We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed 31 March 2007

Stayed 2 nights at Barry Court in Oct/Nov 2006. Good place to stay if not wanting to be right in the heart of Auckland. Parnell, where the hotel is located, is an easy drive from the airport and is only about 5 minutes drive out of Auckland with great restaurants for dinner. The rooms at Barrycourt look like you've stepped into the 70's but are comfy and, if you choose a room in the North wing with a balcony, have great views of the city. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall, a good choice for a short stay at Auckland.

  • Liked — helpful & friendly staff, good location
  • Disliked — old bathroom
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank slowtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    343
    106
    24
    10
See reviews for
196
261
42
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights before joining a cruise ship. It is not in the downtown area but rather in the pleasant leafy suburb of Parnell, yet within walking distance of the city if you like walking. It is also close to the Domain and the Auckland Museum, and Parnell Road has interesting little shops and cafes.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful...especially the restaurant manager who ran up the stairs with our 2 very heavy suitcases when we arrived.

We had dinner at the hotel's restaurant both nights and breakfast in the morning. The food was much better than i would have expected for a medium price hotel and I would certainly recommend you try it...even if you are not staying here.

We had booked into a lower price room in the older motel section but if we ever get there again, I think I would choose to stay in the newer hotel block where the rooms on the upper floors have views of the city and harbour.

  • Liked — Restaurant
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DorothyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2007

We stayed one night in this hotel beginning of january, we read all the comments on tripadvisor and decided to go here. But we were very disappointed as we checked in there late at night. Very impersonal service, old rooms, with a door who didn.t close good. We agreed with the receptionist for a late checkout at 12. But the next morning at 8.30 they already banged on the door to clean the room... Wonderful. We were so disappointed by best western, that the following hotels from best western we went to, we asked everytime to see the room first, before we decided to book it. When we complainted about these things we had to tell the story to 3 different people. Bad communication. Never again.

  • Liked — none
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gaby7514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muzzanz1, Hotel Duty Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this review, 9 June 2007
Thank you for raising these issues with us.

The staff member who was new, has since left the property.
It appears the problems followed on from his lack of passing on the information you had requested of him on check in.
The team at Barrycourt aim to please all our guests and love to hear any problems you may have so that these can be rectified as they happen.
Once again reviews are great as a reminder of ways to improve and rectify our facilities and services to our customers.

Thank you
Murray
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2007

We stayed here four nights (three stays) over a period of three weeks whilst travelling around New Zealand. Firstly the Hotel is easy to find in the suburb of Parnell and to get to from either the Airport or the north (great bonus when you are not familiar with Aucklands "magnificent" motorways) and has heaps of free parking. It also has the bonus of being in a quiet residential area and is therefore very relaxing. The City and supermarket etc are about a five minute drive away. There are a lot of restaurants/Cafes in the main street of Parnell about a five minute walk away.
We booked a two bedroom northwing unit which has a view over the harbour.
Unit 501 and 401 - These were large units, with full kitchen, washing machine and dryer (in the Bathroom), Spa with shower over, two bedrooms (one with 2 x QS and the other with 1 x QS and 1 x Sgl beds) and a lounge room.
Unit 512 - Slightly smaller than above with no washing machine or dryer and one less Queen size bed)
All three units were Clean, comfortable, with a good shower (always important after a long day) and comfortable beds. As mentioned in other reviews the decor is a little dated, and there is no sky TV (if this is important to you).
We had a great view of the Harbour from all rooms and all had a small Balcony with chairs.
However there are a couple of things which irritated us. The bathroom has no extractor fan, so it gets a bit steamy in there and is hard to see to shave after a shower. The Spa also has a habbit of purging air through the jets (presumably to clean it self) a few minutes after you have a shower, this can really startle you if you are not ready for it!
The Staff are undoubtably Brilliant (always smiling and helpful, nothing is too much trouble) especially the Restaurant supervisor Brent who organised a birthday cake for my daughter at short notice. The food in the Restaurant a reasonable price and good quality. Well worth a try.
All in all we had a great stay on each of the three occasions.

  • Liked — The Views and the Genuinly happy Staff
  • Disliked — Steam in the Bathroom!
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warrens_of_Conder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2006

Stayed for a couple of odd nights when returning to Auckland during an extended stay in NZ.

Rooms available at short notice, nice, clean and efficient staff and Parnell is classy with some good shopping.

  • Stayed February 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Silvercloud06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2006

We booked into the "cottage" rooms at the Barrycourt. Large room with bay windows and kitchen & bathroom. Although decor is a bit outdated and can do with refreshing, the room was kept very clean. The biggest plus of this hotel: STAFF FRIENDLINESS. We found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly. Location: o.k. for walking to Parnell or to bus route.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judith69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURY ENGLAND
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2006

My wife and I arrived at The Barrycourt hotel having had to refuse the nearby motel we had booked on the internet from England. We were greeted by the most helpful hotel staff we had found on the whole of our eight week holiday in NZ (we stayed at over 20 different places). All the staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel restaurant was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ELMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 67 in Auckland
314 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
1.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
952 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Property: Quality Hotel Parnell
Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Road, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#13 Family Hotel in Auckland
#17 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 105 air-conditioned rooms centrally located on 3.5 acres in the desirable residential area of Parnell. Most hotel rooms and serviced apartments have expansive views of Auckland city and harbour and 67 serviced apartments have full kitchens. The hotel offers free onsite parking, wireless internet, complimentary morning newspaper, 24-hour reception, room service and porters, coffee shop/cafe, restaurant and bar. Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell is within walking distance of the historic Parnell Village, Auckland CBD, Auckland Domain and Museum, Newmarket shopping precinct and close to the Auckland Hospital, Auckland University and the Vector Arena. Quality Hotel Parnell is owned by the Norman F.B. Barry Foundation, being a charitable trust registered under the Charities Act 2005. Registration No: CC33047. Donations are made to support the community and the advancement of Medical Research. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing