful view and certainly served our purpose. We enjoyed the Parnell area and found the link bus into town very convenient. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieQu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
d.c. usa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

Shocked at the quality of this hotel after reading some of the other reviews. Drove here from Taupo, and arrived quite late in the evening......too tired to look for another hotel when we arrived.

Quite shabby, and old, and since we were only scheduled to stay for one night, we thought we could endure it. Well, the room was infested with mosquitos, and the bed also seemed to be infested with something. We got no sleep at all......had black and blue bruises from nasty bites that hurt and lasted a very long time. Had to see a doctor when we got home. When we complained to the staff, they were very cold, and didn't want to make any adjustment to the bill......they finally admitted that they were having a very big problem with mosquitos, but it was all very unsatisfactory.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingj60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylviaj1502, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 19 April 2010
On receiving the above review, which we are of course very disappointed to receive we would like to make the following comments.
Our property consists of two wings – one of which has recently undergone a refurbishment for which we have received a high Qualmark grading with many compliments from our guests, also from travel agents who come to view the property.
The room which was occupied is situated on the 5th floor in our refurbished wing. When spending time outside on the balcony during the evening it is quite conceivable that mosquitoes will take the opportunity to bite which undeniably will cause discomfort. We received the complaint on check out the next day which unfortunately did not give us the opportunity to follow through with the guests in attendance to verify their complaint. We have a 24 hour reception and our night staff are certainly able to help with any problems which may occur. As a gesture of goodwill, when we received the complaint, we offered a discount which was accepted.
On the guests departure our head housekeeper stripped the bed and checked linen, bed base & mattress and could find no evidence of any infestation.
This room has been occupied prior to and subsequent to the guests departure, for almost the full month of February and no complaints have been made.
In our opinion we feel that the comments are unjust and hope that this explanation will clarify the situation to our TripAdvisor readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We had a 3 night stay at the Barrycourt in late March early April. Our family (2A, 2C - 7 & 12) booked a 2 bedroom apartment. The location is a couple of minutes drive from Auckland if you have a car, which we did. Parking is free on site, but the carparking towards the rear of the property is quite steep downhill sideways. The apartment was huge with 2 queen beds in the main bedroom and 1 double and 1 single in the second bedroom, both rooms had big built in robes and good block out curtains. The bathroom was also big, with a toilet, well lit vanity and a shower into a corner spa bath. Water pressure was good but the spa bath was deep and with no grab rail was difficult for the smaller members of our family to safely get in and out of the shower. Also there was no extraction fan and the bathroom steamed up quickly. The kitchen had a 4 burner hotplate, microwave oven, electric kettle and toaster and a fridge, no full size oven though. Limited pots and pans but a full range of crockery and cutlery. The decor was fairly new in what is an old building. The lounge had a 3 seat sofa (Bed?) and 2 armchairs, 4 seat dining setting, a flat screen tv with sky tv and DVD player. An adequate guest laundry was located on the ground floor. The hotel was fairly busy over the Easter weekend but in the room it was very quiet, with no audible traffic noise or noise from passing guests or through the walls.
I could easily recommend this to other travellers especially families, even better if you have a car.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry00seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Our family stayed here at the motel. The staff were friendly and helpful, and changed us to a bigger room upon check-in. The rooms were clean, but dated. The location was out of way . . . close to the museum, but little else.

We had a pleasant time there, but I was somewhat dissapointed. I thought from the high rating in Trip ADvisor at the time (12 of 162) that the motel would have a bit more spark or something special, but it really didn't. I would call this a very average place.

I would be okay going back, but I'd look for a hotel with a little more personality first.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eriktera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#1 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
1.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Property: Quality Hotel Parnell
Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Road, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#13 Family Hotel in Auckland
#16 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell has recently completed a four year refurbishment programme and is proud of the ongoing commitment to provide quality rooms for our valued guests. The Hotel offers free onsite parking, free wireless internet, free morning newspaper, 24 hour reception, room service and porters, coffee shop/cafe, restaurant and bar. The Hotel does not charge a credit card surcharge. Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell is within walking distance of the historic Parnell village, Auckland CBD, Auckland Domain and Museum, Newmarket shopping precinct and close to the Auckland Hospital, Auckland University and the Vector arena. We have a contract for exclusive taxi services from the Hotel to the Domestic and or International airports for a fixed cost of NZ$45.00. The Auckland Explorer Bus stops directly outside our Hotel on it's daily circuit. Quality Hotel Parnell Ltd is owned by the Norman F B Barry Foundation, being a charitable trust registered under the Charities Act 2005. Registration No: CC33047. Our continuing goal is to support medical research in New Zealand and also make scholarships available to young New Zealand science graduates, who are in need of financial assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing