We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, cheap & view @skytower”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
1 review
“Excellent, cheap & view @skytower”
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Excellent, cheap & view @skytower and nice staff, show me one unfriendly kiwi... never met one! The best, kindest people in the world!

Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank yvettegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    335
    104
    23
    9
See reviews for
193
254
39
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

A reasonable price for Auckland, and well located. Room was smallish with dated bathroom. Having said that everything worked, it's just that the whole place has a 70's feel to it. Parking on sloping area can be awkward. Staff were all friendly though. Dining area lacked any atmopshere, but again staff were attentive, although the food was just average.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Universal48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We stayed at the Barrycourt for the first 3 nights of a week long holiday in the north island. The location was the best part of the hotel. Only a 10 minute drive or $12-14 NZD taxi ride from the CBD. A 10 minute walk takes you to the trendy Parnell strip with lots of cafes, restaurants and bars - also boutiques and antique stores. The other way is bustling Newmarket shopping precent. the room we had was on the 6th floor of the "newer" section of the hotel. The rooms whilst large were a little dated in particular the bathroom. The bed/living area was more modern with a new flat screen TV, newish carpet and good beds. Most importantly the room was spotless on arrival - we didn’t bother getting our room serviced during our stay. The room was reasonably quiet during the night and we slept well. On the last night there some noise from guests coming back to their rooms but nothing too bad. The views over the harbour were good and if you lent off the balcony a little bit you could see the Sky tower. We ate at the in house restaurant on our last night and it was good - not great but good value for money. Overall with the location and being self contained I would say the hotel offer excellent value for money and we would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leo w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We stayed here as part of a block of rooms booked for a wedding. It was okay, but definitely not great. The location was good with the bus nearby, and easy access downtown. The kitchen was clean, but only suitable for reheating food or preparing simple meals.

Somehow our booking got screwed up so we had to change rooms after one night, which was annoying, but it happens. The night manager made it seem as though we would be taken care of in the morning. However, in the morning when I asked when our room would be ready, the attendant had no idea what I was talking about. After starting back at square one, we were basically told we'd just have to wait and see when the room would become available. That's fine, except that once the room became available, we were given all of 10 minutes to vacate the room we were in. In that 10 minutes, housekeeping came by at least three times to see if we were out. We were in the middle of lunch, and since we were given no notice of when the room would be available, we still had last minute things to pack up. Even with all the shooing out of the room, I had to ask for a porter to help with our bags. Not only that, but when I got to the second room, the port-a-cot/pack'nplay was set up in the living area, right in front of the tv, which is not a very logical spot to put a sleeping child. I ended up breaking it down and moving it myself.

The worst part was the bathroom in our second room; water leaked from the shower so it ran down the baseboard tile and pooled right near the door. The fan could only be activated for 10 seconds at a time, which did nothing to clear humidity or help heat the bathroom. There was a strange siren-type thing that went off 5-10 minutes after every shower and then randomly sometimes too. We still have no idea what that was. The worst was the noise the shower created in the bedroom next door and the water hammer that was created if both the faucet in the kitchen and any tap in the bathroom were running at the same time. It was super annoying if you had to do dishes, but even more annoying was when you were below the water hammer in the room above.

I don't usually complain about hotels, and do not consider myself high maintenance, but this place was a bit of a disaster.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcwelham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2010

A great stay in modern refurbished room with fantastic view over the Auckland harbour. A highlight was the breakfast which was one of the best I have had in a long time.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyP041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
485 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Nice friendly reception on arrival, although dealings with another receptionist on another matter, was very clinical. Your first impressions could, therefore, be very much guided by the initial check in procedure.
Room (studio) was compact, and clearly jammed betwen two larger rooms, but had all the amenities one could desire, and had a wonderful view of the city and harbour.
Beware the bedside lamps, which are (I discovered accidentally) touch operated. Dissapointed to find at the end of each day (stayed three nights), that the bed was not made upon return, despite the room having been obviously cleaned.
Best to keep your car parked in the hotel carpark during the day, as it gets very fuill at night. Local buses (outside the hotel) runs only from 6:30am till 6:30pm, with the alternative being a half hour walk into the city.
Eateries are also scarce in the local vicinity, although there is a takeaway close by, but that is only good for one night. Hotel does have its own restaurant, but very pricey.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FyingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahiti
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

We stayed at the Barrycourt for 7 nights. We took advantage from a special web deal. (We enjoyed free breakfast). Room was big enough for 2 adults + 1 baby child (baby cot free upon request).

One of main good point is the very convenient location of the Barrycourt, near Parnell Street and just a few minutes of inner city. A free carpark is offered, which enable you to drop your car and take the bus (direct to Queen Street).

Barrycourt was for us a very good surprise. For sure, we ll stay there when coming back to Auckland.

Just a bad point : wireless is so much expensive for poor quality.

Do not hesitate ;0

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre_Tahiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#1 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#31 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,138 reviews
1.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Property: Quality Hotel Parnell
Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Road, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#13 Family Hotel in Auckland
#16 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell has recently completed a four year refurbishment programme and is proud of the ongoing commitment to provide quality rooms for our valued guests. The Hotel offers free onsite parking, free wireless internet, free morning newspaper, 24 hour reception, room service and porters, coffee shop/cafe, restaurant and bar. The Hotel does not charge a credit card surcharge. Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell is within walking distance of the historic Parnell village, Auckland CBD, Auckland Domain and Museum, Newmarket shopping precinct and close to the Auckland Hospital, Auckland University and the Vector arena. We have a contract for exclusive taxi services from the Hotel to the Domestic and or International airports for a fixed cost of NZ$45.00. The Auckland Explorer Bus stops directly outside our Hotel on it's daily circuit. Quality Hotel Parnell Ltd is owned by the Norman F B Barry Foundation, being a charitable trust registered under the Charities Act 2005. Registration No: CC33047. Our continuing goal is to support medical research in New Zealand and also make scholarships available to young New Zealand science graduates, who are in need of financial assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing