We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent inner city location for pedestrians”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The foyer and corridors of this hotel are not elaborate or fancy. So by first impressions I was not "wowed". However once inside the room it was modern and comfortable, with simple but functional furnishings. The bed was soooooo super cosy. I slept very well. Thankfully I was on a high floor so didn't really hear much street noise. I asked for a later check out time (extended 1 hour later) and even though the hotel was fully booked out that following day - they kindly accommodated my request. The valet parking for $20 a night is the cheapest valet parking I know of in Auckland CBD. This hotel is located right on Queen Street, amongst all tourist landmarks and attractions. Water front (Viaduct), Sky tower, Aotea Square, Town Hall, University etc etc all a short 5 min stroll away and surrounded by eateries, convenience stores, takeaways, cafes and shops. You can easily access everything you need to do in Auckland city from here.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on a high level to get up above street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (997)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

662 - 668 of 997 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed in the hotel with my sister for 3 nights. Teresa and Tony at reception made us feel special welcoming us with a genuine smile. Breakfast was included with the deal and was of a good value. Bed was very comfortable and the room was quite spacious comparing to what we expected. Even though hotel is situated on a main street of Auckland we surprisingly didn't hear anything at night from the streets. Overall great stay and my sister who traveled from overseas enjoyed it very much as well. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandE_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

First of all the valet parking was only between hours of 6am and 11pm not stated on wot if and did not suit our situation.
The room was clean and tidy, however the bed was terrible with a crazy 3 inch topper pad thing on it. The street noise was terrible even on the 7th floor. Defiantly not heaven on the 7th floor. The shower was made for 'little people" tap was too big for hand basin. Shelf above basin was good for not much more than a bang on the head. Defiantly better value around!!!!!! Won't be back sorry. Also don't take guest comments very seriously, tried to fill card out in room it was still the one from previous customer they hadn't replaced or collected.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheree G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to make some comments about your recent stay.
We still charge just $20 for valet parking and it is available from 7am to 11pm.
Our feather bed topper generally recieves overwhelming positive comments, some do ask for it to be removed and we have no problem doing that if it's not your thing.
Our heritage building is triangular in shape which makes for some interesting shaped rooms.
In a couple of room types bathroom space and shelf space is limited however we can generally find an alternative room. I am sorry you were disturbed by noise it's a bigger problem in summer particularlry on Queen Street when more people are around.
Thank you sincerely for your feedback we consider and take all comments seriously
Kind regards Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Booked 2 room apartment. Was given "upgrade" to penthouse (p3) which turns out to be on top floor which you need to walk up a flight of stairs as the lift doesn't reach that floor!
Otherwise, we got a good deal as part of a conference, so for the price, it's decent.
Great location in the heart of the city, 5 minutes from sky city.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
Another quirk - valet parking only, with nowhere to drop of the car - the space in front of the hotel is a bus stop. The valet closes at 11pm at night, so if you get back late, you have nowhere to park!

Room Tip: Only thing that makes penthouse a penthouse is because its on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuhkol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment, we have similar views to yours about the apartments on level nine and have removed them from our online inventory, they are better suited as extended stay apartments. The two story apartments were added when the building was converted and extending the elevator to that level was not a practical option, hence the stairway from level eight to nine. As advertised we only have valet parking, at a mere $20 per night and park all vehicles in a secure underground carpark just a few minutes away, vehicles cannot be accessed between 11pm and 7am.
There is no problem to pull up right outside the main door if you are driving and the bus stop is exclusively for the very frequent airport shuttle.
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your views.
Kind regards Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Wowed from start vale parked car good check in and helped with bags up to room. Valet parking conditions explained. The suite was exactly what we requested . Enjoyed a wine in bar nice location on street frontage.
Good check out bought car onto street put bags into car. Nothing was a hassle was very impressed our daughter referred us to the scenic and we will at this to one of our favourites.
Please pass on our thanks to team on 28 October who made our stay memorable

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The room was very comfortable and spacious, with large windows overlooking Queen Street and the Town Hall. The bed was a queen-sized affair with insanely comfy pillows. The kitchenette was clean and modern and you could prepare simple meals (though I chose to explore the vast array of excellent cafés and restaurants within a short walk).
The laundry facilities (coin-operated) weren't all that good (but are they ever?).
The hotel is only a five-ten minute walk to the centre of town, making id ideal for anyone wanting to explore the city on foot.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Queen Street have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geof B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed at the Scenic for 3 nights while going to an expo at the ASB showgrounds. I have always found the staff to be friendly and helpful and have never had any problems with any of the rooms I have been given. Yes the hotel is on a main road and so there is some traffic noise especially on a Friday night but no more than any other hotel I have stayed in.

Pros:
The staff (especially the young lady who checked me in the Friday of Labour Weekend. Sorry I did not get her name).

Getting something to eat. If you do not want to dine in the hotel restaurant all you have to do is walk outside and pick left or right and walk for a few minutes till you find something you like.

Public Transport. There is a bus stop right by the front door and the average wait for a taxi has been 5 minutes.

Cons:
The shower. This is only a very minor issue in that the actual shower cubicle is quite small. But again this is not uncommon in hotels so again not a major problem.

Overall this is a very good hotel and I will be back again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
724 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
827 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,226 reviews
1.3 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#20 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £79 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing