We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy nights let down otherwise nice accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Noisy nights let down otherwise nice accommodation”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Pluses:
The one-bedroom studio on the 8th floor was nothing flashy but everything was in good repair, clean and worked.

The kitchenette had a microwave (but no other cooking facility) and a good selection of utensils, cutlery and crockery.

The tea selection was generous and included chamomile and mint along with the expected English breakfast and earl gray.

Makeup remover tissue was a welcome addition to the toiletries pack.

Effective air-conditioning with easy to use control.

Cafe on ground floor convenient and Wi-fi (paid for in room) works there.

Good location on Queen Street, opposite town hall.

Minuses:
Noisy at night due to single glazed windows.

Very soft bed.

Weedy, paid, Wi-fi ($10 for 24-hours).

Little evidence of building's art deco heritage in the fitout.

Spartan lobby.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    470
    173
    50
    32
See reviews for
109
433
99
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Stayed here for two nights for a conference and would happily come back and stay again. Room was generous size with a very comfortable bed and nice decor. My room was on the fourth floor and I didn't have any issues with road noise or noise otherwise. The staff were great especially Jay who helped me with my initial booking and who found my sunglasses after I knocked them off the bedside table and forgot to pick them up before checking out. Had one meal in the restaurant which was priced well and quite nice. Waiting staff were very friendly and professional as well. All in all I had a great stay and I would consider this very good value for money compared with some of the other hotels that I've stayed in the same price range.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slaaplekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Correze
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Stayed first night in New Zealand. Airport bus stops right outside so very convenient. Rooms are if and excellent standard. We had a one bedroom and could not fault the quality .
Very central and ths is where the one problem starts. Was very noisy as we had a room on the street and with no double glazing every noise in the street is heard. Young people in the street till the early hours and then when you think it is quiet the street cleaning begins !! Not sure if it is possible but would be a good choice if you can request a room away from the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamL48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Finding parking was a problem since we did not know about valet. Finally figured that out with help of doorman our front. Rooms were a little small but comfortable.Friendly and helpful front desk staff. we only spent one night so it was OK.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gypsy-by-trade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The staff were extremely helpful and accomodating. The first room I was given had a terrible view of beams, bricks and some garbage. Avoid this room. However, the staff moved me upon request without any problems and then the view was fine. The staff was more than willing to help with bus and travel information and were very courteous. The rooms are basic but do provide a kitchenette. It's good value for what you are paying. The location was perfect. Being near the ferrys/waterfront was very helpful. The internet is not included. I paid $20.00 a day for multiple devise internet and getting on-line was a bit of a problem. Eventually this was resolved by very professional staff. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11111155008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

The beds are extremely soft. We had to remove what amounted to a quilt, except it was under the bed sheet, to be able to sleep. Dated hotel, but the staff were nice. Breakfast was nice, but staff were confused about it being included in our package and wanted to charge us.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OceanRower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Very helpful and friendly staff, good location although my room faced the road and I found it quite noisy. The suite was roomy and the bed wonderfully comfortable. The airport bus stops right outside. Reasonable selection of eating places nearby and the cafe looked nice although I didn't use it.
Would definitely recommend the hotel but would ask for a room on a higher floor or not overlooking the main road.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzySoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 67 in Auckland
685 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,769 reviews
0.2 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 67 in Auckland
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Property: Scenic Hotel Auckland
Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Auckland
#21 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing