We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't look much from outside but..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Doesn't look much from outside but..”
Reviewed 30 April 2011

In good location for looking round Auckland and rooms very good. However make sure of a room at the back and on an upper floor. The room on our fist visit was on the 2nd floor and at the front. The noise from Queen Street during the night was bad - it's quite close to traffic lights and cars seemed to speed towards them before breaking. It's the only time we saw (or rather heard) bad driving. Our 2nd visit proved better as we were higher up and at the back of the hotel. View not as good, but meant we had a good night's sleep. Staff were very good.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    471
    174
    50
    32
See reviews for
110
434
99
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Location of the hotel, the best.We loved our room in the hotel. Very clean(esp the bathroom). We stayed in one of their Standard rooms and for that level, the rooms were huge.The service was alright(room service was slow). Although we stayed there only for one night..the hotel's services were clearly,good. The hotel staff were well informed. They helped us out with the small details about the city of Auckland. The breakfast buffet was great (PS - all the Scenic Hotels in NZ have great breakfast buffets).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TriPraSha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Stayed here for 2 seperate nights and service has been excellent. The location of the hotel was perfect, right in the middle of the city and they also offer Valet Parking for NZ$20/night.

Room was a great size including the bathroom and kitchen as well. Bed was comfortable, a bit too soft for are liking, but definately cosy. They also offer a rang of pillows if you find the standard one not matching to your head size/weight.

There is also free WiFi for the internet traveller in the reception/bar/restaurant area which was an added bonus.

The only grips was the noise late at night at the back of the hotel where are rooms were. They might had been a nightclub or some bar as the noise was overwhelming and woke us up several times during the wee hours of the morning. Management should take note of this as it was probably a touch noisier than downtown bussle.

But overall, my wife and I enjoyed it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SIMid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naaldwijk, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Great hotel, good location in Down Town Auckland, on walking distance of the skytower and harbour. Also closebye the Father Ted pub with good beeers, plenty of entertainment and a inspiring crowd.

Only pity that we were woking up early Sundaymorning with a firealarm.
Nothing wrong but I know a few nicer things than waiting outside in the
morning cold before you might return to your room :-)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CentWestern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

This hotel is in a fantastic location at the top of Queen St (the main street in Auckland city centre). The airport bus, bus stop to the airport is right outside the front door so very handy. We had a hire car which the hotel offered a valet, parking service for at $20 per day. This is very reasonable and we used the service with no complaints.

The staff were helpful & attentive. We had put the "do not disturb" sign on our door one of the days & they left a basket of fresh towels outside the door with a note. This was a nice touch.

The room was clean & we had no complaints on that front but we were not provided with shampoo despite there being all the other usual toiletries (i.e. shower gel, soap, body lotion etc) We had our own so did not request any but I am confident that this would have been provided promptly should we have asked. The only other thing was that the previous occupant's satisfaction survey was left on the table & no blank one available - again, not really a major issue.

The room itself was modern, spacious and had ample amentities. (e.g. mini bar, microwave, iron/ironing board/hairdryer/coathangers/umbrella) The bed was really comfortable and the flatscreen TV was a good size.

The only downside is noise. The bells of the clocktower start chiming from 7am, on the hour and from about 10am the cleaners reach the 7th floor - complete with vaccum cleaners & banging of doors. Not a problem if you intend to get up & explore but was not really appreciated when were in need of a lie-in.

Wifi was available for $5 for 30 mins or you could use one of their two computers in the lobby ($3 for 20mins). There is a restaurant/bar with a happy hour which always seemed to have people in it.

Overall, I would say that this is a good value hotel in a great, central location.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LDN_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

We spent the last night of our trip in the Scenic and it was a very relaxing stay. Our room was spacious, clean and the most comfortable bed we have ever experienced in a hotel.
The hotel is centrally located and convienent for the Airbus Express pickup.
The staff were very helpful and the breakfast in the restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jersey45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christchurch nz
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

we stayed here for 4 nights in Feb and had a lovely room with a large TV, lounge area, dining area and kitchenette, a very spacious room. It was excellent value for money. The bed was really comfortable and the staff were lovely. Only downside was it is opposite the Aotea Centre so was noisy later on Friday and Saturday night due to street noise.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelpro5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 67 in Auckland
685 reviews
0.2 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 67 in Auckland
550 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Property: Scenic Hotel Auckland
Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Auckland
#21 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing