We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Have stayed here a couple of times now. Very central especially when going to something in the city. Clean, spacious rooms with good value wifi and handy kitchenettes. The bar downstairs is lovely although they didnt know how to make a cosmopolitan???? Only downer this time, hubby thought our bed was uncomfortable and on investigation it was a rather cheap base bed with a squishy topper mattress. Didnt have this on our last stay so perhaps a room they are getting to, to replace bed??

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (965)
There are newer reviews for Scenic Hotel Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

774 - 780 of 965 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed one night here in March 2012, first visit to New Zealand, staff very friendly and helpful, requested and got room on top floor, good views, very convenient for shopping and sight seeing, sky tower etc. Room well equiped and comfortable. Only had breakfast in Hotel, good selection. Would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: when making reservation request room on upper floors
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tugflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Couldnt of been happier - nice & clean. Excellent room service.

Room Tip: Superior suite is very good
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mobrien181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I don't know if it's normal in NZ, but the Scenic's inclusion of a microwave and selection of cutlery and plates/bowls etc was a nice touch. Otherwise, a very well-located standard business hotel with strong hot showers (which I insist on!) Only significant drawback - they charge for wifi. But at $5 for two hours or $10 for all day it isn't too pricey...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank fnordguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights to have weekend in Auckland to see Jersey Boys. Very central to all attractions a a short stroll to he theatre and across from Aotea square.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable, warm and clean. We were able to have breakfast in our room as there was a well equipped kitchenette. Great coffee in downstairs cafe/bar. Daily paper. Overall excellent value for your buck.

Room Tip: Previous reviews mention noise but you are in central Auckland. We slept well. It really didn't...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed here over Queens Birthday weekend & were impressed as soon as we walked through the doors.

I booked two rooms for 2 nights for $428 from Expedia. I thought this was a really good price, so wasn't expecting much when we arrived...we were pleasantly surprised.

The young guys at the reception desk were so polite & friendly (mum loved how they called her mame lol) They gave good advice about getting too & from places, options for car parking (we ended up using their valet service for $20/night) and general info about the hotel i.e. self service laundry, housekeeping etc.

The hotel is on Queen Street so is VERY central & very busy, but we were on the 6th floor so noise from party goers, traffic & night clubs weren't an issue for us.

Both rooms had a queen & single bed in them, the beds were AMAZING, they had super soft underlays & the best hotel pillows I've ever slept on! There's an awesome heating/air conditioning system, flat screen tv with sky sports & movies, a dining table, couch & kitchenette. The kitchenette had the usual stuff as well as crockery & some nice decent (and polished) cutlery. The bathroom was welll stocked with towels & wash products that smelled of cucumber & mint which was DEVINE! It was becoming abundantly clear that this wasn't some self rated 4 star hotel...this is the real deal!!!

We had such a great weekend in Auckland & alot of it was because we had such a comfortable stay at Scenic Hotel. After a long drive from Palmy we really appreciated the comfy beds, helpful staff & the sports channel :) We will definitely be staying here the next time we're in Auckland!

Room Tip: We had a twin standard studio apartment, which would be perfect for families
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank in2_value
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed overnight at the Scenic on our way to Rarotonga. Its a wonderful location so handy to everything and very clean and service from front desk was wonderful. Room price was so redasonable!!! They have a cheap deal with a taxi company so it only cost us $35 to get to the airport, so cheap!!! They have a great system for storing your bags, whereby they check them in and put tickets on the bags and take them away. Other places give you an access card to a room and I don't feel secure leaving my bags where other guests can have access. Only down side about this hotel is it older and not doubleglazed which is why on the way back from Raro, where we were getting to hotel at 4am and wanting to go straight to bed, we chose another hotel that was doubleglazed so we could get some sleep. With construction just opposite that makes it even worse. If you are a sound sleeper this won't bother you.

Room Tip: While construction is going on ask for a room away from Airedale Street if you need some sleep durin...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,310 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
712 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
687 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#27 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#20 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £79 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and getaroom.com so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing