We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright, airy, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Bright, airy, great location”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This hotel is a great discovery. It is bright and airy. They made good use of the office building features when they turned this into a hotel. The staff are wonderful. The appliances and beds are first class. Be prepared for very noisy kids at night, but the noise does drift off as the night goes on. This hotel is in the heart of things, across from city hall, and we will return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beach30Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    469
    172
    50
    31
See reviews for
109
432
98
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Arrived at hotel around 1.30am after flight from UK. Check in was quick and simple which was what we wanted. Room clean and spacious, bed excellent.
Easy to walk down into town. Lovely staff at breakfast which was perfectly cooked and reasonably priced for a hotel.
Some noise from street one night but surprisingly quiet location as our room overlooked the main street. We did have windows open too.
Stayed for 2 nights before collecting hire car

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTKT999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed for three nights in a standard studio on business - the rooms are a great layout, with the bedroom having double doors so you can seal off the kitchen/sitting area, modern furniture and fittings. The kitchenette had a microwave and a dish drawer so everything you need if you don't fancy eating out. Whilst the room was clean, it could have done with a quick dust just to spruce it up a bit.
My room was on the front and I have to say I did find it noisy on two out of the three nights I stayed - the disadvantage of a pretty art deco building is the lack of double glazing - however my colleagues had rooms on the back and they said they had a great nights sleep. There was very little noise from other residents so the sound proofing must be good.
The location is great - bang in the centre of town and just across the road from the civic - over all not a bad stay just take your ear plugs !

Room Tip: Try and get one at the back so you're not on Queen Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tongatapu Island, Tonga
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my 3 day stay at the Scenic Hotel Auckland, great for my meetings as I was only a few blocks away from my meeting venues. The rooms were clean and the staff were helpful and friendly. However note to those who have trouble sleeping with noise around, it does get a little noisy especially during the weekend. Because of its great location I would stay with them again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kainga79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed for a couple of nights. Hotel is located centrally and has a nice atmosphere.
The rooms have a nice layout where the bedroom feels quite seperate from 'lounge'.
Rooms really modern, and it was nice to be able to open the windows!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dandybfahope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I found this Hotel to be in a good location decent price.
The reception were very friendly and so helpfull.
Rooms we're clean and had very thing you needed to look after your self.
The only thing missing for me was not having an area out side to be able to sit out in but don't let that stop you staying there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackos49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayden, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Scenic hotel is located on the hill of Queen Street about where the shops and cafés start. It is a 1.5 km walk down the hill to Quay Street and the ferries, very convenient, and only $0.50 for the bus back up. Sky Tower is just four blocks, but if don't bunny jump. Room was small and the layout strange such that the TV was about useless. Room was clean, but the chair was ready to be put to the curb. In Europe I am used to breakfast included, but not in NZ. In sum, basic and convenient.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfBAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
678 reviews
0.2 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
546 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Property: Scenic Hotel Auckland
Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Auckland
#21 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing