We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Ranked #23 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel as a Grab One special. I am usually quite sceptical about many New Zealand, especially the customer service. This hotel was fantastic. The whole process was quick and easy. The check in staff and concierge were all friendly, helpful and professional.
The room was much better than I expected. Separate bedroom, super comfortable bed, large bathroom, separate lounge/kitchen area with fridge and small kitchen.
We were given discount vouchers for the attached restaurant/coffee shop. The staff there were fantastic also. Very helpful. The prices were reasonable even without the vouchers. Superb Gimblett Gravels wine and lovely meal.
Added bonus there was a small gym.
Valet parking was efficient and the car was always there on time.
I note someone has posted re the noise. It is only noisey if you have a room on the Queen Street side....what do you expect from Auckland's main street. I am sure you could ask for a room at the back of the hotel. We chose to keep the street facing room as we dislike looking out on alleyways.
I wold thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you don't like street noise (we didn't think it was that bad) ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebHnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

771 - 777 of 970 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2012

I was looking for a reasonably priced hotel in a Queen Street location. Scenic Hotel Auckland more than exceeded my expectations!

The room was a good size, immaculately clean and with a well equipped kitchenette. There's no cooker but the microwave oven and fridge were enough for storing and heating up food. I didn't use the television in the room, but was puzzled that it faced the kitchenette rather than the bed or any other seating.

The bathroom was small but had a good shower with excellent water pressure.

I was worried about noise from the construction site next door, but my room was at the end of the building furthest from the construction. I had a small view of Queen Street, but the room was well insulated against street noise. Occasionally I'd hear the chime of the Town Hall clock, but it wasn't enough to bother me. The room didn't have much of a view, but I didn't really need one.

The room's air conditioning worked brilliantly. It was easy to operate and kept the room at a very pleasant temperature. Only one complaint - the conditioned air was very dry, and after two nights my lips were cracked and dry!

The hotel is in an excellent location, within walking distance of many good casual food places and restaurants, as well as Auckland's theatre district. It's also close to the City Link and Outer Link bus routes - very handy!

I'd happily stay here again. Look out for online deals in room rates.

Room Tip: If noise is a big concern, ask for a room away from the construction site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

stayed here recently for work, was great, apartment was clean and comfortable, heating was great and they even topped up the milk everyday! there is a construction site behind the building at the moment however so a bit noisy if you want to sleep in, had to be up early every morning so it didnt bother me however they were working at 8am on saturday morning, maybe ask for a room on the queen st side?

Room Tip: queen st side would be quieter due to building construction behind the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattlx m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenjiSHA, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

So sorry your stay was disturbed by the construction work next door. It's a small one storey tall retail development. It has annoyed a few travellers who are often still on a different time zone.
Again very sorry to have disturbed you and thank you for your kind comments.With the walls now up we hope and expect the fit out not to be invasive to our guests. Thank you for taking the time to comment...........regards Ken, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We arrived late at night due to flight cancellation, and the fellow at reception & concierge couldn't have been more hospitable: they let us look at 2 rooms before deciding. It's on the main street, Queen St, a few blocks up the hill from the harbour, which made for a lovely walk down to the shops next morning (shops on main st open 9am). Fabulous selection of teas, hot chocolate and the usual coffee.

Room Tip: We paid for the slightly more expensive room coz it had a better layout but very little in it... Wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2funtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Older Style hotel with good facilities in central city. We had a good size room. Being on Queen st on Friday & Saturday night was a bit noisy so suggest book a rear room. Valet parking is handy, good cafe on ground floor

Room Tip: better to take a rear room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We went to see the show "Jersey Boys" and the opera "Rigoletto" earlier this month. We chose the Scenic hotel mainly for it's convenience to the venues and found it well run and roomy. The cafe on the ground floor offers a good hearty breakfast and the rooms at the back are quiet. $20 to park the car all day in central Auckland is reasonable too.

Room Tip: You need a room off Queen Street for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Have stayed here a couple of times now. Very central especially when going to something in the city. Clean, spacious rooms with good value wifi and handy kitchenettes. The bar downstairs is lovely although they didnt know how to make a cosmopolitan???? Only downer this time, hubby thought our bed was uncomfortable and on investigation it was a rather cheap base bed with a squishy topper mattress. Didnt have this on our last stay so perhaps a room they are getting to, to replace bed??

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,336 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
698 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#24 of 65 in Auckland Central
942 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#22 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £83 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing