We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but Noisy, Noisy, Noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice, but Noisy, Noisy, Noisy”
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We spent two, very LONG nights at the Scenic Hotel in downtown Auckland. Had we not prepaid through a travel site, we likely would have gone somewhere else. The rooms themselves are very clean, modern and comfortable. Big, updated bathroom with fantastic water pressure. Overall, our room was very nice. It was the most comfortable hotel bed I've experienced in a while. Internet is a bit expensive though. Great view of the Sky Tower, easy walking to all the touristy spots.

However, the real shame is that you can't sleep much with all the street noise. Kind of defeats the purpose of a hotel.

From the looks of the windows, they might be original to the building itself. They're drafty, thin, and it's obvious the hotel knows it, because they've installed super thick insulated drapes. Sirens and honking horns happen, but across Queen Street is a bar which seems to let out around 330-4am. I know, because I was awake for it. We could hear yelling, live music, hoots and hollers like we were right there with them. If the hotel were to update the windows, the noise issue would be gone and this would be a super fabulous hotel to stay in.

As an aside, I was underwhelmed by the staff: At check in (we were late from the airport) I had to call the main hotel number to get a hold of someone to check us in. There was no one manning the front desk. Upon checking out, when asked about my stay, I noted the nice room, but mentioned the noise issue to clerk, and was told: "Aww, yeah. Queen Street on a Friday night is something to be experienced." Not exactly the response I was hoping for. A "sorry about that" would have been appreciated.

Room Tip: Get a room that isn't facing Queen Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkLobsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Hi
I am writing to apologise that you were inconvenienced by moise during your recent stay.
The hotel is directly opposite Q theatre and at this time of year they have occasional upscale events that finish quite late. We are investigating replacement windows but there are difficult issues being investigated and resolved around that project.
Our fantastic wireless internet service is only $10 per day so we do not consider it expensive.
Thank you for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    452
    166
    49
    28
See reviews for
106
419
95
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Omokoroa NZ
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Very central to the all the cinemas & theatres in Queen Street Auckland. So if its ballet, musical theatre or another event on your agenda then this is the place to stay. While the hallway colours were not to my personal taste the rooms were done in pleasant netural tones. We had 3 rooms and each was a little different in layout which added to the charm of this place. A lovely room with a seperate kitchen, lounge area with large flat sreen TV. The bed was very comfortable. Lots of hot water & good water pressure from the shower. If I had to quibble then it's that the showers could be a little bigger - 1 of our party is well over 6 foot & he found the showers a bit on the small size. We had dinner & breakfast there - meals are more bistro style - I had the beef noodles, while my friends enjoyed ceasar salad & fish & chips. All the meals were fine, but if you want 5 star dinning then head off into town. It costs $20 to have the car parked but if you ask nicely they may well let you leave the car parked for the day when you check out - we did this - very useful if you want to do some more shopping. There is no pool here - so if thats high on your list of needs look elsewhere. Staff are pleasent and friendly. I will be back.

Room Tip: Ask nicely & staff may let you leave the car there for the day when you check out at no extra c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kangab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

The hotel is located downtown right in the middle of everything. Our room overlooked Queen's street and only had single pane windows, and the noise at night and early morning very a little annoying. But having said that the room/ suite was first class. Separate bedroom to the sitting room and a beautiful if not a little small bathroom. Very well appointed with all the little things that made our stay very pleasant. It also had a small kitchen with all of the appliances and cutlery. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate supplied. The Restaurant was very nice and very reasonable , the best value of any hotel restaurant of note that I have ever stayed in. The staff were very friendly, but having said that, everyone in New Zealand was exceptionally friendly. I would definitely stay at the scenic hotel again given the chance.

Room Tip: Perhaps get room in the rear of the hotel for a better sleep as the rooms on queen street are single...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We spent 2 nights here while we explored Auckland.
The reception staff were very pleasant and helpful. Our apartment faced Queen Street but we were not disturbed by street noise. The aprtment was quite spacious for the 2 of us. It was clean, well equipped and comfortable. We cooked dinner and had no problems with the kitchenette.
The location is very convenient - there is a good choice of restaurants in the area.
We felt happy with the hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M-and-H10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

3rd stay here but first non-solo trip. The last 2 times I stayed here I was put in a room looking over over the side street (Airedale). This one as was staying in a twin room the first night and a triple the 2nd night was allocated Room 611 overlooking Queen Street. I was at first worried about noise issues due to previous reviews I had seen posted here. But it turned out not to be a problem. Yes there was a nightclub which was still in full swing at 10.30 when we returned from seeing a show at the Civic but shortly after the music stopped and we had no problems sleeping. I stayed with my Sister the first night and then my husband and son the 2nd. For all of them it was their first stay here and they liked it and agreed with me they would return. Kudos to the check-in guy at reception who hunted around to see if he could allocate me a room that did not require me to check-out then check-in again on 2nd night as was going from a twin to a triple. He didn't have to do that but it was appreciated. Just wish they had better selection of channels on the TV as missed my Fox News and CNN. They only had Sky news but then I really wasn't in Auckland to watch TV! only a few mins walk to the Civic where we saw Mary Poppins. Easy walk to Sky Tower and the wharf area.

Room Tip: probably ask for a room overlooking side street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndAkiAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Standish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Convenient location minutes away from the city centre. The blue airbus shuttle from the airport stops opposite the hotel. Room was of the aparthotel type with well stocked kitchen, 2 seater couch with coffee table, kitchen table with 2 chairs and good sized TV. The bedroom was not separate and was "compact" the bed taking up most of the available space. There was a small bedside table on one side of the bed and a small built in wardrobe on the other - more like a cupboard.Colour scheme was quite garish and dated. The Ritz it was not, but it was functional and for a city centre location good value. Meals were available at the adjoining cafe which could be accessed via the hotel and meals charged to the room.There were a range of reasonably priced breakfast options . Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank explorer60_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Great price, but he room is too small for 2 adults and a 6 year old. No where for bags let alone groceries and cooking. Great location and friendly staff. Was a bit noisy but otherwise fine. Suggest the room only be for 2. Remove the other bed and put in a lounge.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
1,194 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
2,184 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
2,399 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Property: Scenic Hotel Auckland
Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland
#19 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing