We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love staying here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Ranked #22 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Always my first choice when I need to stay somewhere central. $20 valet parking is a real plus! Staff are consistently helpful and polite and nothing is too much trouble. and probably the best hotel beds ever!!
The trade off for such a central location is, depending on what floor you are on and what side of the building, traffic and/or construction noise can be disruptive. (the higher up the better!).
Thank you Scenic Hotel Queen St. I love staying with you.

Room Tip: The upper floors seem to get less traffic and/or construction noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

704 - 710 of 972 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2013

comfortable quiet stay. Handy to everywhere in Auckland. Staff were of the best I have ever met in a hotel. Nothing was any trouble and all were helpful. The attached restaurant was also good. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We were in Auckland for a show at the Town Hall, so The Scenic was a great location for us. The room was comfortable and surprisingly quiet given we overlooked Queen Street. The shower could have been cleaner but otherwise all good. Priced perfectly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toadie358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I really like staying at the Airedale Scenic Hotel on Queen Street Auckland. It is handy to so many things but most of all the rooms are very well appointed. Being a former office block means that all the rooms are slightly different. they are tastefully decorated and I find it very relaxing to stay there. Staff are friendly and the place is very clean.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tufone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I stayed here for almost a week in October 2012 for business. Location was a bit of a pain, but that was due to a triathalon being on down Queen street so access was a little hard, but that is not the hotel's fault. The lobby was bright and welcoming, however there was a lot of confusion at the check-in desk and the whole process took longer than it should as some staff seemed a little confused. I was in a party of three and found that each room was different, but my room whilst comfortable, outdated and could have used some paint. I was on a very low floor (3rd, i think). And my very large window looked out onto Queen street, which was nice, but it was very easy for people on the street to see up to my room as well and it got quite noisy at night. Overall a good stay close to where I needed to go each day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve321123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Hotel has good location, value priced, very average rooms and a staff that needs to learn how to say something other than no. Most every request, question answered with a no. Asked for a 2 pm check-out on a night that they were not full (I asked) and was told no because check-in time is 2 pm. So that's assuming the guest that was pre-blocked in my room (which is why you shouldn't pre-block every room but that's a management training issue) shows up right at 2 pm to check-in. Really? And if they did, you put them in a room that is clean and vacant. But not when you pre-block and don't wish to accommodate a fairly simple request. Speaks volumes.

Room Tip: Don't know, had a view of the back alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Thanks for staying with and taking the time to share your comments, I am sorry we were unable to be more generous with your check out time, I understand your point and we do put more emphasis on checking in guests earlier, this because the most popular flight gets in at around 7AM from LA (& London) and those guests tend to be quite weary after the long flight.
We do actually have very good for stats for checking in early arrivals. Over 90% get their room straight away. I understand your point and we will try our best for both early check ins and late check out request.
kind regards Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed for two nights in april and They clearly understand what's important and what's not for guests and the fact that its Kiwi owned really shines through for the rate we paid the standard was Excellent we definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlosta83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,344 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
755 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#24 of 65 in Auckland Central
944 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#21 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £82 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing