We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“helpful staff, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“helpful staff, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

we stayed in scenic hotel from 18th september till 22nd september 2011.
It's location is right in the centre of Auckland city, in front of the hotel you can catch a free citylink bus which saves us transportation fees.
we stayed in one bedroom apartment which is very nice, clean and with a small kitchen attached.
The staff are very friendly and helpful especially I would like to thank the staff by the name Jenny, a very pretty young lady. she is so helpful that I really touch of her immediate respond when I told her that I lost the camera in the bus and she immediately help me to make a call to the lost and found department of the citylink bus.
Thank you. I already recommended some of my friends from Christchurch to stay in this hotel.
From Yii

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yii A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    453
    166
    49
    28
See reviews for
107
419
95
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

For the price, especially inflated for the World Cup, it was a very poor experience.
Location not too bad, a 10 minute walk from the Viaduct Harbour and Sky tower.
Rooms well equipped but in need of redecoration, windows not closing properly and a lot of street noise.
Internet very expensive - if you can take your netbook/laptop and buy local dongle or find random free wifi sites

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annincardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

My wife and I stayed here twice in August.We booked on wotif mystery stay for our arrival on 24th Aug.The Hotel is right on the edge of Queen st shopping district with all the shops and skytower in easy walking distance.
Checkin was friendly and effecient with valet parking right at the door.The Hotel is of the older style but is very well kept with very large rooms with lounge and kitchenett.They have the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in in a hotel.The rooms were spotleslly clean.
We did not have any issue with noise,You could hear some street noise whilst sitting next to the windows in the lounge area but the bedroom was at the back of the apartment like room.
We returned for another stay on the 31st Aug booking over the phone.They gave us a rate the was equal to booking on wotif,so check their own website for deals.
We would stay here again and recommend it,all the staff were very friendly and welcoming and the porters were most helpful in getting our bags to and from our room and into the car.
Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockymellon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We were here for 3 days and barely slept at all during our visit. The noise at night is appalling and the management simply wring their hands and say that there is nothing they can do. Trucks and cleaning vehicles constantly make noise making sleep impossible on any of the floors.
Returning on the last evening, after complaining about the noise during the night, the hotel was cleaning the carpets using vacuums making a terrible racket in the foyer, while we were using the computers. When we complained about this and asked them to wait until later, they said that they had to clean sometime. When asked why they were inconveniencing their guests, the person on reception just shrugged and said sorry. The bar closed early to allow for cleaning the carpets as well, so they lost money from us there as well.
In the room, the paintwork is badly chipped and the washbasin was cracked. The shower cubicle was small and you have to stand side on and this was a superior room!! After cleaning the room, the cleaner left a damp facecloth on the floor to greet us when we arrived.
All the rooms have single glazing so the noise just blasts in, so much that we had to buy ear plugs!
Had we not paid in advance, we would simply have gone elsewhere- for this price, there is nothing grand about it...a noisy tired building that simply happens to be handy for town.
No offer of recompense or refund was offered by the hotel- they seemed to have the attitude of take it or leave it.....leave it. Go somewhere else!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BriannTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Very convenient location - great to stroll to the Civic and catch the free central city loop bus. Our rooms were very comfortable - especially the beds. Forcefully showers, well equipped kitchenette. Bit noisy from Queen Street but basically very happy. Had to sort out some confusion with reception on whether we had booked the breakfast inclusive package and then discovered that almost all the food was gone by 9 and were told that they were not planning to cook any more (breakfast was served on weekends until 11). Eventually found the right person to complain to and more food appeared much to our group's relief and the few uncomplaining other breakfasters who had been milling around the buffet looking forlorn. Real shame as breakfast would have been fine if we hadn't had to fight so hard for it. Valet parking was also included which was great - and they were happy to keep our bags and car after we checked out until our flight later that afternoon. So probably recommend but remember you might have to fight for your rights to get a decent breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5gomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We were so impressed with the service at this hotel. We arrived at 7am from the airport, and the staff were nice enough to check us in. The valet parking was really convenient. The room was super quiet despite being on the 2nd floor, and had everything you might need (including an umbrella for that less than prefect Auckland weather). The bed was really comfortable. We really enjoyed staying here, and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank green_turtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

Modest, pleasant place in almost downtown of New Zealand's capitol city. Large bedroom with separate kitchen, small living room and bathroom. Broadband internet at extra charge.

Room Tip: Good choice, affordable price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANemeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Property: Scenic Hotel Auckland
Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland
#19 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing