We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Parnell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
“Good Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

A great stay in modern refurbished room with fantastic view over the Auckland harbour. A highlight was the breakfast which was one of the best I have had in a long time.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyP041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    323
    101
    20
    9
See reviews for
185
247
36
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
481 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

Nice friendly reception on arrival, although dealings with another receptionist on another matter, was very clinical. Your first impressions could, therefore, be very much guided by the initial check in procedure.
Room (studio) was compact, and clearly jammed betwen two larger rooms, but had all the amenities one could desire, and had a wonderful view of the city and harbour.
Beware the bedside lamps, which are (I discovered accidentally) touch operated. Dissapointed to find at the end of each day (stayed three nights), that the bed was not made upon return, despite the room having been obviously cleaned.
Best to keep your car parked in the hotel carpark during the day, as it gets very fuill at night. Local buses (outside the hotel) runs only from 6:30am till 6:30pm, with the alternative being a half hour walk into the city.
Eateries are also scarce in the local vicinity, although there is a takeaway close by, but that is only good for one night. Hotel does have its own restaurant, but very pricey.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FyingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahiti
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2010

We stayed at the Barrycourt for 7 nights. We took advantage from a special web deal. (We enjoyed free breakfast). Room was big enough for 2 adults + 1 baby child (baby cot free upon request).

One of main good point is the very convenient location of the Barrycourt, near Parnell Street and just a few minutes of inner city. A free carpark is offered, which enable you to drop your car and take the bus (direct to Queen Street).

Barrycourt was for us a very good surprise. For sure, we ll stay there when coming back to Auckland.

Just a bad point : wireless is so much expensive for poor quality.

Do not hesitate ;0

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre_Tahiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandgate
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

This is a multi level complex constructed around a core of charming old buildings which house a cafe and conference rooms. The newer construction looks like it was built around the 1960's and unfortunately the concrete block walls and dated fittings do detract a lot from the feeling of the motel. As has been noted by some other reviewers, if you have brought your own car don't expect to find a park when the place is busy, which is unacceptable. Also the living areas are not very spacious, our double bed was uncomfortably small, and the splashing noises of people having showers on the floors above were loud enough to wake us. Also the shower unit next to our bedroom kept making a weird noise like a giant vacuum cleaner. All in all not a very restful stay, although the location is excellent, so mixed feelings about this one.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jafdip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Barrycourt in May 2010 after reading its good reviews here on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. The room was clean and perfectly adequate. It happened that we also got a pretty nice view of the city from our balcony, as well, which was a nice bonus.

The location is very good. The Auckland Museum is not far at all. Just a short walk away is the main street in Parnell, full of shops and restaurants (we ate at an excellent Indian one there). It is a short drive or bus ride to the city. The price is, of course, a great value (not to mention free parking!)! All in all, we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank garret60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

We arrived late for our prebooked stay and checkin was quick and efficient, we were told to park anywhere within the complex. The hotel conducted several conferences during our week long stay and this resulted most times in there being no parking available as the conference attendees were allowed to park in the carpark, we thought that this was unfair as we were paying guests of the hotel. Rooms as stated are a little dated but kitchen facilities are a plus. The high climb into the bath/shower combination was a little daunting without a proper grab rail and we both had to take care as floor became slippery due to condensation. One big gripe was being charged for phone calls, when local calls in NZ are free, high charge for wifi too, $5.00 for 1/2 hour. The housekeeping did leave a little to be desired, our linen was only changed once during our 7 night stay, pillows were awful, soft and well used. I would recommend this hotel as a cheap, convenient place to stay with the above reservations.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kahyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

We would definitely stay at this hotel again. We had arrived a little early pre check in but this wasn't a problem The rooms were spacious and adequate. It was a lovely surprise to have a wonderful view of the harbour and city. The restaurant adjacent to the hotel was great for breakfast and lunch. The hotel looks dated on the outside but the rooms are fine.
Our friends had a 2 bedroom apartment which was very spacious with a small balcony and also with views.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinson72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,973 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
1.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Property: Quality Hotel Parnell
Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Road, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#14 Family Hotel in Auckland
#16 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#20 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell has recently completed a four year refurbishment programme and is proud of the ongoing commitment to provide quality rooms for our valued guests. The Hotel offers free onsite parking, free wireless internet, free morning newspaper, 24 hour reception, room service and porters, coffee shop/cafe, restaurant and bar. The Hotel does not charge a credit card surcharge. Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell is within walking distance of the historic Parnell village, Auckland CBD, Auckland Domain and Museum, Newmarket shopping precinct and close to the Auckland Hospital, Auckland University and the Vector arena. We have a contract for exclusive taxi services from the Hotel to the Domestic and or International airports for a fixed cost of NZ$45.00. The Auckland Explorer Bus stops directly outside our Hotel on it's daily circuit. Quality Hotel Parnell Ltd is owned by the Norman F B Barry Foundation, being a charitable trust registered under the Charities Act 2005. Registration No: CC33047. Our continuing goal is to support medical research in New Zealand and also make scholarships available to young New Zealand science graduates, who are in need of financial assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing