We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modest, pleasant place, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Modest, pleasant place, excellent location”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Modest, pleasant place in almost downtown of New Zealand's capitol city. Large bedroom with separate kitchen, small living room and bathroom. Broadband internet at extra charge.

Room Tip: Good choice, affordable price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANemeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    466
    172
    50
    32
See reviews for
109
430
96
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I was travelling solo and needed a hotel close to the Civic Theatre. Arrived early and was plesaed to be able to check in straight away. Was upgraded to a superior room and this was perfect for my needs. Airport bus departs from straight outside the door, suited my needs down to the ground. Heard a little traffic noise, but nothing loud enough to disturb my sleep. Cooking facilities were unexpected but found them useful. Used room service for dinner which arrived promptly, was still hot and was delicious! Would definitely use this hotel again both when travelling solo or with family, particularly when attending a show at the Civic!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Broadway185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntly, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We were looking at booking a Mystery Hotel on Wotif and a Google search made us suspect that the Scenic Hotel was the 4+ star mystery hotel. However luckily for us finding their website made us realise that the "Take a Break" package they were offering directly via their website was much better value than the Wotif deal! This package was $189 and included: the room with late checkout, free (semi-valet) parking, a bottle of wine & a $80 in-house food credit. Taking all these 'extras' into account this meant the room only cost us around $50 for the night - amazing value!

We arrived early (11am) and got an early check in which was really appreciated. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and check in was fast & efficient.

The room was great - nice and spacious with a really good kitchenette and lounge. We had requested a quiet room and were given a room on the 3rd floor overlooking a small side street which was perfect - still some mild traffic noise but nothing that disturbed our sleep.

The bed was divine with crisp white bedding, the most amazing feather topper and lovely fluffy pillows - we didn't want to get out !!!

The shower had amazing water pressure and the complimentary toiletries (soap, shampoo, conditioner, body wash, lotion, shower cap & shoe shine) were the best I've ever been given in a hotel - lovely organic quality - a really nice touch.

We used our $80 credit to have two meals (evening meal & breakfast) in the attached MLC Cafe & Bar and had two good meals. My only criticism is that the wait staff here were a bit slow & not particular enthusiastic about their jobs!

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel - it was a great location for our evening show at the The Civic Theatre and made a wonderful base to explore downtown Auckland. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyberbirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

After a very long flight from the UK, we were glad to find that the hotel would hold our bags for us. When we came back in the evening, they had upgraded us (as we were on our honeymoon) to one of the penthouse suites. The suite was nice, although far too big for us to use for just one night. The downside, the penthouse suites don't have air-conditioning (not always essential but coming from a cold UK, it would have been nice) and entry to the suites is via the fire escape stairs from the floor below. Not easy with two huge suitcases!
Breakfast was a buffet affair and was reasonable in quality, although not particularly cheap (although the exchange rate meant that was across the board). The poached eggs were heavy on the vinegar, not to everyone's taste.

Overall, a well placed hotel with friendly staff and what appeared to be reasonable rooms.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShuttleTydirium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We'd just sold our campervan, it was raining hard and we turned up with an awful lot of stuff at the door of Hotel. We looked a bit grubby. I only provide this background because it would have been very easy for the hotel staff to have been a little sniffy with us. But here's the thing – they weren't – they were really helpful, assisting us with our bags and helping us get settled in to the lovely little apartment.

The price is excellent and the room was just lovely with a well-equipped kitchen including dishwasher. There's also a laundry within the hotel. We stayed here 5 nights and really enjoyed it. You're a 5 minute walk away from downtown Auckland and there are all the restaurants you'd expect within easy walking distance.

Really,if you prefer to stay in an apartment instead of a hotel room, look no further.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDaveCumbria_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Would recommend for a quiet comfortable and enjoyable stay. Service very good. Staff very friendly and helpful. Restaurant superb.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveOxfordOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

In good location for looking round Auckland and rooms very good. However make sure of a room at the back and on an upper floor. The room on our fist visit was on the 2nd floor and at the front. The noise from Queen Street during the night was bad - it's quite close to traffic lights and cars seemed to speed towards them before breaking. It's the only time we saw (or rather heard) bad driving. Our 2nd visit proved better as we were higher up and at the back of the hotel. View not as good, but meant we had a good night's sleep. Staff were very good.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,236 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
544 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Property: Scenic Hotel Auckland
Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Auckland
#21 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing