We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I've stayed here a number of times when traveling to Auckland for business, the location is right in the heart of the Auckland CBD and has parking, at a reasonable rate!!!! Great if you're doing business in town and even if you're out of town its a good base. Rooms are cost effective and provide a little kitchenette.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nauribeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    469
    172
    50
    31
See reviews for
109
432
98
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great location - close to theatres and central city shops.
Great service at check in, from valet and room service.
The only issue we had was the bed. It was very uncomfortable. It had a weird topper thing on top of the matress that was all bunched up and created a huge lump in the bed.
Breakfast included in our package was also very good.
Great value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher level and anon Queen St room for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tesh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed for one night and was welcomed by very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms were clean and comfortable. We had a room on the street side and was as noisy as would be expected in that area. The shower was on the small side. The furniture was a bit worse for wear in some places but not a problem. For the Money this was a great hotel offering a good location clean rooms and excellent service. Just the thing for a short break. Would recommend to anyone

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Main st.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Staff were very helpful when we were late for the car park and went the extra mile to valet park for us
Good coffee in the restaurant
Didn't have a chance to use all the facilities but will visit again

Room Tip: Choose a room with a double but should have splashed out for a queen or bigger everything was very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath612013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I'm not a seasoned business or solo traveller, and tend towards hotels at the "affordable" price range - that is, around the $100 mark (AUD / NZD / USD / etc.).

So, I was fully prepared for this hotel to be rather simple, and possibly even a little ordinary. But I was pleasantly surprised. It's in a GREAT location - right across from the Aotea Centre, right on Queen Street, only a few minutes walk from Albert Park and Auckland University, and with Public Transport RIGHT at the door!

The room was VERY clean indeed, and I was surprised that I actually had kitchenette facilities - microwave, hotplates, kitchen and dining utensils. There were a few items of furniture that looked a little worse for wear - namely anything wooden, but generally, the room was pleasant, clean, modern and a good size.

The bathroom was also very clean, although on the small size. My one gripe would be the placement of the toilet roll holder. I notice this in a LOT of hotels - it's as if they expect us to be able to physically contort ourselves when on the loo! Or practising yoga...! I know this might be TMI, but it's simple things like that, that I tend to pick up on!

In summary, however, this is an excellent hotel, in a lovely refurbished Art Deco building, that is VERY suitable for singles or couples.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sunlover Holidays

Helpful?
3 Thank Dominic F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I would recommend the hotel as value for money. It was extremely clean and the check in staff were very friendly,efficient and helpful. I was given the choice of 2 rooms to view as I had requested a room at the back of the hotel to avoid any street noise as mentioned in other reviews on this site. The room I chose was at the back of the hotel and the access around the bed was difficult to negotiate, due to very little room. The bed was super comfortable and the only negative apart from the space around the bed was the seating couches could have done with a steam clean or even have a few new cushions added. All in all the room was more than adequate for a one night stopover and I would use again for this purpose. However if I was staying for a longer period I would definitely want a bigger room.

Room Tip: go to the back of the hotel to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colleen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed here on the last night of our holiday and we're glad we did - we booked last minute and got the room for $99 nzd so it was a bargain! The location of the hotel is awesome - right in the middle of Auckland CBD, 2 mins walk to the shops, directly over the road from Town Hall and about a 10-15 minute walk to both the Harbour and Sky City. The rooms are a good size, impeccably clean and furnished to a very high standard. We booked a double studio which had a kitchenette with microwave, oven and stove top which was fab as the last thing we felt like doing on a rainy night was find somewhere for dinner! There was an area where the bed was which could be shut off to the rest of the room, giving it more of an apartment feel rather than a studio one. The staff are very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely recommend this hotel if you are coming to Auckland and would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyG411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
546 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
678 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Property: Scenic Hotel Auckland
Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Auckland
#21 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing