We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff make the difference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Ranked #22 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Nice hotel although a little tired in places. Very clean and most rooms a nice size. Staff were excellent and very friendly and were a credit to the hotel. They made a huge fuss of our daughter. They are also rugby mad which was a bonus and chatted through when watching games in the bar. Bar food was very good.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back if you can as traffic can be noisy although rooms with lounges have doors to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KC2155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 970 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

After a long flight from the U.S. we (my granddaughter and I) were welcomed by the most gracious front desk staff, our room was a mini suite,(the bedroom was a separate room) and had a view of the street activity. Location, location was the real plus and we could walk everywhere and we received great advice as to food, etc.
But the most gracious thing happened when we left. My granddaughter left a brand new charger for her computer in the room and of course, we discovered it at the next hotel in Rotoua. We called the Scenic in Auckland asked if they would check the room for the charger and within an hour we received the phone call and yes it was there and where should they send it. So since we were staying at a Scenic Hotel in Napier they would send it by courier. When we arrived, voila here was a package and the left behind charger and one happy granddaughter
Now how many folks have that kind of attention, I tell every one that story and yes the Scenic in Napier was great too.

Room Tip: Ask at the front desk if they have a room to fit your specific needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This hotel is located in the center of Auckland so a perfect spot to enjoy all the gems that Auckland has to offer. Close to shops, restaurants and e.g. the docks to take a Ferry. Our room was very spacious with comfortable bedding. Parking is not a problem since the hotel offers perfect valet parking service for 20 NZ$ per night. Keep in mind that this service is not available during certain hours at night but the reception informs you clearly about this.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Appletreelane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Had to book this because my first option was unavailable. Staff were great, very friendly. Location is superb if needing CBD, Viaduct, Aotea Sq., Auckland Uni. Can walk to everything - no need for a vehicle. Generally clean. Decor is dated and upholstery could do with a clean. Noisy: I was on 4th Floor and kept on getting woken by people in street at 4 and 5 am. Still not my first choice but would stay again if I had to.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Situated right by the Auckland Town Hall and has a great view of Queen Street and the night life of Auckland City. Upon arrival the greeting was warm and heartfelt and nothing was a problem. Easy registration at reception and then we popped up to the room. Great layout and size, and clean like home. Well priced accommodation for its location. Only downfall would be that they might need to look at us blokes and the need for a big Screen TV while waiting for our Gals to get ready… A great stay in a nice Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the Queen Street side to ensure you get a good view ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamieson953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The hotel is located centrally in Auckland CBD and lies near a number of cafes and shops along the major street, Queen St. We booked a superior room for two nights and found the rooms were spacious yet slightly dated in furnishings. We enjoyed that in our particular room the bedroom could be closed off from the living room which helped to block out some noise which came into our room from the adjacent busy street. Whilst the room was tidy and generally suited our needs, the airconditioning was not working in our room. We were then transferred to another room (after several staff members and one manager later concluding that it was indeed not working), however, these rooms were less impressive than our first. The only benefit was that the airconditioning was working properly. The mattresses were overly soft, but I guess that depends on your taste and there were a few minor cleanliness issues with our second room as my partner noticed several hairs on our towels. Overall, however our stay was adequate. One particularly good thing about the hotel is the wifi access and its restaurant located on the ground level.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossKilpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

First, the staff at this hotel were wonderful. For the value it was excellent and delivered just what we needed. The room was very small but the beds were very comfortable and the room was clean. It is located in the center of town which we were able to walk to all of the destinations we wanted to visit. We wanted value & location and that is what we got with a very helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skoolstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,340 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
699 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#24 of 65 in Auckland Central
942 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#21 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: £84 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing