We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,071)
Filter reviews
1,071 results
Traveller rating
254
528
198
55
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
528
198
55
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews queen street great location valet parking airport bus stops right sky tower aotea centre sky bus civic theatre central location separate bedroom sitting area small kitchenette new zealand single bed would stay again hotel restaurant free wifi
Filter
Updating list...
692 - 697 of 1,071 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

For what you pay this place isn't worth it. It is way over priced.

It's an old dorm, or backpackers style place. They've just slapped a few coats of paint on it.

Carpet old
Curtains old
Doors and fixtures old
Cutlery etc old
Bathroom very old

To say this place is modern is a joke. Looks nothing like the pictures on the website...id love to stay where ever that is!

It's also noisy as it's right on the main road.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knowsagood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Hi
I am sorry you were so disappointed with our hotel it clearly did not meet your expectations.
Thank you for taking the time to comment.
Kind regards Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Great location within walking distance of the town center. The hotel, however, is very outdated. The rooms are SMALL (one double bed barely fit), the bathroom had no counter space and was also small. Limited amenities and our view was awful. Staff was very nice and we were able to check in at 11:00am after a very long flight. Much appreciated!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment. Our rooms vary quite a bit in size from 25sqm through to 42sqm, Sorry you got a small one and that it was not to your liking. We are always happy to change rooms at check in if they are suitable but perhaps we were full and not able to on this occasion. Your comments are appreciated.
Kind regards Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Hotel is located on Queen Street, close to shops, restaurants and harbour area. Room very comfortable and well equipped - it stated tea and coffee making facilities, in fact there's a whole kitchenette including fridge, microwave, crockery etc.
Bed was too soft for us - but maybe that's after having spent 2 weeks in a camper van!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

If you are looking for a fabulous location in Auckland right at the heart of the commercial street, this is the place to be!!!!!
Good rooms with a dry kitchen and a very cozy bed!!! Have seen some reviews which are showing the views as disgusting, but I would say that if you can request for a room facing the road then the problems are not there at all.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road should always be preferred so that the problems of disgusting views gets solved by itself!!!!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RajaG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We arrived at the hotel about 7 AM after a long overnight flight from San Francisco. The staff was able to accommodate us and put us in a room immediately, for which we were grateful. The room itself was actually two rooms, with the bedroom off the main room. It is a self-catering hotel. The accommodation was clean and spacious, it was convenient to bus service, the Civic Center was just across the street, and the Sky Needle was located near there. It was just a few blocks' walk to the waterfront. We ate breakfast and dinner in the Scenic, and it was quite good. and there is an on-site laundry. The staff was most friendly,

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judy_collinshamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews